HUS 522: Administration of Aging Programs: eBooks on Long Term Care

"This concise guide to long-term services and supports introduces a broad array of topics and presents ideas on how to get more extensive information... A variety of graphs, tables, and charts make the information easy to understand. Overall the book is well-organized with chapters that can stand on their own... Readers considering going into long-term care management or administration would find this book a valuable tool."--Doodyis Medical Reviews This is a comprehensive reference for long-term care administrators, practitioners and students who want to understand the options, issues, and trends related to the effective administration and management of long-term care communities. The book is unique in its in-depth focus on what needs to be accomplished and the evidence-based information about what actually works. Multifaceted insights address the ever-changing world of the long-term care industry and offer best practices and model programs in eldercare. This multidisciplinary book covers the most crucial aspects of management including federal and/or state regulations required to provide long-term care services and operate long-term care communities. It offers advice on care at home, naturally occurring retirement communities, and continuing care retirement communities, client care, staff retention, preventing elder abuse and neglect, anticipating and managing litigation and arbitration in long-term care, aging and human diversity, Alzheimeris Disease, palliative care, care transitions, and much more. Distilling many years of practical, research and teaching experience, the authors provide the necessary tools and tips that will enable professionals to maximize the quality of care and the quality of life for older adults living in long-term care communities. Each chapter includes helpful pedagogical features such as learning objectives, case studies, effective practices, and/or model programs in eldercare. Key Features: Based on federal and/or state regulations required to provide long-term care services and operate long-term care communities Examines the complex operations of long-term care options for effective eldercare Highlights the most cost-effective practices and model programs in long-term care communities that are currently used throughout the United States Provides useful tips about client care and staff retention as well as marketing and census development, financing and reimbursement, and legal issues Promotes innovative collaboration between education, research, and practice that is reflected by the training of the editors and contributing authors

Demographic and epidemiological changes mean that frail older people have come to be seen as an expensive problem for health care systems. The challenge for professionals and policy-makers is to find ways to respond to the coming crisis by delivering high-quality care in the home. This collection offers a critical analysis of home care policy and practice. It focuses on how high-quality care is provided and the practices and policies that support this. It offers case studies (both policy- and practice-oriented empirical studies) from countries that share a basic orientation to social welfare: Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Sweden and the United Kingdom. The nine chapters set out a critical agenda for the development of "good" practices in challenging times. This book is essential reading for students, practitioners and researchers who wish to understand diverse problems in care provision for frail older persons and the complexities of policy responses in different health and social care contexts.

"The eighth edition of Aging Networks is particularly well-suited for use in the classroom, and can be used or adapted for a wide variety of disciplines including gerontology, social work, public health, public administration, nursing and other health professions... This small volume is not only an excellent learning tool, but also a imust-havei handbook for aging professionals in many fields." --Noreen A. Shugrue Research Associate, University of Connecticut Center on Aging Farmington, CT Educational Gerontology As our population ages, the need for comprehensive, up-to-date knowledge about aging services in the United States becomes more and more crucial. This highly accessible and concise text about such resources provides students and practitioners of gerontologyoalong with all professionals whose work concerns the well-being of older adultsowith a current, detailed description and analysis of federal, state, local, and global programs and services for older people with or without cognitive, physical, and social needs. Thoroughly updated to encompass the new information available concerning later life, it reflects critical changes to legislation, health care, and current trends, and focuses on the strengths of older adults, their diversity, and the role our multilayered aging network plays in advocacy, community independence, and engagement. Commentary and critical thinking challenges from policymakers, program directors, and educators facilitate high-level thinking and independent analysis of the aging networks, past, present, and future. The eighth edition underscores recent policy changes and how these changes will impact the lives of older adults. "Perspectives" boxes throughout the text highlight complex themes addressed by experts, and "Critical Thinking" topics and questions encourage reflection and discussion. The new edition also describes initiatives that highlight best-practice approaches and model projects designed to facilitate positive change. Along with a vast amount of new and revised information reinforced with a variety of perspectives in historical and current contexts, the book features an international perspective highlighting the collaborative efforts driving many aspects of aging network programming. Additionally, the book focuses on the unique issues of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) population along with programs designed to address them. NEW TO THE EIGHTH EDITION: Expert analyses and insights into complex themesReflects reorganization of the aging network under the Administration for Community Living, and policy changes affecting practiceInternational perspectives such as the World Health Organization's Age-Friendly Cities ProjectInnovative and model projects and programsExpanded focus on issues unique to the LGBT populationThe influence of social determinants on older adults and the aging networksCaregiving issuesDisaster and emergency preparednessEffects of economic downturn on the aging populationElder mistreatmentChanges in employment and retirement patternsSupporting "aging in place"New and expanded educator's ancillary packet

