Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
EME 315 Home
EME 315: Interagency Disaster Management
Image by Jan Helebrant from Pixabay
This LibGuide provides students in EME 315 with resources to assist with research and to help support assignments. For more information on the Emergency Management program at Saint Leo and additional resources, please visit the Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Management LibGuide.
Natural Disasters Resources
Man-Made Disasters Resources
EBSCO APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for psychology articles and research; the search interface is currently provided by EBSCO. It has very little full text, but is considered to be one of the most valuable research tools for psychology majors and researchers.
EBSCO Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text™ contains more than 400,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.
EBSCO International Terrorism and National Security This link opens in a new window
When traveling or doing business abroad, it pays to do your research.
EBSCO PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO provides unmatched coverage of behavioral science and mental health fields, containing over 3.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s, with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from 1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Information on legal, corporate, and government subjects through newspapers, journals and magazines.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Academic multi-disciplinary databases that contain full-text, scholarly articles for research in: the arts, business, current events/news, health and medicine, history, literature and languages, science and technology, and the social sciences.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
An information source for scientific, technical, and medical research. Search for peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters (including open access content)
WestLaw This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive legal resources—new interface and features.
FEMA's Disaster Logistics Efforts by
The Department of Homeland Security's (DHS) Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) is responsible for integrating federal disaster logistics efforts--that is, the ability to deliver goods to disaster survivors. The National Response Framework (NRF) guides how the nation is to respond to all types of disasters, and its Emergency Support Function #7 (ESF 7) Logistics Annex describes the actions that FEMA is to take in collaborating with federal partners and state and local stakeholders to deliver disaster logistics support and assess state and local logistics capabilities. This book discusses the extent to which FEMA has implemented ESF 7 guidance and incorporated leading practices for interagency collaboration with its federal partners; and implemented ESF 7 guidance in collaborating with state and local stakeholders and incorporated effective program management practices for its logistics assessment program.
Climate and Disaster Resilience in Cities by
One of the emerging reasons for the current trend of increasing impacts of disasters is the unpredictability of natural hazard events coupled with the tendency of human settlements to move to vulnerable locations including coastal areas in search of economic gains. Urban areas are most affected due to concentration of habitat and resources. Whilst it is impossible to make resistant urban growth, resilience is becoming more widely accepted and urban systems must be resilient enough to cope with the climate related hazards. This book highlights the issues of resilience through regional, national, city and community-based studies. Contributions come from academia, city government networks, city managers, non-government organizations and international agencies like the World Bank and United Nations. Thus, the book reflects a unique aspect of multi-stakeholder perspective. It also highlights how to enhance actions at local levels, and how the plans can be implemented through multi-stakeholder collaboration. This is the first book to combine academic research and field practice on the urban risk reduction, especially focusing on the climate-related disasters in the Asian region.
Disaster Response by
What are the challenges involved in disaster response? Providing water and sanitation are the immediate challenges following a disaster / Pan American Health Organization ; Post-disaster temporary housing is often an unmet need / Matt Fink [and others] ; Natural disasters present the challenge of dealing with emotional trauma, especially for children / Philip J. Lazarus, Shane R. Jimerson, and Stephen E. Brock ; Disaster response challenges are mounting as global warming increases climatic disasters around the world / Oxfam International ; Building a disaster-resilient nation and world is the grand challenge / David Applegate -- Has the U.S. disaster response improved since Hurricane Katrina? A new and enhanced FEMA was created in 2007 / R. David Paulison ; The federal government has improved disaster preparedness and response / Gregg Carlstrom ; Coordination between the federal government and states was better for Hurricane Gustav than for Hurricane Katrina / Associated Press ; Hurricanes Gustav and Ike showed that FEMA reforms have worked / Jeff Greene ; FEMA reforms did not address the root causes of the Katrina response disaster / Peter Grier ; FEMA is not ready for another Katrina disaster / Stewart M. Powell ; FEMA failed to develop a housing plan for Hurricane Ike evacuees / Dahleen Glanton -- Should citizens rely on the government to respond to disasters? FEMA is ready to respond to major disasters / John Solomon ; The private sector cannot take the place of government in disaster response / Dante Chinni ; Citizens cannot rely on FEMA during catastrophic events / Dorothy A. Seese ; Most Texans in hurricane country do not rely on the government / Gina McCauley ; Reliance on the federal government gives a false sense of security to state and local governments / Matt A. Mayer, Richard Weitz, and Diem Nguyen -- How can U.S. disaster response be improved? FEMA should give states and localities more responsibility for disaster response / Patrick Roberts ; FEMA must coordinate better with voluntary agencies in providing mass care after disasters / U.S. Government Accountability Office ; A good communications network is still needed for first responders / Sascha Meinrath ; FEMA is still in need of reform / Mitchell L. Moss ; FEMA should not be given more power / Michael Hampton ; Greater government investments are needed to provide effective disaster response / Donald Cohen ; The government should create a national disaster insurance fund / Frank McEnulty ; The government-funded disaster safety net should be replaced with free-market policies / Thomas A. Bowden.
Crisis Information Management by
This book explores the management of information in crises, particularly the interconnectedness of information, people, and technologies during crises. Natural disasters, such as the Haiti earthquake and Hurricane Katrina, and 9/11 and human-made crises, such as the recent political disruption in North Africa and the Middle East, have demonstrated that there is a great need to understand how individuals, government, and non-government agencies create, access, organize, communicate, and disseminate information within communities during crisis situations. This edited book brings together papers written by researchers and practitioners from a variety of information perspectives in crisis preparedness, response and recovery. Edited by the author who coined the term crisis informatics Provides new technological insights into crisis management information Contributors are from information science, information management, applied information technology, informatics, computer science, telecommunications, and libraries
Our Anthem: Building the FEMA our Nation Needs and Deserves
"Our anthem for FEMA’s 2022-2026 Strategic Plan aims to rally a workforce, vast networks for partners and the public around solutions to enhance our work and better support survivors before, during and after disasters. Wide-ranging and long-term, our strategic plan goals – equity, climate resilience, and readiness – respond to the changing landscape in which we find ourselves."
PrepTalks: David Kaufman "Our Changing World: The Challenge for Emergency Managers"
"In his PrepTalk, David Kaufman explains the pathways of success for emergency managers as our society continues to change and grow.
Kaufman is the Vice President and Director for Safety and Security at CNA, a nonprofit organization that provides operational analysis to advance the safety and security of the United States."
The National Counterterrorism Center
"This NCTC video provides viewers with a short overview of the Center's mission and responsibilities in the fight against terrorism, a rare peek inside our state-of-the-art Operations Center, and insights into how the Intelligence Community and Law Enforcement work together to protect our country from the threat of terrorism."