Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
EME 210 Home
EME 210: Emergency Planning and Preparedness
Image by OpenClipart-Vectors from Pixabay
This LibGuide provides students in EME 210 with resources to assist with research and to help support assignments. For more information on the Emergency Management program at Saint Leo and additional resources, please visit the Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Management LibGuide.
Assignment Support Links
APA Citation Guide
This guide provides you with APA citation formatting guides for commonly-cited sources, as well as guides to using the citation formatting tool Zotero.
APA Writing Resources
Assignments for this course will be formatted in APA. This page contains a paper formatting guide, as well as links and resources with more information on citing sources and formatting your paper. You can also use this page to schedule a session with our Writing and Research Support Faculty.
Citing Saint Leo University Core Values
Includes guidelines for citing university Core Values in APA, MLA, and ASA format.
Saint Leo University - Core Values
Discusses all Core Values, details the value of EXCELLENCE, which must be integrated into your final research paper.
Natural Disasters Resources
EBSCO APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for psychology articles and research; the search interface is currently provided by EBSCO. It has very little full text, but is considered to be one of the most valuable research tools for psychology majors and researchers.
EBSCO Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text™ contains more than 400,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.
EBSCO International Terrorism and National Security This link opens in a new window
When traveling or doing business abroad, it pays to do your research.
EBSCO PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO provides unmatched coverage of behavioral science and mental health fields, containing over 3.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s, with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from 1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Information on legal, corporate, and government subjects through newspapers, journals and magazines.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Academic multi-disciplinary databases that contain full-text, scholarly articles for research in: the arts, business, current events/news, health and medicine, history, literature and languages, science and technology, and the social sciences.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
An information source for scientific, technical, and medical research. Search for peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters (including open access content)
WestLaw This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive legal resources—new interface and features.
Disaster Preparedness for Health Care Facilities
The text is geared towards health care workers such as adult and paediatric physicians and nurses, paramedics and health care facility administrators and will cover disaster preparedness for health care facilities such as hospitals and long-term care homes.The content of the book addresses preparedness for disasters, both natural and man-made, from the standpoint of health care facility pre-planning preparedness to managing and overcoming disasters when they occur. Beginning with how to assess the risk to and readiness of your health care facility for potential disasters, the book progresses to how to deal with any readiness deficiencies found. Each chapter can be a standalone document addressing an individual aspect of disaster preparedness but when all chapters are combined, it creates a complete and authoritative guide on all aspects of disaster preparedness.This book is the only product of its kind that centralizes all of the content required for a health care facility to plan, prepare and manage disaster related events.
Disaster Preparedness against Accidents or Terrorist Attack by
About the Book: The author elaborated in this book his personal reminiscences and experiences, what he gathered from being one of the eyewitnesses of the aftermath of the world's largest terrorist attack on September 11, 2001, when the AL-Qaida Terrorists destroyed the Twin Towers of the American Trade Center at Manhattan, New York. The author was going to his laboratory at the Beth Israel Hospital at Manhattan that day. Incidentally, the task of dealing with the aftermath of the world's largest toxic chemical disaster, which took place in the early morning of December 3, 1984 at the Union Carbide factory at Bhopal, India, was also fell upon him. The author was the Director of ITRC, Lucknow at that time. He had personally witnessed the helplessness of the people who suffered from various types of casualties. He also had shared the sorrows and agonies of many people who lost their nearest and dearest ones, or friends and other members of their families. The lack of preparedness at all quarters made the situation worse. The incident led to a chaotic condition. The question was who and where, where to go to seek help and guidance, who is in command, how to mobilize resources etc. Everywhere there was a disorderly situation. People were bewildered, kind of speechless and flabbergasted. The author felt that there exists an urgent necessity to educate the people at all level regarding what to do under similar such circumstances. What type of preparedness they should undertake and also equip them with. The author strongly