Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

ENG 122: Academic Writing II (Husic, Fall 2020): Annotated Bibliography

Resources for Research Assignment & Annotated Bibliography.

Annotated Bibliography: Definition

A bibliography is a list of citations for various books, articles, and other sources on a topic. 

The annotated bibliography looks like a Works Cited page but includes an annotation, a short summary and critical evaluation of a source, after each source cited.  It critically assesses the work for accuracy, relevance, and quality. The focus is on description and evaluation.

 

(Source: https://columbiacollege-ca.libguides.com/mla/annot_bib)

Your Annotated Bibliography Assignment

ENG 122

Annotated Bibliography

Assignment:

Before jumping in to the drafting stage of your Research Essay, it’s crucial to first make sure that you’ve located the best and most credible resources possible and that you’ve thoroughly comprehended their role in your research. You will create an annotated bibliography, which is a list of citations for your sources that includes a summary and evaluation of each source. You will list at least 3 secondary sources—online magazine or newspaper articles, peer review journal articles, books, interviews, or videos. Given the music/popular culture content of this paper, most of your sources will probably be online articles that have been recently published.

Part of your grade will be based on proper MLA citation for each source. Your annotations will be written in paragraph form and be about half a page long each. You should write them from a first-person “I” point of view; the tone should be honest and professional. Each annotation should prove the following:

  1. Where is this source from and what makes it credible? (ex: Who is the author and what is her expertise? What kind of publication or source is this?)
  2. What are the main arguments and points of this source?
  3. What are any subjective biases or shortcomings in the source? Do you agree or disagree with them?
  4. What is the source’s purpose and role in your research? How do you plan to use it?

Purpose:

  • To learn more about your topic
  • To interact with your sources on a deeper level
  • To allow you to see different sides and angles on your topic
  • To help you form a thesis and organize your thoughts (the pre-writing stage)
  • To practice and polish your MLA citation format

Due Date: Friday, October 30th  

Guidelines:

-This annotated bibliography must be a minimum of 3 pages.

-Please write in 12 point, Times New Roman font, 1 inch margins, double-spaced.

Grade:

-Your professor will assess your paper using the attached grading rubric. It’s worth 15% of your final grade

Annotated Bibliography Example

 

Notice that the entire annotated bibliography is indented except the author's last name (first line of the citation). It is also double-spaced.

London, Herbert. “Five Myths of the Television Age.” Television Quarterly, vol. 10, no. 1, Mar. 1982, pp. 81-69.                                                                        Herbert London, the Dean of Journalism at New York University and author of several books and articles, explains how television contradicts five commonly believed ideas. He uses specific examples of events seen on television, such as the assassination of John Kennedy, to illustrate his points. His examples have been selected to contradict such truisms as: “seeing is believing”; “a picture is worth a thousand words”; and “satisfaction is its own reward.” London uses logical arguments to support his ideas which are his personal opinion. He does not refer to any previous works on the topic. London’s style and vocabulary would make the article of interest to any reader. The article clearly illustrates London’s points, but does not explore their implications leaving the reader with many unanswered questions.

(Source: https://columbiacollege-ca.libguides.com/mla/annot_bib)

Grading Rubric for Your Annotated Bibliography

Grading Rubric for Annotated Bibliography

CATEGORY

A

B  

C

D

F

 

Quantity of sources

 

  

 10 pts.

 

Goes above and beyond the three required secondary sources

 

Four required secondary sources

 

One source under the required number of sources.

 

Two to three sources under the required number of sources.

 

No sources, incomplete

 

Quality/

Credibility of Sources

 

 

20 pts.

 

All sources cited can be considered credible and/or trustworthy

 

Most sources cited can be considered credible and/or trustworthy

 

Some sources can be considered credible and/or trustworthy

 

Few sources cited can be considered credible and/or trustworthy

 

Little or no credible and/or trustworthy sources cited

Grammar and Mechanics

 

20 pts.

Excellent grammar and mechanics throughout

Few grammatical or mechanical errors

Many grammatical or mechanical errors

Poor grammar and mechanics throughout 

Very poor grammar and mechanics throughout

Writing fluency of annotations

25 pts.

All annotations are thoughtful, complete, and well-written; they answer questions 1-4

Most annotations are thoughtful, complete, and well-written; they answer some of the questions

Some annotations are well-written but some are lacking in completeness, thought, and /or writing quality

Most annotations are lacking in completeness, thought, and/or writing quality

All annotations are lacking in completeness, thought, and/or writing quality

 

MLA

Formatting 

 

 

 

25 pts.

 

Citations are formatted correctly in the document

 

There are a few formatting errors in the document’s citations

 

There are some formatting errors in the document’s citations

 

There are many and/or frequent formatting errors in the document’s citations

 

There is little or no adherence to MLA format in the document

Overall Annotated Bibliography Grade: __________/100