LIBRARY
HUS 337: Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities: Module Resources
The general elective course is designed to prepare students for work with those with intellectual and developmental disabilities. It will introduce students to conditions and trends and issues in working with those with disabilities.
Ebooks
Child Abuse: Children with Disabilities by ISBN: 9781536120561Publication Date: 2017-01-01Book Description:In this book, we review abuse and neglect among children with disabilities and highlight the importance of identifying abuse and neglect in this vulnerable population. Child maltreatment has many detrimental consequences, and in the absence of a professional response, further victimization, lifelong complications and possibly early death may occur. Disability and maltreatment are defined and addressed internationally. Patterns of victimization presentation are discussed and suggestions are given to aid in recognition, assessment and treatment. Developmental considerations in the evaluation and treatment are reviewed, as are special situations with siblings and neglect of special medical needs. We conclude with a discussion of prevention and provide recommendations to improve our understanding of how to best identify child maltreatment and to improve practice among children with disabilities, so that they may maximize their developmental and intellectual potentials.
Children with DisabilitiesISBN: 9781681253213Publication Date: 2019Children with Disabilities is the gold-standard text on working effectively with children and families. A compendium of information about developmental, clinical, family, education, and intervention issues, from birth through adolescence. chapters on key topics: sleep disorders, assessment of physical disabilities, the senses, rehabilitative services, interdisciplinary care, the role of medication, and the effect of health care disparities on child outcomes
A comprehensive guide to intellectual and developmental disabilties by ISBN: 9781598575644Publication Date: 2017The most complete book available on children and adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities, this core textbook is perfect for any course focused on disabilities.
Emerging Research and Issues in Behavioral Disabilities by ISBN: 9781787560840Publication Date: 2018-11-30The challenges associated with the education and treatment of children and youth with emotional and behavioral disorders (EBD) have proven to be both persistent and exceedingly complex. Thus, our best hope for improving outcomes for students with or at risk for EBD lies not in miracle cures or the eradication of all disorders, but in the incremental progress that furthers our understanding of the nature of EBD, enabling us to systematically refine interventions. Toward these goals, this volumefocuses on emerging research and issues related to students identified with or at risk of EBD. Chapters within the volume include reports of original research, and summaries of new and emerging research issues. Specific topics include: bullying; technology-based self-monitoring; issues around the direct observation of both student and teacher behavi∨ the characteristics of youth served in residential or other alternative settings because of their EBD; and the application of function-based logic to social skills intervention.
Learning Disabilities by ISBN: 9781781904282Publication Date: 2013-01-25This volume addresses the most current perspectives and issues related to learning disabilities and is written by leaders in the field of learning disabilities. The layout of the book and ordering of chapters will allow readers to follow learning disabilities in a very logical and thoughtful process from legal issues, identification, and assessment, to effective practices and response to intervention finally ending with practical issues of inclusion, working with families, and teacher preparation. Chapters can be read in order or independently which will allow readers considerable versatility. Chapters in the book include: Inclusion and Students with Learning Disabilities; Reading Instruction and Students with Learning Disabilities; Written Instruction and Students with Learning Disabilities; Mathematics Instruction and Students with Learning Disabilities; Social Skills Training and Students with Learning Disabilities; Response to Intervention Techniques and Students with Learning Disabilities; Transition and Students with Learning Disabilities; Technology and Students with Learning Disabilities; Families and Students with Learning Disabilities; Teacher Preparation and Students with Learning Disabilities.