recommended that there exists a pressing need of establishing a well-planned preparedness plan all around the city to face such kind of circumstances. It must operate on wartime urgency and with equal competency. The present volume is the outcome of such a thought in order to help and educate the common citizen, the planners, administrators, law and order personnel, medical experts, hospital emergencies, philanthropic and religious organizations, and the voluntary agencies such that they get themselves organized to deal with the aftermath of such kind of incidents, man-made or otherwise. Contents: Introduction Historical Perspectives on Accidents Causing Major Chemical Disasters Deliberate Terrorist Attack Dropping of an Atom Bomb Hazardous Chemicals/Biologicals/Radiological as Potential Weapons for the Terrorists Coping with Disasters Chance Accidents or that caused by Terrorist Attack Sponsored Terrorism Preventive Measures at the State, Federal Government and Individual Level Preparedness Plan and Measures Needed to Safeguard the Health of the Population Disaster Preparedness: Protection: Safety Devices and Control Safety Agents/Devices Required for Protection Disaster Cum Emergency Handling Procedures Social Aspect of Chemical/Biological/Radiological Disasters Awareness Programme, Psychological Counseling, Spiritual Guidance and Rehabilitation Arrangement Tsunami - Earthquakes, Volcanic Eruptions, Typhoons, Toronadoes Cyclones, High Tides, Flood and Similar such Natural Disasters
Disaster Response by
It is impossible to ignore the relentless media reports of various human-made and natural disasters and the constant threats they pose to our society. Beyond the news headlines, recent disasters have prompted the restructuring of the U.S. government, namely the formation of the Department of Homeland Security and the reorganization of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). With the ever-present threat of disasters from hurricanes, tornadoes, earthquakes, floods, wildfires, landslides, drought, winter storms, nuclear accidents, terrorist attacks, and chemical contamination, the role of government in protecting the population seems more important than ever.Disaster Response explores the issue of natural and human-made disasters and the nation's response to them in the popular Library in a Book format. It begins with a comprehensive, up-to-date overview of the history of the topic and the opinions surrounding it. Contemporary case studies range from the terrorist attacks of 9/11 to such natural disasters as Hurricane Katrina. Capsule biographies, a large annotated bibliography, a chronology of significant events, organization and agency listings, and a glossary also provide invaluable information for students, teachers, librarians, activists, policymakers, and general readers interested in exploring the controversy surrounding this issue. Coverage includes: Whether or not the government can provide adequate leadership in disaster response situationsHow well government agencies have responded to disastersWhether or not government agencies have learned from failed relief efforts in the pastand more
Disaster Resilience by
No person or place is immune from disasters or disaster-related losses. Infectious disease outbreaks, acts of terrorism, social unrest, or financial disasters in addition to natural hazards can all lead to large-scale consequences for the nation and its communities. Communities and the nation thus face difficult fiscal, social, cultural, and environmental choices about the best ways to ensure basic security and quality of life against hazards, deliberate attacks, and disasters. Beyond the unquantifiable costs of injury and loss of life from disasters, statistics for 2011 alone indicate economic damages from natural disasters in the United States exceeded $55 billion, with 14 events costing more than a billion dollars in damages each. One way to reduce the impacts of disasters on the nation and its communities is to invest in enhancing resilience--the ability to prepare and plan for, absorb, recover from and more successfully adapt to adverse events. Disaster Resilience: A National Imperative addresses the broad issue of increasing the nation's resilience to disasters. This book defines "national resilience", describes the state of knowledge about resilience to hazards and disasters, and frames the main issues related to increasing resilience in the United States. It also provide goals, baseline conditions, or performance metrics for national resilience and outlines additional information, data, gaps, and/or obstacles that need to be addressed to increase the nation's resilience to disasters. Additionally, the book's authoring committee makes recommendations about the necessary approaches to elevate national resilience to disasters in the United States. Enhanced resilience allows better anticipation of disasters and better planning to reduce disaster losses-rather than waiting for an event to occur and paying for it afterward. Disaster Resilience confronts the topic of how to increase the nation's resilience to disasters through a vision of the characteristics of a resilient nation in the year 2030. Increasing disaster resilience is an imperative that requires the collective will of the nation and its communities. Although disasters will continue to occur, actions that move the nation from reactive approaches to disasters to a proactive stance where communities actively engage in enhancing resilience will reduce many of the broad societal and economic burdens that disasters can cause.
