Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
EME 320 Home
EME 320: Fire Prevention Organization And Management
Image by mohamed Hassan from Pixabay
This LibGuide provides students in EME 320 with resources to assist with research and to help support assignments. For more information on the Emergency Management program at Saint Leo and additional resources, please visit the Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Management LibGuide.
Assignment Support Links
APA Citation Guide
This guide provides you with APA citation formatting guides for commonly-cited sources, as well as guides to using the citation formatting tool Zotero.
APA Writing Resources
Assignments for this course will be formatted in APA. This page contains a paper formatting guide, as well as links and resources with more information on citing sources and formatting your paper. You can also use this page to schedule a session with our Writing and Research Support Faculty.
Citing Saint Leo University Core Values
Includes guidelines for citing university Core Values in APA, MLA, and ASA format.
FEMA - Fire Prevention and Public Education
Resources from FEMA on fire prevention and public education. Can be helpful for Module 3 assignment.
FEMA - ICS Resource Center
A list of resources for ICS. Can be helpful for Module 2 assignment.
Saint Leo University - Core Values
Discusses all Core Values, details the value of EXCELLENCE, which must be integrated into your final research paper.
Natural Disasters Resources
Man-Made Disasters Resources
EBSCO APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for psychology articles and research; the search interface is currently provided by EBSCO. It has very little full text, but is considered to be one of the most valuable research tools for psychology majors and researchers.
EBSCO Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text™ contains more than 400,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.
EBSCO International Terrorism and National Security This link opens in a new window
When traveling or doing business abroad, it pays to do your research.
EBSCO PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO provides unmatched coverage of behavioral science and mental health fields, containing over 3.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s, with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from 1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Information on legal, corporate, and government subjects through newspapers, journals and magazines.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Academic multi-disciplinary databases that contain full-text, scholarly articles for research in: the arts, business, current events/news, health and medicine, history, literature and languages, science and technology, and the social sciences.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
An information source for scientific, technical, and medical research. Search for peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters (including open access content)
WestLaw This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive legal resources—new interface and features.
Fire Hazards in Industry by
Significant loss to business occurs through fires in the workplace. Whether large or small, fire causes personal suffering, damage to plant, equipment and buildings, and loss of business. Fire legislation has changed over the past few years, especially with the introduction of European Directives. New regulations mean that employers have to carry out fire risk assessment and then, as a result of their findings, put in place control measures to prevent loss of life. Fire Hazards in Industry has been designed to cover, in general terms, exactly what is required of employers. It is written in simple language and considers the basics of good fire safety management. After reading Fire Hazards in Industry, any employer, safety professional or fire safety officer should be able to install a system for carrying out fire risk assessment. In addition to sections relating to the legal aspects of fire prevention, the book explains the concepts of fire modelling, explosions and combustion reactions. There is also a section relating to common industry fire hazards and hazards associated with electrical equipment. Knowledge of all these topics would be required if a person were to attempt to carry out fire risk assessment. Throughout the book, past case histories are used to illustrate certain aspects of fire and the causes of fire. The cases used have all been published by the Health and Safety Executive as a result of their investigations. These include; Abbeystead, Frodingham steelworks, HMS Glasgow, BP Grangemouth and many more. This book will be equally relevant to motor manufacturing as it is to the chemical industry. There are many case studies included that deal with fire hazards that are found in general industry. Fire Hazards in Industry is suitable for those who have relatively limited experience in fire safety and therefore use it as part of their career and educational development, but also can be used as reference material for those experienced professionals who have fire safety included in their day to day responsibility.
Fire Performance Analysis for Buildings by
A building fire is dynamic. A continually changing hostile fire environment influences time relationships that affect fire defenses and risks to people and building functions. The fire and fire defenses in each building interact with different sequences and distinct ways. Risks are characterized by the building's performance. Significantly updated and restructured new edition Fire Performance Analysis for Buildings, 2nd Edition organizes the complex interactions into an analytical framework to evaluate any building - at any location - built under any regulatory jurisdiction or era. Systematic, logical procedures evaluate individual component behavior and integrate results to understand holistic performance. The Interactive Performance Information (IPI) chart structures complex time-related interactions among the fire, fire defenses, and associated risks. Quantification uses state-of-the-art deterministic methods of fire safety engineering and fire science. Managing uncertainty is specifically addressed. Key features: Emphasizes fire performance analysis for new or existing buildings. Augments fire dynamics calculation methods with qualitative methods to form a more complete understanding of the effects of hostile fire characteristics on building performance. Describes fire ground operations for engineers with no fire service experience. An analysis evaluates ways the site and building design help or hinder manual fire suppression. Establishes a transition from traditional structural requirements to modern calculation based structural analysis and design for fire conditions. Structural concepts are described for non-structural engineers to enable the roles of each profession to be integrated into comprehensive performance evaluations. Addresses techniques of managing uncertainty to improve understanding and communication with professionals of other disciplines. Describes methods of risk management using information from the building's performance analysis. Fire Performance Analysis for Buildings, 2nd Edition has been completely restructured around a performance based framework. Applications integrate traditional fire defenses with fire science and engineering to combine component performance with holistic performance.
Fire Safety by
Fire Safety Preventing accidents Safety Management Security Management Family Security Hotel Security Security as a Guest Amenity Safe Storing
Forest Fires by
"A forest fire is any uncontrolled, non-structure fire that occurs in the wilderness. Wildlife behavior is often complex and variably dependent on factors such as fuel type, moisture content in the fuel, humidity, windspeed, topology, geographic location and ambient temperature. Weather patterns, such as heat waves droughts can also have a dramatic impact on the onset and outcome of wildfires. Fire is sometimes essential for forest regeneration, however, it often destroys forests and has dire social and economic consequences. This book looks at the underlying causes of forest fires, their ecological effects and preventive strategies."--Publisher's description.
Firefighter Job Description
"Firefighter Job Description. Part of the series: Firefighter Career Information. The job description for a firefighter focuses on preventing and putting out fires, as well as protecting the community. Find out more about firefighter jobs with tips from an experienced professional firefighter in this free video on career information."
Fire Inspection-Inspection Ride a Long.m4v
"Ride along with one of Arvada's Fire Inspectors Randall Weigum as he performs routine fire & safety inspections of local businesses."
Fire Safety Education Video
"Want to learn some fire safety tips? Meet Frankie the Fire Hall as he teaches you how to stay safe in your home!"
Kids Fire Safety Awareness Program (Ages 5-7)
"Understanding fire safety is important for the whole family. Terrigal Fire Station discuss what is a safe fire and what is an unsafe fire. This video is suitable for children between the ages of 5 and 7."