Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
EME 427 Home
EME 427: Managing Critical Incidents & Large Scale Special Events
Image by Darwin Laganzon from Pixabay
This LibGuide provides students in EME 427 with resources to assist with research and to help support assignments. For more information on the Emergency Management program at Saint Leo and additional resources, please visit the Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Management LibGuide.
Assignment Support Links
APA Citation Guide
This guide provides you with APA citation formatting guides for commonly-cited sources, as well as guides to using the citation formatting tool Zotero.
APA Writing Resources
Assignments for this course will be formatted in APA. This page contains a paper formatting guide, as well as links and resources with more information on citing sources and formatting your paper. You can also use this page to schedule a session with our Writing and Research Support Faculty.
Citing Saint Leo University Core Values
Includes guidelines for citing university Core Values in APA, MLA, and ASA format.
FEMA - Leadership and Influence Independent Study
Independent study that discusses leadership practices and importance in emergency management. Helpful for multiple assignments.
FEMA 2022-2026 Strategic Plan
"The 2022-2026 FEMA Strategic Plan outlines a bold vision and three ambitious goals designed to address key challenges the agency faces during a pivotal moment in the field of emergency management."
Saint Leo University - Core Values
Discusses all Core Values, details the value of COMMUNITY, which must be integrated into your final research paper.
Natural Disasters Resources
Man-Made Disasters Resources
EBSCO APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for psychology articles and research; the search interface is currently provided by EBSCO. It has very little full text, but is considered to be one of the most valuable research tools for psychology majors and researchers.
EBSCO Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text™ contains more than 400,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.
EBSCO International Terrorism and National Security This link opens in a new window
When traveling or doing business abroad, it pays to do your research.
EBSCO PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO provides unmatched coverage of behavioral science and mental health fields, containing over 3.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s, with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from 1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Information on legal, corporate, and government subjects through newspapers, journals and magazines.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Academic multi-disciplinary databases that contain full-text, scholarly articles for research in: the arts, business, current events/news, health and medicine, history, literature and languages, science and technology, and the social sciences.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
An information source for scientific, technical, and medical research. Search for peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters (including open access content)
WestLaw This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive legal resources—new interface and features.
Building Community Resilience to Disasters by
Community resilience, or the sustained ability of a community to withstand and recover from adversity, has become a key policy issue. This report provides a roadmap for federal, state, and local leaders who are developing plans to enhance community resilience for health security threats and describes options for building community resilience in key areas.
Building Safer Communities. Risk Governance, Spatial Planning and Responses to Natural Hazards by
This book is a collection of essays, bringing together seventeen contributions from different disciplines, with various but complementary points of view, to discuss the directions and key components of risk governance. Some of the many issues of interest to risk scholars addressed in this work include: the analysis of proactive approaches to the governance of risk from natural hazards; approaches to broaden the scope of public policies related to the management of risks from natural hazards, including emergency and environmental management, community development and spatial planning. The texts further explore how spatial planning can contribute to risk governance by influencing the occupation of hazard-prone areas, and review the central role of emergency management in risk policy. This work will contribute significantly to the augmentation of the conceptual framework of risk governance and increase the awareness of practitioners and decision-makers to the need to adopt proactive policies, leading to a more integrated, participative, and adaptive governance that can respond more efficiently to the increasing uncertainty resulting from escalating risk exposure and global environmental change.
Disaster risk and vulnerability : mitigation through mobilizing communities and partnerships by
From the Asian tsunami of 2004 to hurricane Katrina in 2005 and the Tohoku earthquake of 2011, our century has been fraught with catastrophic natural disasters. Disaster Risk and Vulnerability assesses the human toll and economic losses of natural disasters and reasserts the importance of human collaboration and organization in disaster management. In most cases, policy makers, planners, managers, and regulators who implement disaster risk reduction response planning and management strategies remain detached from local conditions, failing to address them effectively. Presenting case studies from Asia and North America, as well as a broad range of approaches to community mobilization and partnership development, contributors show that local communities, all levels of government, and non-governmental organizations must work collectively in order to reduce the harm caused by disasters. Despite unprecedented progress in science and technology and governments' continued efforts in disaster risk reduction, socioeconomic losses due to environmental disasters continue to rise. Disaster Risk and Vulnerability provides knowledge and information that will benefit anyone working in the fields of environment, disasters, and community mobilization in an effort to reverse this trend.