Emergency Management Compliance Manual, Second Edition by
Emergency Management Compliance Manual, Second Edition Thomas J. Huser, MS, CHSP, CHEP Comply with the Joint Commission's emergency management standards! Now that CMS and The Joint Commission are placing greater emphasis on emergency management, this book is a must have! The pressure is on safety officers and emergency management coordinators to protect their facility, staff, and patients from emergencies, regardless of size or type. The Emergency Management Compliance Manual, Second Edition, provides a detailed look at CMS and The Joint Commission's Emergency Management expectations and standards. With this essential emergency preparedness resource, you'll be able to cut through the clutter to better understand best practices and meet requirements. This book will help you: Develop emergency management and operations plans that work Define an emergency and complete a hazard vulnerability analysis Address The Joint Commission's six critical areas Understand disaster privileging and assigning responsibilities during an emergency Evaluate the effectiveness of your planning Recognize hotspots and take action before they happen Prepare for the proposed CMS emergency management rule Table of Contents: Chapter 1: Strategies for Compliance With The Joint Commission's Emergency Management Standards Chapter 2: Emergency Management Plan Development Chapter 3: The Emergency Operations Plan Chapter 4: Emergency Communications Chapter 5: Resources and Assets Chapter 6: Security and Safety Chapter 7: Staffing Chapter 8: Utilities Management Chapter 9: Patient Management Chapter 10: Disaster Privileging Chapter 11: Disaster Responsibilities Chapter 12: Evaluation of Emergency Planning Chapter 13: Effectiveness of the EOP Chapter 14: Survey Hotspots Chapter 15: Resources for Disaster Preparedness
Emergency Management: an Overview and Issues for Congress by
After a flood, people are often uncertain if their eligibility for federal disaster assistance is linked to any way to whether or not they have flood insurance. The first two chapters in this book provide an overview of the assistance available to individuals and households following a flood and provides links to more comprehensive guidance on both flood insurance and disaster assistance. Introductory information on key components of the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP), ranging from floodplain mapping to the standard flood insurance forms are provided. The next chapter examines the First Responder Authority (FirstNet), a federal agency created by Congress to help public safety agencies to communicate during incidents (during the events of September 11, 2011, first responders could not communicate with each other. Some radios did not work while other radio channels were overloaded by a large number of responders trying to communicate). The subsequent chapter briefly describes recent education-related developments in response to numerous disasters in 2017. It then describes education-related federal assistance provided by FEMA in the aftermath of disasters generally. This is followed by an examination of education-related disaster recovery and issues related to elementary and secondary education, postsecondary education and various ED-administered programs typically serving adult learners. The fifth chapter provides a short summary of the types of individual assistance programs administered by FEMA (Federal Emergency Management Agency) following a disaster. It also provides a summary of the criteria FEMA uses in determining which individual assistance programs may be made available to impacted areas following a major disaster declaration, and discusses a proposed rule to change these criteria. The last chapter provides an overview of the United States Fire Administration (USFA), whose objective is to significantly reduce the nation's loss of life from fire, while also achieving a reduction in property loss and nonfatal injury due to fire.
Emergency Management and Sustainability by
Emergency managers are faced with natural and human-made problems that are constantly evolving and changing the footprints of disaster. The complexity of these problems is more than matched by the complexity of the physical and social systems that emergency managers are expected to understand as they offer solutions for the recurring disaster problems that are presented to them in the normal course of their work. The technical skills and capacities that emergency managers have developed over time as they have plied their trade are impressive and increasingly effective and have never been more important. But they are not nearly enough to keep pace with or manage hazard risks and disasters. Something else is needed. This transformation, the something else if you will, is a necessity to assure emergency managers that disasters (both natural and man-made) will never exceed our capacities to manage effectively. This transformation, which if successfully completed better enables whole communities to take responsibility for disasters, is needed to promote hazard resilience in particular and sustainable communities in general. There is a need for a worldview that comprehends the connections between hazard threats, disaster resilience, and sustainability. The purpose of this book is to define emergency management as a profession, something that has been discussed much in recent years but not brought to a satisfactory completion. The linkage of emergency management to sustainability, i.e. the defining of it as a sustainability profession, is presented as the necessary linkage that (potentially) orients all of the professional skill development and the work of the trade and transforms it into a profession.
Our Anthem: Building the FEMA our Nation Needs and Deserves
"Our anthem for FEMA’s 2022-2026 Strategic Plan aims to rally a workforce, vast networks for partners and the public around solutions to enhance our work and better support survivors before, during and after disasters. Wide-ranging and long-term, our strategic plan goals – equity, climate resilience, and readiness – respond to the changing landscape in which we find ourselves."
PrepTalks: David Kaufman "Our Changing World: The Challenge for Emergency Managers"
"In his PrepTalk, David Kaufman explains the pathways of success for emergency managers as our society continues to change and grow.
Kaufman is the Vice President and Director for Safety and Security at CNA, a nonprofit organization that provides operational analysis to advance the safety and security of the United States."
12 Steps to Developing an Effective Emergency Management Plan
"This video describes how to develop and emergency management plan for governments, towns, cities, municipalities etc."