Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
EME 415 Home
EME 415: Technology and Emergency Management
Image by Mudassar Iqbal from Pixabay
This LibGuide provides students in EME 415 with resources to assist with research and to help support assignments. For more information on the Emergency Management program at Saint Leo and additional resources, please visit the Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Management LibGuide.
Natural Disasters Resources
Man-Made Disasters Resources
EBSCO APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for psychology articles and research; the search interface is currently provided by EBSCO. It has very little full text, but is considered to be one of the most valuable research tools for psychology majors and researchers.
EBSCO Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text™ contains more than 400,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.
EBSCO International Terrorism and National Security This link opens in a new window
When traveling or doing business abroad, it pays to do your research.
EBSCO PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO provides unmatched coverage of behavioral science and mental health fields, containing over 3.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s, with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from 1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Information on legal, corporate, and government subjects through newspapers, journals and magazines.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Academic multi-disciplinary databases that contain full-text, scholarly articles for research in: the arts, business, current events/news, health and medicine, history, literature and languages, science and technology, and the social sciences.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
An information source for scientific, technical, and medical research. Search for peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters (including open access content)
WestLaw This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive legal resources—new interface and features.
Engaging the Public to Fight the Consequences of Terrorism and Disasters by
Governments must work tirelessly to update their preparedness for dealing with natural and man-made disasters, as well as taking account of the increasingly present threat of terrorism. Efficient international cooperation is key to achieving safety and internationalizing security policy.This book presents the proceedings of the NATO Advanced Research Workshop (ARW) Engaging the Public to Fight the Consequences of Terrorism and Disasters, held in Tbilisi, Georgia, in June 2014. The purpose of the workshop was to analyze accumulated European theoretical knowledge and practical experience in the field of disaster prevention and the involvement of the public in preventing and fighting the consequences of terrorism, as well as natural and man-made disasters. There was a particular focus on the perspective of the region, especially with a view to meeting European Union standards and setting uniform and independent standards for hazard and risk assessment methods. The protection of economically critical infrastructure, such as dams, pipelines and transport and storage facilities, was addressed as were the issues of managing water and non-renewable resources, the disposal of dangerous chemicals and radioactive waste, and defensible methods of transport for fuel supplies and key personnel.Contributions reflected the extensive experience of the participating NATO and partner countries, including Armenia, Austria, Bulgaria, Georgia, Germany, Italy, Moldova, the Netherlands, Romania, Turkey and Ukraine as well as international organizations such as UNECE and NATO.
Successful Response Starts with a Map by
In the past few years the United States has experienced a series of disasters, such as Hurricane Katrina in 2005, which have severely taxed and in many cases overwhelmed responding agencies. In all aspects of emergency management, geospatial data and tools have the potential to help save lives, limit damage, and reduce the costs of dealing with emergencies. Great strides have been made in the past four decades in the development of geospatial data and tools that describe locations of objects on the Earths surface and make it possible for anyone with access to the Internet to witness the magnitude of a disaster. However, the effectiveness of any technology is as much about the human systems in which it is embedded as about the technology itself. This report assesses the status of the use of geospatial data, tools, and infrastructure in disaster management, and recommends ways to increase and improve their use. It explores emergency planning and response; how geospatial data and tools are currently being used in this field; the current policies that govern their use; various issues related to data accessibility and security; training; and funding. The report recommends significant investments be made in training of personnel, coordination among agencies, sharing of data and tools, planning and preparedness, and the tools themselves.
Disaster Zone - Social Media in Disaster Response
"Host Eric Holdeman talks with University of Washington PhD Candidate, Elodie Fichet, about the effect of social media on communications."
Woodrow Wilson Center - Social Media in Emergency Management: Transforming the Response Enterprise
"Panelists from the emergency management community, private sector, government, and the digital volunteer community will discuss the report and offer policy and research recommendations for moving forward with the adoption, integration, and practice of social media in emergency management."
Microsoft - How AI can help after disaster
"On March 11, 2011, one of the most powerful earthquakes ever recorded shook the northeastern coast of Japan, causing a tsunami that killed nearly 20,000 people. More than 2,000 remain missing. The Tohoku region outside of Tokyo was hit especially hard, forcing the local community to completely rethink how it responds to future disasters. With the help of a grant from Microsoft’s AI for Earth program, researchers like Bai Yanbing of Tohoku University are attempting to harness the power of artificial intelligence solutions to improve mapping technology so that relief workers might stand a better chance of saving more lives when the next earthquake hits."
Can new tech prevent disasters? │The Science of Disasters with Ilan Kelman
"What role for technology in disaster prevention?
Are cutting-edge technologies such as Artificial Intelligence the key to saving lives in emergency situations? And how to make the best use of them?
Join Professor Ilan Kelman to find out in this last episode of our series, The Science of Disasters."