Global Social Issues: an Encyclopedia by
This landmark reference is a comprehensive, one-stop, interdisciplinary resource that examines current, critical social issues in historical and global contexts. Nearly 150 in-depth, balanced, and thought-provoking articles cover a broad range of critically important topics: the environment, health, science, the media, ethnic conflicts, poverty, and immigration, to name just a few. Each original, signed article provides historical context as well as a thorough discussion and analysis of contemporary issues facing today's interconnected world.
Lessons of Disaster by
We know that disasters play a role in setting policy agendas?in getting policymakers to think about problems?but does our government always take the next step and enact new legislation or regulations? Birkland argues that the type of disaster affects the types of lessons learned from it, and that certain conditions are necessary to translate awareness into new policy, including media attention, salience for a large portion of the public, the existence of advocacy groups for the issue, and the preexistence of policy ideas that can be drawn upon. This timely study concludes with a discussion of the interplay of multiple disasters, focusing on the initial government response to Hurricane Katrina and the negative effect the September 11 catastrophe seems to have had on reaction to that tragedy.
Natural Disasters and Cultural Change by
Human cultures have been interacting with natural hazards since the dawn of time. This book explores these interactions in detail and revisits some famous catastrophes including the eruptions of Thera and Vesuvius. These studies demonstrate that diverse human cultures had well-developed strategies which facilitated their response to extreme natural events.
Rebuilding Sustainable Communities for Children and Their Families after Disasters by
Disasters impose enormous misery on children, the most vulnerable members of the community. Records show that two million children have died as a direct consequence of armed conflict over the past decade. Globally, millions more have suffered death, disease, and dislocation as a result of such natural disasters as earthquakes, droughts, and floods. And even when emergency relief is available, permanent human damage remains; all too often, families fall apart, women are assaulted and degraded, ..
Surviving Sudden Environmental Change by
Archaeologists have long encountered evidence of natural disasters through excavation and stratigraphy. In Surviving Sudden Environmental Change, case studies examine how eight different past human communities-ranging from Arctic to equatorial regions, from tropical rainforests to desert interiors, and from deep prehistory to living memory-faced and coped with such dangers. Many disasters originate from a force of nature, such as an earthquake, cyclone, tsunami, volcanic eruption, drought, or flood. But that is only half of the story; decisions of people and their particular cultural lifeways are the rest. Sociocultural factors are essential in understanding risk, impact, resilience, reactions, and recoveries from massive sudden environmental changes. By using deep-time perspectives provided by interdisciplinary approaches, this book provides a rich temporal background to the human experience of environmental hazards and disasters. In addition, each chapter is followed by an abstract summarizing the important implications for today's management practices and providing recommendations for policy makers. Publication supported in part by the National Science Foundation.
Water Insecurity: a Social Dilemma by
The objective of the book is to document the social impacts and predicament of water scarcity. The book will mainly target the researchers, policy makers and practitioners in the field of development, environment and water planners. The book can be considered as a reference guide of future research in the field of water scarcity and risk management.
FEMA - Disaster Preparedness PrepTalk Videos
"PrepTalks are given by subject-matter experts and thought leaders to spread new ideas, spark conversation and promote innovative leadership for the issues confronting emergency managers.
To assist emergency managers with implementing insights from the PrepTalks, each PrepTalk page includes the video, facilitator slides, and a discussion guide to assist with whole community planning."
ICMA - Leadership Before, During, and After a Crisis
Includes videos and other resources on leadership during a crisis.
The Center for Practical Bioethics - Disaster Ethics: An Introduction by Michael Weaver, MD
"The Perfect Storm Disaster Ethics Symposium and Public Forum
The Center for Practical Bioethics hosted a symposium and public forum on the ethics of readiness, response and recovery of disasters on December 7, 2011 in Kansas City.
The symposium featured presentations by medical professionals who were on the scene during the Hyatt Hotel disaster in Kansas City, Hurricane Katrina in New Orleans, and the tornado that ripped through Joplin, Missouri in May 2011.
Michael Weaver, MD, an emergency medicine physician with Saint Luke's Health System in Kansas City, Missouri, led the committee that planned the program."