HUS 340: Group Skills in the Human Services: Recommended Resources

Group Skills for the Human Services explores the different stages of groups; group structures, organization, and examines the functions of groups. Students will learn about the different types of groups, their purpose, and ethical, multicultural issues.

Databases

EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text databases (indexes). EBSCO also contains the following subject-specific databases: ATLA, Business Source Premier, CPLI, ERIC, History Reference Center, Literature Reference Center Plus, PsycArticles, and PsycINFO. Click "All EBSCOhost Reference Databases" link and checkmark databases/indexes to search more than one database at a time.
ProQuest One This link opens in a new window
Academic multi-disciplinary databases that contain full-text, scholarly articles for research in: the arts, business, current events/news, health and medicine, history, literature and languages, science and technology, and the social sciences.
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
Covers subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, medicine and more. Full text articles are available from 1999 to the present.To limit your search to full text articles only, use the Advanced Seach option "SAGE Journals Available to Me."

Recommended Specific Journals

Journal of Technology in Human Services is included in EBSCO or search within the journal by clicking on the link.

Journal of Health and Human Services is included in EBSCO and ProQuest or search within the journal by clicking on the link.

Journal of Human Services is included in EBSCO or search within this journal by clicking on the link.

Recommended Ebooks

Addressing Racial Disproportionality and Disparities in Human Services by Rowena Fong (Editor); Alan Dettlaff (Editor); Joyce James (Editor); Carolyne Rodriguez (Editor)
ISBN: 9780231537070
Publication Date: 2014-11-25
The first book to examine disproportionality across various systems of care and multiple ethnic populations.
Human Services Dictionary by Howard Rosenthal
ISBN: 9781135942991
Publication Date: 2012-10-12
Written in an interesting, accessible and informative manner, with 1600 entries this book is an ideal reference for human service professionals and students preparing for exams. Special features include: extensive cross-referencing, a directory of human service organizations, short biographies of important figures in the profession, a short history of human services, and specialized and slang terms specific to the human service profession.