The Upside of Aging: How Long Life Is Changing the World of Health, Work, Innovation, Policy and Purpose explores a titanic shift that will alter every aspect of human existence, from the jobs we hold to the products we buy to the medical care we receive - an aging revolution underway across America and the world. Moving beyond the stereotypes of dependency and decline that have defined older age, The Upside of Aging reveals the vast opportunity and potential of this aging phenomenon, despite significant policy and societal challenges that must be addressed. The book's chapter authors, all prominent thought-leaders, point to a reinvention and reimagination of our older years that have critical implications for people of all ages. With a positive call to action, the book illuminates the upside for health and wellness, work and volunteerism, economic growth, innovation and education.  The authors, like the baby boom generation itself, posit new ways of thinking about aging, as longevity and declining birthrates put the world on track for a mature population of unprecedented size and significance. Among topics they examine are: The emotional intelligence and qualities of the aging brain that science is uncovering, "senior moments" notwithstanding. The new worlds of genomics, medicine and technology that are revolutionizing health care and wellness. The aging population's massive impact on global markets, with enormous profit potential from an explosion in products and services geared toward mature consumers. New education paradigms to meet the needs and aspirations of older people, and to capitalize on their talents. The benefits that aging workers and entrepreneurs bring to companies, and the crucial role of older people in philanthropy and society. Tools and policies to facilitate financial security for longer and more purposeful lives. Infrastructure and housing changes to create livable cities for all ages, enabling "aging in place" and continuing civic contribution from millions of older adults.  The opportunities and potential for intergenerational engagement and collaboration. The Upside of Aging defines a future that differs profoundly from the retirement dreams of our parents and grandparents, one that holds promise and power and bears the stamp of a generation that has changed every stage of life through which it has moved.

An enlightening review of the successes and failures of several federally funded community-based projects that offered elderly persons an alternative to nursing home care. Policymakers, caregivers, and students of public administration and gerontology must read this valuable book.

Practical approaches to the operation of long-term care facilities Managing the Long-Term Care Facility provides a comprehensive introduction to the growing field of long-term care. Taking a continuum-of-care approach, the text covers every aspect of long-term care. Readers will develop a robust knowledge of the issues faced by people experiencing physical and or mental changes. Topics covered include the biological and psychosocial implications of ageing, marketing long-term care, facility operations, and information technology for health care, among many others. By integrating all aspects of long-term care, the book is an invaluable resource that will aid students and professionals in preparing for career advancement and licensure exams. The book is also is designed to help students prepare for the National Nursing Home Administrator exam. Pedagogical elements help guide readers through the content, and summaries and discussion questions to drive home lessons learned. Builds expert knowledge of all aspects of long-term care management, including operations, human resources, patient advocacy, and information systems Emphasizes the latest understandings of the long-term care continuum and patient-centered care for diverse populations Delivers practical approaches to providing quality care to individuals and making a positive impact on community wellbeing Prepares readers for and National Nursing Home Administrator's licensure exam Managing the Long-Term Care Facility: Practical Approaches to Providing Quality Care provides real-world guidance for students in healthcare administration, health and human services, gerontology, nursing, business and medical programs, in both domestic and international markets. Nursing home administrators, administrators-in-training and preceptors will find this book an effective training tool in the nursing facility setting.

