EME 415: Technology and Emergency Management: Home

EME 415 Home

EME 415: Technology and Emergency Management

This LibGuide provides students in EME 415 with resources to assist with research and to help support assignments. For more information on the Emergency Management program at Saint Leo and additional resources, please visit the Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Management LibGuide.

EME 415 Syllabus
A copy of the syllabus for EME 415.

Assignment Support Links

APA Citation Guide
This guide provides you with APA citation formatting guides for commonly-cited sources, as well as guides to using the citation formatting tool Zotero.
APA Writing Resources
Assignments for this course will be formatted in APA. This page contains a paper formatting guide, as well as links and resources with more information on citing sources and formatting your paper. You can also use this page to schedule a session with our Writing and Research Support Faculty.
Article - Development of a support system for creating disaster prevention maps focusing on road networks and hazardous elements
Article on creating support systems for natural disaster maps. Helpful for multiple assignments.
Citing Saint Leo University Core Values
Includes guidelines for citing university Core Values in APA, MLA, and ASA format.
DisasterRecovery.org - Social Media in Emergency Management
Discusses the importance of social media use in crisis communication. Helpful for multiple assignments.
FEMA - Risk Mapping, Assessment and Planning (Risk MAP)
Resource on developing a Risk MAP. Helpful for multiple assignments.
FEMA - Social Media
Lists official accounts for FEMA as well as their podcast. A good example of emergency management used in social media for an organization. Helpful for multiple assignments.
FEMA - Social Media in Emergency Management
Provides training materials on the use of social media in emergency management. Helpful for multiple assignments.
Geospatial World - Using maps for effective disaster assistance
An article on the importance of using maps for disaster management. Helpful for multiple assignments.
Saint Leo University - Core Values
Discusses all Core Values, details the value of EXCELLENCE, which must be integrated into your final research paper.
Three Emerging Technologies To Improve Emergency Management
Article on emerging technologies in emergency management. Helpful for multiple assignments.
U.S. Homeland Security - Innovative Uses of Social Media in Emergency Management
Lists cases of innovative social media use in emergency management. Helpful for multiple assignments.

Natural Disasters Resources

Man-Made Disasters Resources

Databases

APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for psychology articles and research; the search interface is currently provided by EBSCO. It has very little full text, but is considered to be one of the most valuable research tools for psychology majors and researchers.
EBSCO Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text™ contains more than 400,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.
EBSCO PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO provides unmatched coverage of behavioral science and mental health fields, containing over 3.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s, with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from 1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Information on legal, corporate, and government subjects through newspapers, journals and magazines.
ProQuest One This link opens in a new window
Academic multi-disciplinary databases that contain full-text, scholarly articles for research in: the arts, business, current events/news, health and medicine, history, literature and languages, science and technology, and the social sciences.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
An information source for scientific, technical, and medical research. Search for peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters (including open access content)

Recommended eBooks

Congressional Policies, Practices and Procedures by Nicolás Cohen
Creation, Management and Use of Online Information for Emergency Management by Jo Bates, Andrew Cox, Angela Lin
Engaging the Public to Fight the Consequences of Terrorism and Disasters by I. Apostol (Editor); J. Mamasakhlisi (Editor); D. Subotta (Editor) Governments must work tirelessly to update their preparedness for dealing with natural and man-made disasters, as well as taking account of the increasingly present threat of terrorism. Efficient international cooperation is key to achieving safety and internationalizing security policy.This book presents the proceedings of the NATO Advanced Research Workshop (ARW) Engaging the Public to Fight the Consequences of Terrorism and Disasters, held in Tbilisi, Georgia, in June 2014. The purpose of the workshop was to analyze accumulated European theoretical knowledge and practical experience in the field of disaster prevention and the involvement of the public in preventing and fighting the consequences of terrorism, as well as natural and man-made disasters. There was a particular focus on the perspective of the region, especially with a view to meeting European Union standards and setting uniform and independent standards for hazard and risk assessment methods. The protection of economically critical infrastructure, such as dams, pipelines and transport and storage facilities, was addressed as were the issues of managing water and non-renewable resources, the disposal of dangerous chemicals and radioactive waste, and defensible methods of transport for fuel supplies and key personnel.Contributions reflected the extensive experience of the participating NATO and partner countries, including Armenia, Austria, Bulgaria, Georgia, Germany, Italy, Moldova, the Netherlands, Romania, Turkey and Ukraine as well as international organizations such as UNECE and NATO.
Social Media and Disasters by Trent F. Sykes
Successful Response Starts with a Map by Division on Earth and Life Studies; Board on Earth Sciences and Resources; Mapping Science Committee; Committee on Planning for Catastrophe: A Blueprint for Improving Geospatial Data, Tools, and Infrastructure; National Research Council In the past few years the United States has experienced a series of disasters, such as Hurricane Katrina in 2005, which have severely taxed and in many cases overwhelmed responding agencies. In all aspects of emergency management, geospatial data and tools have the potential to help save lives, limit damage, and reduce the costs of dealing with emergencies. Great strides have been made in the past four decades in the development of geospatial data and tools that describe locations of objects on the Earths surface and make it possible for anyone with access to the Internet to witness the magnitude of a disaster. However, the effectiveness of any technology is as much about the human systems in which it is embedded as about the technology itself. This report assesses the status of the use of geospatial data, tools, and infrastructure in disaster management, and recommends ways to increase and improve their use. It explores emergency planning and response; how geospatial data and tools are currently being used in this field; the current policies that govern their use; various issues related to data accessibility and security; training; and funding. The report recommends significant investments be made in training of personnel, coordination among agencies, sharing of data and tools, planning and preparedness, and the tools themselves.

LIBRARY