Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
EME 225 Home
EME 225: Principles Of Fire And Emergency Services
Image by OpenClipart-Vectors from Pixabay
This LibGuide provides students in EME 225 with resources to assist with research and to help support assignments. For more information on the Emergency Management program at Saint Leo and additional resources, please visit the Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Management LibGuide.
Natural Disasters Resources
Man-Made Disasters Resources
EBSCO APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for psychology articles and research; the search interface is currently provided by EBSCO. It has very little full text, but is considered to be one of the most valuable research tools for psychology majors and researchers.
EBSCO Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text™ contains more than 400,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.
EBSCO International Terrorism and National Security This link opens in a new window
When traveling or doing business abroad, it pays to do your research.
EBSCO PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO provides unmatched coverage of behavioral science and mental health fields, containing over 3.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s, with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from 1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Information on legal, corporate, and government subjects through newspapers, journals and magazines.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Academic multi-disciplinary databases that contain full-text, scholarly articles for research in: the arts, business, current events/news, health and medicine, history, literature and languages, science and technology, and the social sciences.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
An information source for scientific, technical, and medical research. Search for peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters (including open access content)
WestLaw This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive legal resources—new interface and features.
Critical Issues and Analysis in Fire Protection and Prevention by
With an estimated 135 000 reported fire incidents occurring each day worldwide (CTIF World Fire Statistics Center, 2020), fire safety is a major societal and safety issue. Fires have an enormous impact on people's lives and wellbeing. They cause massive amounts of air pollution, increase carbon emissions, and are responsible for the loss of invaluable natural and cultural heritage. In the current context of climate change, it is hence crucial to develop appropriate preventive and protective measures against fire. This book is a compilation of studies and advances on the current state of research related to critical issues and analysis in the field of fire safety, with chapter contributions from various countries and research institutions worldwide (Australia, Chile, France, India and USA). It aims to provide a broad picture of currently faced challenges and potential solutions from passive and active protective measures, to modelling and experimentations related to compartment and wildland fires. Chapter 1 and 2 address the issues of smoke generation in compartment fires, with, on the one hand, the risk of ignition of unburnt gases and, and on the other hand, the need for visibility through smoke for evacuation.Chapter 3 and 4 are dedicated to the fire resistance and pyrolysis study of innovative composite materials and bio-based flame retardants, notably for vehicle and aircraft applications. Chapter 5 discusses the challenges related to the fire protection of built cultural heritage and evaluate the performance of an innovative sprinkler fire suppression system. Chapter 6 addresses the issue of forest fires and provides a methodology to improve the emergency response time at urban-forest interfaces. Chapter 7 opens up the discussion and provides potential solutions to help reduce the occurrence of wildfires and increase community safety in the context of climate change by involving renewable energies and local fire stations.
Enhancing Individual and Team Performance in Fire and Emergency Services by
The fire and emergency services is a particularly large industry - in Australia alone it employs 250,000 personnel - yet there is very little by way of published human factors books addressing this sector directly. This book provides an overview of state-of-the-art research that has been conducted within Australia.
On the Fireline by
In this rugged account of a rugged profession, Matthew Desmond explores the heart and soul of the wildland firefighter. Having joined a firecrew in Northern Arizona as a young man, Desmond relates his experiences with intimate knowledge and native ease, adroitly balancing emotion with analysis and action with insight. "On the Fireline "shows that these firefighters arenOCOt the adrenaline junkies or romantic heroes as theyOCOre so often portrayed. a An immersion into a dangerous world, "On the Fireline "is also a sophisticated analysis of a high-risk professionOCoand a captivating read. a OC Gripping . . . a masterful account of how young men are able to face down wildfire, and why they volunteer for such an enterprise in the first place.OCOOCoDavid Grazian, "Sociological Forum" a OC Along with the risks and sorrow, Desmond also presents the humor and comaraderie of ordinary men performing extraordinary tasks.a. . . Aagood complement to Norman Maclean''s "Young Men and Fire." Recommended.OCOOCo"Library Journal"
Community Based Disaster Risk Reduction by
Communities are at the core of disaster risk reduction (DRR), and community based approaches are getting increasing focus in national DRR plans. In the case of past disasters, communities were always the first responders, and took leading roles in the post disaster recovery. The roles of communities in pre-disaster preparedness are also very important. This is the first comprehensive book available on CBDRR (community based disaster risk reduction) which outlines both research and practice, citing field examples and research results. It provides an overview of the subject and looks at the role of governments, NGOs, academics and corporate sectors in community based disaster risk reduction. It proceeds to examine experiences from Asian and African countries, and concludes by looking ahead to the future perspective of CBDRR.
A Subtle Balance by
From the Asian tsunami of 2004 to hurricane Katrina in 2005 and the Tohoku earthquake of 2011, our century has been fraught with catastrophic natural disasters. Disaster Risk and Vulnerability assesses the human toll and economic losses of natural disasters and reasserts the importance of human collaboration and organization in disaster management. In most cases, policy makers, planners, managers, and regulators who implement disaster risk reduction response planning and management strategies remain detached from local conditions, failing to address them effectively. Presenting case studies from Asia and North America, as well as a broad range of approaches to community mobilization and partnership development, contributors show that local communities, all levels of government, and non-governmental organizations must work collectively in order to reduce the harm caused by disasters. Despite unprecedented progress in science and technology and governments' continued efforts in disaster risk reduction, socioeconomic losses due to environmental disasters continue to rise. Disaster Risk and Vulnerability provides knowledge and information that will benefit anyone working in the fields of environment, disasters, and community mobilization in an effort to reverse this trend.
Firefighter Job Description
"Firefighter Job Description. Part of the series: Firefighter Career Information. The job description for a firefighter focuses on preventing and putting out fires, as well as protecting the community. Find out more about firefighter jobs with tips from an experienced professional firefighter in this free video on career information."
Firefighter Physical Performance Test
Shows the physical performance test firefighters must go through for the City of Saint Paul.