Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
EME 330 Home
EME 330: Terrorism and Emergency Management
Image by mohamed Hassan from Pixabay
This LibGuide provides students in EME 330 with resources to assist with research and to help support assignments. For more information on the Emergency Management program at Saint Leo and additional resources, please visit the Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Management LibGuide.
Assignment Support Links
APA Citation Guide
This guide provides you with APA citation formatting guides for commonly-cited sources, as well as guides to using the citation formatting tool Zotero.
APA Writing Resources
Assignments for this course will be formatted in APA. This page contains a paper formatting guide, as well as links and resources with more information on citing sources and formatting your paper. You can also use this page to schedule a session with our Writing and Research Support Faculty.
Saint Leo University - Core Values
Discusses all Core Values, details the value of EXCELLENCE, which must be integrated into your final research paper.
Wikipedia - USA Freedom Act
Contains information on the USA Freedom Act and its impacts. Links to further resources on the USA Freedom Act. Good starting resource for Module 2.
Natural Disasters Resources
Man-Made Disasters Resources
EBSCO APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for psychology articles and research; the search interface is currently provided by EBSCO. It has very little full text, but is considered to be one of the most valuable research tools for psychology majors and researchers.
EBSCO Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text™ contains more than 400,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.
EBSCO International Terrorism and National Security This link opens in a new window
When traveling or doing business abroad, it pays to do your research.
EBSCO PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO provides unmatched coverage of behavioral science and mental health fields, containing over 3.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s, with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from 1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Information on legal, corporate, and government subjects through newspapers, journals and magazines.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Academic multi-disciplinary databases that contain full-text, scholarly articles for research in: the arts, business, current events/news, health and medicine, history, literature and languages, science and technology, and the social sciences.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
An information source for scientific, technical, and medical research. Search for peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters (including open access content)
WestLaw This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive legal resources—new interface and features.
Biopolitics of Race by
Many political figures insist that their anti-immigration sentiments have nothing to do with race and racism. Americans seem largely unconvinced, which is why politicians must protest so loudly and often. In order to deflect accusations of racism, public figures evoke the neo-liberal principle that calls for protection of state health and resources. Yet contemporary philosophers such as Hanna Arendt, Michel Foucault, and Giorgio Agamben argue that neo-liberal ideology is racist. Sokthan Yeng applies their analysis to the debate over immigration policies to show that neo-liberalism not only recodes traditional racist rhetoric but also expands systemic racism. Politicians can say that their anti-immigration policies are meant to protect the nation's economy and strength. It is no coincidence, however, that the populations most affected by these regulations are ethnic and cultural minorities such as Mexican and Muslim immigrants. The analysis presented in The Biopolitics of Race will be valuable to philosophers and other scholars or students interested in critical race theory, feminism, and queer theory. It also has implications for anyone working in public health, bioethics, or migration studies.
Case Studies in Disaster Response and Emergency Management by
Each emergency comes with its own set of challenges, however, many emergencies of the past can be used as tools to evaluate the decisions made and apply them to similar situations. Designed to enable public officials to conduct this kind of evaluation, Case Studies in Disaster Response and Emergency Management details a selection of emergencies mor
Information Security Management by
Information security is moving much higher up the agenda of corporate concerns. If information is our most important asset, then we must gird ourselves up for the task of protecting it properly. Information Security Management: Global Challenges in the New Millennium focuses on aspects of information security planning, evaluation, design and implementation.
Terrorism, security, and human rights : harnessing the rule of law by
"Scholars and policymakers disagree on the most effective way to counter transnational terrorism, generating debate on a range of questions: Do military interventions increase or decrease the recruitment capability of transnational terrorists? Should we privilege diplomacy over military force in the campaign against terror? Can counterterrorist measures be applied without violating human rights? More fundamentally, is it possible to effectively wage a war against terrorism? Grappling with these questions, Mahmood Monshipouri reviews alternative strategies for combating terrorism and makes the case for the continued relevance of international law and diplomacy as measures for severing its roots in the Middle East and elsewhere. Monshipouri underlines the need to redefine security to include the protection of human rights. In that context, he examines the limits of the use of force, torture, and externally imposed democratization and focuses on the conditions under which alternative counterterrorism tools can be viable. While acknowledging that there is no easy remedy to the tensions between security needs and human rights, he makes a compelling argument that the pursuit of a security template that sacrifices civil liberties is not only morally debilitating, but also politically imprudent"--Provided by publisher.
Terrorism and Disaster Management by
Disaster preparedness goes far beyond drafting a plan. As a healthcare leader, you must ensure that your organization has the appropriate programs and trained staff in place to respond quickly to any disaster event or threat. But you may be struggling with questions such as, "Where does my facility fit into communitywide preparedness systems?"; "Who is in charge, and what do they expect of me?"; and "What do I need to do first?" These questions and more are answered throughout this book. This resource focuses on planning and preparedness, with a special emphasis on issues of terrorism. Leaders in the fields of emergency medicine, law, and terrorism response provide guidance in the areas of: Understanding the legal and ethical issues surrounding disaster planning and preparedness Obtaining disaster assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency Navigating the confusing web of governmental and agency direction, control, and oversight Achieving and maintaining local interagency cooperation Integrating civilian and military response Meeting the preparedness needs of special populations
Terrorism and Public Health by
This book, written by 36 experts on a wide variety of public health aspects of terrorism provides a comprehensive review of lessons learned from September 11 and the dissemination of anthrax and their aftermaths. It reviews potential terrorist weapons and approaches to reducing threats from these weapons. In addition, it describes ways of improving the public health system, protecting civil liberties, and exploring the roots of terrorism. Well-written well-organized, and up-to-date, this book is essential reading for health professionals students in the health professions, and anyone concerned with terrorism and its health consequences. Book jacket.
Terrorism and WMDs by
Terrorists continue to enhance their technical sophistication in constructing weapons of mass destruction (WMDs) with devastating effects. Chemical, biological, radiological, nuclear, and explosive (CBRNE) weapons now pose a greater threat than ever before. Emphasizing basic chemistry and biology, including microbiology and human health, Terrorism