Mental Disorders and Disabilities among Low-Income Children by ISBN: 9780309376860Publication Date: 2015-10-28Children living in poverty are more likely to have mental health problems, and their conditions are more likely to be severe. Of the approximately 1.3 million children who were recipients of Supplemental Security Income (SSI) disability benefits in 2013, about 50% were disabled primarily due to a mental disorder. An increase in the number of children who are recipients of SSI benefits due to mental disorders has been observed through several decades of the program beginning in 1985 and continuing through 2010. Nevertheless, less than 1% of children in the United States are recipients of SSI disability benefits for a mental disorder. At the request of the Social Security Administration, Mental Disorders and Disability Among Low-Income Children compares national trends in the number of children with mental disorders with the trends in the number of children receiving benefits from the SSI program, and describes the possible factors that may contribute to any differences between the two groups. This report provides an overview of the current status of the diagnosis and treatment of mental disorders, and the levels of impairment in the U.S. population under age 18. The report focuses on 6 mental disorders, chosen due to their prevalence and the severity of disability attributed to those disorders within the SSI disability program: attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder, oppositional defiant disorder/conduct disorder, autism spectrum disorder, intellectual disability, learning disabilities, and mood disorders. While this report is not a comprehensive discussion of these disorders, Mental Disorders and Disability Among Low-Income Children provides the best currently available information regarding demographics, diagnosis, treatment, and expectations for the disorder time course - both the natural course and under treatment.
Nonverbal Learning Disabilities by ISBN: 9781462527625Publication Date: 2016-08-12Increasing numbers of children and adolescents are being diagnosed with nonverbal learning disabilities (NLD), yet clinicians and educators have few scientific resources to guide assessment and intervention. This book presents up-to-date knowledge on the nature of NLD and how to differentiate it from DSM-5 disorders such as autism spectrum disorder and developmental coordination disorder. Effective strategies for helping K-12 students and their families address the challenges of NLD in and outside of the classroom are illustrated with vivid case material. The authors thoughtfully consider controversies surrounding NLD, discuss why the diagnosis is not included in the current DSM and ICD classification systems, and identify important directions for future research.
Pediatric Collections: Autism Spectrum Disorder by ISBN: 9781610024716Publication Date: 2020-11-02Pediatric Collections offers what you need to know - original, focused research in a snapshot approach. Over the last 15 years abundant progress has been made in the awareness of, and research about, autism spectrum disorder (ASD). New information has come to light on the identification of ASD, the importance of early intervention, and disparities in treatment of children with ASD. Advances in genetics and genomics have confidently associated more than 100 genes and genomic regions with ASD. While these discoveries may someday usher in new therapies within the area of personalized medicine, what can pediatricians and caregivers do to support individuals with ASD and their families today? The answer is: plenty. This custom collection consists of important studies, expert recommendations, and practice pathways that inform pediatricians on practical ways to improve the lives of children with ASD and their families.
People with Disabilities by ISBN: 9780511843693Publication Date: 2013-06-05To what extent are people with disabilities fully included in economic, political and social life? People with disabilities have faced a long history of exclusion, stigma and discrimination, but have made impressive gains in the past several decades. These gains include the passage of major civil rights legislation and the adoption of the 2006 UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities. This book provides an overview of the progress and continuing disparities faced by people with disabilities around the world, reviewing hundreds of studies and presenting new evidence from analysis of surveys and interviews with disability leaders. It shows the connections among economic, political and social inclusion, and how the experience of disability can vary by gender, race and ethnicity. It uses a multidisciplinary approach, drawing on theoretical models and research in economics, political science, psychology, disability studies, law and sociology.
Special Education for Young Learners with Disabilities by ISBN: 9781787560406Publication Date: 2019-01-07Special Education for Young Learners with Disabilitiesbrings together leaders in the field of young children with disabilities, to present their ideas and research on different disability topics. Beginning with an introduction to the topic, the remaining chapters include discussions on learning disabilities, emotional and behavioral disorders, and intellectual disabilities; those who are deaf/hard of heÅ those who have visual impairments; those who have autism, severe and multiple disabilities, and traumatic brain injury; those who are culturally and linguistically diverse; those who have physical disabilities, and other health impairments.
Talking about sex : sexuality education for learners with disabilities by ISBN: 9781475839852Publication Date: 2018This book will address sexual development of people with autism spectrum disorders as well as other intellectual, developmental, and physical disabilities. It also considers special considerations for group homes and recreational facilities, and concepts of ethics and models of consent (medical, legal, social, and educational.