Named a 2013 Doody's Essential Purchase! "Since there are few books available on this topic that are this comprehensive and well-organized, this book should be of value to anyone interested in the topic of assisted living facilities in the U.S." Score: 98, 5 stars.óDoodyís Medical Reviews "This book is much needed. It offers a practical approach to key issues in the management of an assisted living facility... It is especially pleasing to see the long needed collaboration between nursing, social services, and education that is reflected by the training of the authors. This book is an important milestone for the field of aging and assisted living administration." From the Foreword byRobert Newcomer, PhD, Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences University of California-San Francisco Assisted Living Administration and Management contains all the essentials for students new to the field, as well as nuanced information for professionals looking to fine-tune their skills. This comprehensive resource provides deeper insights to address the ever-changing world of the assisted living community, containing effective best practices and model programs in elder care. The authors provide the necessary tools and tips to maximize the overall health, safety, and comfort of residents. This landmark reference, for assisted living and senior housing administrators as well as graduate students, contains the most practical guidelines for operating assisted living facilities. It offers advice on hiring and training staff, architecture and space management, and more. This multidisciplinary book is conveniently organized to cover the most crucial aspects of management, including organization; human resources; business and finance; environment; and resident care. Key Features: Highlights the most effective practices and model programs in elder care that are currently used by facilities throughout the United States Contains useful details on business and financial management, including guidelines for marketing, legal issues and terms, and public policy issues Includes chapters on environmental management, with information on accessibility, physical plant maintenance, and disaster preparedness Emphasizes the importance of holistic, resident care management, by examining the biological, psychological, and social aspects of aging Enables students to evaluate, analyze, and synthesize information on how to operate assisted living facilities

Long-term care can be vexing on a personal as well as social level, and it will only grow more so as individuals continue to live longer and the population of aged persons increases in the United States and around the world. This volume explores the ethical issues surrounding elder care from an ecological perspective to propose a new theory of global justice for long-term care. Care work is organized not just nationally, as much current debate suggests, but also transnationally, through economic, labor, immigration, and health policies established by governments, international lending bodies, and for-profit entities. Taking an epistemological approach termed "ecological knowing," Lisa A. Eckenwiler examines this organizational structure to show how it creates and sustains injustice against the dependent elderly and those who care for them, including a growing number of migrant care workers, and how it weakens the capacities of so-called source countries and their health care systems. By focusing on the fact that a range of policies, people, and places are interrelated and mutually dependent, Eckenwiler is able not only to provide a holistic understanding of the way long-term care works to generate injustice but also to find ethical and practicable policy solutions for caring for aging populations in the United States and in less well-off parts of the world. Deeply considered and empirically informed, this examination of the troubles in transnational long-term care is the first to probe the issue from a perspective that reckons with the interdependence of policies, people, and places, and the first to recommend ways policymakers, planners, and families can together develop cohesive, coherent long-term care policies around the ideal of justice.

"Financing Long-Term Services and Supports for Individuals with Disabilities and Older Adults" is the summary of a workshop convened in June 2013 by the Forum on Aging, Disability, and Independence of the Institute of Medicine and the National Research Council to examine the financing of long-term services and supports for working-age individuals with disabilities and among individuals who are developing disabilities as they age. The workshop covered both older adults who acquire disabilities and younger adults with disabilities who may acquire additional impairments as they age, the target population of the Forum's work. The challenges associated with financing long-term services and supports for people with disabilities impacts all age groups. While there are important differences between the characteristics of programs developed for different age groups, and specific populations may have different needs, this workshop addressed the financing sources for long-term services and supports in general, noting specific differences as appropriate. The financing of long-term services and supports has become a major issue in the United States. These are the services and supports that individuals with disabilities, chronic conditions, and functional impairments need in order to live independently, such as assistance with eating, bathing, and dressing. Long-term services and supports do not include the medical or nursing services required to manage health conditions that may be responsible for a disabling condition. At least 11 million adults ages 18 and over receive long-term services and supports. Only a little more than half of them - 57 percent - are ages 65 or older. One study found that about 6 percent of people turning 65 in 2005 could expect to have expenses of more than $100,000 for long-term services and supports. "Financing Long-Term Services and Supports for Individuals with Disabilities and Older Adults" discusses the scope and trends of current sources of financing for long-term services and supports for working-age individuals with disabilities and older adults aging into disability, including income supports and personal savings. This report considers the role of families, business, and government in financing long-term services and supports and discusses implications of and opportunities for current and innovative approaches.

