LIBRARY
ENG 122: Academic Writing II (Baczewski): Research Databases
Databases for Literature
Literary Reference™ Center (LRC Plus) is a full-text database with over 200 additional full-text literary journals and magazines, 35 volumes of new contemporary literature titles from Salem Press, 40 full-text literary study guides, and 72 literary videos.
- GALE Literature Resource Center
Author biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. The collection includes Literature Criticism Online and Twayne's Authors.
- Literature Criticism Online
Includes centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - delivered in an easy-to-use online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals
General Databases
EBSCO: Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text databases.
Proquest: Business and academic multi-disciplinary databases that contain full-text, scholarly articles.
JSTOR: is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection: includes the Humanities and Social Sciences Collection, Science Collection, Business and Economics Collection, and Health Collection. Videos can be watched in their entirety, or as individual segments, on your computer.
Issues and politics
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
- NewswiresEBSCO's Newswires provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis. This content is monitored by EBSCO and relevant results are provided when users enter searches in EBSCOhost. This collection includes AP Financial News, AP Top News, AP WorldStream, AP U.S. Politics & Government, AP 50 State Reports, UPI Security Industry, UPI Emerging Threats, UPI Business, UPI Entertainment, UPI Sports, UPI Top News, Arabia 2000, and more.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Information on legal, corporate, and government subjects through newspapers, journals and magazines.