Understanding and Working with People with Learning Disabilities Who Self-Injure by ISBN: 9780857004437Publication Date: 2012-11-15Adopting a predominantly psychological approach, this book provides carers with up-to-date information and resources to provide appropriately individualised care to people with learning disabilities who self-injure. Understanding and Working with People with Learning Disabilities who Self-Injure synthesises traditional (behavioural) and newer (psychological) approaches to understanding self-injury, drawing on psychoanalytic and social theory to provide practical guidelines for more sustained and effective support. It suggests that motivations for self-injury may be similar for people with and without learning disabilities, and draws on case work examples to suggest person-centred techniques that encourage communication - particularly important with people who do not use verbal communication - and recovery. The book covers a range of specific needs, including people with autism who self-injure, and emphasises the views of people with learning disabilities themselves and their families about what has worked best, and why. At the end of each chapter, a variety of practical implications for the provision of support are given. This book is for those supporting people with learning disabilities who self-injure and will be a useful resource for social workers, psychologists, counsellors, learning support workers, nurses and social and health care students.
Videos
Disability without borders. (2020)
Don't miss this AMAZING 8 min. video! We will learn how people with disabilities inspired innovations. We will learn why people with disabilities are great employees. We will learn how to make accommodations for people with disabilities. The government wants more people with disabilities to be gainfully employed; but many employers are scared of the unknown. Alright, let's learn together. People with disabilities represent an untapped labor force of talented, dedicated people - and an exceptional workplace is comprised of people of all disabilities. Keep in mind that people with disabilities have inspired innovations such as closed-captioning, voice activation, braille, screen readers, and spell check.
Autism in America. (2015) This film is a genuine and straightforward look into the autism spectrum disorder as told by the families and individuals living with autism daily. Many parents are interviewed including Ruth Sullivan, Ph.D., the mother of a man named Joe who was the inspiration for Dustin Hoffman’s autistic character in the movie Rain Man. We also hear from a young woman named Alexis, the first autistic person to run for the title of Miss America. Autistic behaviors such as difficulty communicating, outbursts, etc. are examined in the film, as are the financial and emotional effects on parents. The film looks at young years, discipline, transition into high school and college, employment possibilities, and marriage for people with autism.
Against the Odds: Inspiring Stories of Disability. 29 episodes each 30 min. Meet record-breaking Paralympians achieving the impossible, discover cutting-edge medical procedures that are changing lives, and marvel at the power of the human spirit to overcome some of the world’s rarest conditions. This heart-warming and inspirational series follows extraordinary people refusing to be defeated by their disabilities.
Debt of Honor: Disabled Veterans in American History. A moving tribute to the history of disabled veterans, Debt of Honor takes an unflinching look at the reality of warfare and disability, featuring interviews with some of the country's most prominent disabled veterans. Distributed by PBS Distribution.
Websites
- Americans with Disabilities ActThe ADA was signed into law on July 26, 1990, following many years of advocacy by the disability and civil rights communities.
Since then, the ADA has transformed American society, guaranteeing that people with disabilities have the same opportunities as everyone else to enjoy employment opportunities, purchase goods and services, and participate in state and local government programs.
The ADA was modeled after the Civil Rights Act of 1964, which prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, or national origin.
The ADA is an equal opportunity law for people with disabilities.
Accessibility Services
The Saint Leo University Office of Accessibility Services is dedicated to ensuring equal access for students with disabilities at Saint Leo University. Through education, advocacy, and resources, the Office of Accessibility Services can collaborate with students, staff, faculty, and guests to create an inclusive and supportive environment.
Students on the University Campus, at centers, and online are eligible for accommodations if they have documentation of a qualifying disability.
Office of Accessibility Services
33701 County Road 52
MC 2212
Saint Leo, FL 33574
Phone: (352) 588-8464
Fax: (352) 588-8605
Email: ADAOffice@saintleo.edu