"The array of topics covered is amazing, making this book a valuable, significant resource for many disciplines...This multidisciplinary review of the literature on minority aging presents the scholarship related to public health and 'social, behavioral, and biological concerns' of aged minorities like no other publication. Graduate students will certainly be well-served by this book, as would faculty teaching aging at both undergraduate and graduate levels...Highly recommended."--Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries ..".while practitioners of gerontology, family medicine, and any professional involved in the care of the elderly will find some practical guidance in the second part of the book, it will really earn a place on the bookshelf of anyone and everyone with an interest in US sociology and the development of public policy for the elderly. With the general aging of the population and the book's accentuation of current issues, this outstanding review will become an indispensable tool."Healthy Aging Research This text provides up-to-date, multidisciplinary, and comprehensive information about aging among diverse racial and ethnic populations in the United States. It is the only book to focus on paramount public health issues as they relate to older minority Americans, and addresses social, behavioral, and biological concerns for this population. The text distills the most important advances in the science of minority aging and incorporates the evidence of scholars in gerontology, anthropology, psychology, public health, sociology, social work, biology, medicine, and nursing. Additionally, the book incorporates the work of both established and emerging scholars to provide the broadest possible knowledge base on the needs of and concerns for this rapidly growing population. Chapters focus on subject areas that are recognized as being critical in understanding the well being of minority elders. These include sociology (Medicare, SES, work and retirement, social networks, context/neighborhood, ethnography, gender, demographics), psychology (cognition, stress, mental health, personality, sexuality, religion, neuroscience, discrimination), medicine/nursing/public health (mortality and morbidity, disability, health disparities, long-term care, genetics, dietary issues, health interventions, physical functioning), social work (caregiving, housing, social services, end-of-life care), and many other topics. The book focuses on the needs of four major ethnic groups: Asian/Pacific Islander, Hispanic/Latino, African American, and Native American. Key Features: Provides current, comprehensive information about minority aging through a multidisciplinary lens Integrates information from scholars in gerontology, anthropology, psychology, public health, sociology, social work, biology, medicine, and nursing Emphasizes the principal public health issues concerning minority elders Offers "one-stop shopping" regarding the development of a substantial knowledge base about minority aging Includes recent progressive research pertaining to the social, cultural, psychological and health needs of elderly minority adults in the US

In 2010, 15 percent of Americans older than age 70 had dementia. By 2050, the number of new dementia cases among those 65 and older is expected to double. This blueprint outlines policy options to help decisionmakers improve dementia long-term services and supports (LTSS) by promoting earlier detection, improving access to LTSS, promoting person- and caregiver-centered care, supporting caregivers, and reducing dementia LTSS costs.

The First Comprehensive Guide for Dealing with Dementia's Effect on Sex, Intimacy, and Relationships It is common for a person with dementia to exhibit inappropriate and uncharacteristic sexual behavior, including promiscuity, verbal abuse, aggression, grabbing, exhibitionism, and jealous paranoia. This behavior puts a strain on spouses and partners, as well as other loved ones and caregivers. Now, for the first time, esteemed geriatric neuropsychiatrist, Douglas Wornell, MD, provides essential information and practical solutions to cope with these troubling and often embarrassing actions by providing: information on the contributing role of medication (and overmedication), both prescribed and over-the-counter ways to handle inappropriate behaviors that respect the person with dementia, their loved ones, and their caregivers recommendations to minimize the legal risk and potential for injury in long-term care facilities personal stories of the many ways couples have chosen to deal with the changes to their sexual dynamic and relationship

Practice guidelines for management of conditions prevalent in long-term geriatric care are based, by and large, on expert consensus and rarely on controlled studies. Though enforced by tradition, some of the rules often applied in clinical practice fall short of scientific foundation. In lacking high-grade scientific evidence, geriatric practice might benefit from an 'evidence-balanced' approach. A step forward in this direction is by corroboration of observational data. In this book, we brought our share of observational data, input from our experience in geriatric care, to be merged with the profession's collective information base. Seventy-five case histories illustrate a variety of conditions met at the bedside, some of them challenging the clinician's expertise and judgement. We hope that illustrating clinical practice in the real-world might be a suitable addition for physicians.

"The Encyclopedia of Aging and Health is both a comprehensive reference of best practices across gerontology-related fields and a philosophical work that inspires its readers to embrace a loftier and more global view of aging beyond disability and medications." --Gerontologist As an ever increasing percentage of the population of western societies enters "old age," health issues grow in importance in terms of the well-being of this population, economic impact within the health-care system, impacts on families and family relationships, and so many other ways. The Encyclopedia of Health and Aging presents state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts on health and aging. This one-volume resource captures some of the excitement of the research in the field in terms of new findings as well as conceptual developments guiding research, practice, and policy. With more than 200 entries, it covers the biological, psychological, social, and economic aspects of health and aging and impacts within the health-care system. This Encyclopedia also focuses heavily on geriatrics with respect to geriatric syndromes and common diseases of aging. Key Features Addresses a full spectrum of topics, including acute illness, Alzheimer′s disease, bereavement, economic dependency, health-care costs, health promotion, hospice care, long-term care, medications, nursing homes, optimal aging, public policy, quality of life, spousal care-giving, widowhood, and much more Discusses landmark studies such as (Duke Longitudinal Studies, the Established Populations for the Epidemiological Study of the Elderly, Health and Retirement Study, and the National Long Term Care Survey) as well as important programs (Social Security, Meals on Wheels, and Medicaid/Medicare, etc.) Offers cross-disciplinary coverage with contributions from the fields of gerontology, epidemiology, health psychology, biology, sociology, health and medicine, and public policy Provides health and aging issues from around the world including Mexico, Canada, Latin America, Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, and New Zealand Includes a list of 45 online resources on health and aging Key Themes:   Aging and the Brain Diseases and Medical Conditions Drug Related Issues Function and Syndromes Mental Health and Psychology Nutritional Issues Physical Status Prevention and Health Behaviors Sociodemographic and Cultural Issues Studies of Aging and Systems of Care The Encyclopedia of Health and Aging is a must-have reference for any academic, as it appeals to a broad audience such as scholars within programs of gerontology and health, graduate students, members of the media, policy makers and health-care advocates, and the general reader.

Since its inception in 1987, Encyclopedia of Aging has proven to be the definitive resource for scholars and students across the burgeoning and increasingly interdisciplinary fields of gerontology and geriatrics. Like its three esteemed predecessors, the fourth edition contains concise, readable explorations of hundreds of terms, concepts, and issues related to the lives of older adults, as well as timely coverage of the many new programs and services for the elderly. Updated, under the distinguished stewardship of editor-in-chief Richard Schulz to reflect the infusion of new information across the scientific disciplines, this new edition brings readers up-to-the-moment significant advances in biology, physiology, genetics, medicine, psychology, nursing, social services, sociology, economics, technology, and political science. While retaining the format and standard of excellence that marked the first three editions, the fourth edition encompasses a wealth of new information from the social and health sciences. It contains the most current bibliography of an expanding literature, an exhaustive index, and extensive cross references. This much anticipated update of the field's most authoritative resource will take its place as an indispensable reference for specialists and non-specialists across a broad range of disciplines that now comprise the field of aging.

"The information [in this book] is amazing. I reviewed topics in which I have expertise and was very satisfied. This is an excellent addition to my library and I will refer to it often, much like a medical dictionary. Score: 90, 4 Stars.--Doody's Medical Reviews "The third edition of this encyclopedia provides 273 comprehensive, yet succinct, entries on a variety of topics related to elder care. ... In addition, many of the entries include see also references that help readers easily navigate the book. Entries are written at an undergraduate level and would be useful for practitioners, students, and caregivers...Recommended."--Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries This interdisciplinary clinical reference encompasses more than 310 current entries on a broad range of topics related to geriatrics and geriatric care across multiple health care disciplines. The third edition reflects the many advances in geriatrics that have occurred since the publication of the second edition in 2006. It contains the updated, evidence-based contributions of more than 260 nationally recognized geriatric healthcare professionals regarding elder-care concerns relating to society, community, caregiving, and the individual. Completely new entries address Geriatric Care Models (acute care for elders, Project BOOST), Geriatric Health Issues (diarrhea in adults, prolonged hospitalization, frailty, fronto-temporal dementia, re-hospitalization, acute urinary retention, personality and aging, primary palliative care), Technology and Aging (Smart home sensors, Telehealth, Surveillance technology), and more. The Encyclopedia is organized alphabetically and includes links to important Web-based resources and Apps. Clinical topics comprehensively address diagnosis, treatment, and disease management. Health care clinicians across the continuum will find this reference--the only one of its kind--to be a valuable guide to making appropriate referrals to social service providers, and social service professionals will be well informed by highly accessible descriptions of diagnoses, clinical syndromes, and care management. Key Features: Includes over 310 updated geriatric and geriatric care clinical entries across multiple healthcare disciplines Contains state-of-the-art contributions from over 260 nationally recognized geriatric healthcare experts Provides clinical content for social service professionals and social care information for clinicians Offers new information on multiple topics relating to Geriatric Care Models, Geriatric Health Concerns, and Technology and Aging References numerous Web-based resources and Apps