DCJ Program: Online Databases/Articles

Library Resources in Criminal Justice

Creating Research Accounts and Search Alerts in EBSCO and ProQuest Databases

Create an EBSCO account to "save searches" and sign up for "search alerts."
Scroll down to "Create one now."
Create a My Research account in ProQuest.
Click on the Create a My Research Account. Fill out and submit the form.

Can't find the full text of an article?

If you cannot find the full text of an article in the database you are using, it doesn't mean it isnt available at all, it just might not be in the place you are looking. You can contact us for help, or follow one of these tips to locate the resource you need:

A-to-Z eResource List
Use the A-to-Z eResource list and type the name of the journal that contains your article in the search box, to see if it is available in another database.
Interlibrary Loan/Article Request Form
If you would like to request an article from the Cannon Memorial Library print periodical collection or to see if the article is available from another library, complete and submit the Article Request form.
more...less...
If you are off campus, articles can be emailed or faxed to your business or home. Most interlibrary loans take 4 business days from the time you submit a request until you have the item in hand. If you have questions, please contact the ILL department (352) 588-8328 or (800) 359-5945.
Can't Wait for a Loan? Try Advanced Search!
If you decide you would like to search for a new article, you can use the library's Advanced Search tool to conduct a new search. Enter the keyword(s) you would like to search for, and click Search. To make sure you have access to the full text, locate the Refine This Search pane. In the Content Type area, select the Full Text checkbox. This will automatically limit your results to materials you have full access to.

Google Scholar

Online Databases and Indexes to Journals

The databases listed below provide abstracts and full text articles from peer- reviewed journals, non-peer reviewed journals, magazines and newspapers. (A peer reviewed journal consists of articles that have been reviewed by a panel of subject experts before they are approved for publication.)

To access these databases, click on the title and login with the same user name and password that you use for the my.saintleo.edu portal.

Criminal Justice Collection (Gale Database)

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.

EBSCO
"Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text" and "International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center" Databases can be found in EBSCO. After logging in to EBSCO, click on "All EBSCOhost Reference Databases," check the boxes for the databases you wish to search, click on "Continue," then enter your search terms in the search box.

Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 20,000 streaming videos appropriate for academic research. Videos can be watched in their entirety, or as individual segments, on your computer.

JSTOR
Includes a wide range of academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Information on legal, corporate, and government subjects through newspapers, journals and magazines.

ProQuest
Business and academic multi-disciplinary databases that contain full-text, scholarly and trade journals.

Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods provides valuable guidance in carrying out your research project and writing your dissertation.
Sage Research Methods is your go-to resource for learning about research methods and statistics. It has many online videos, books and articles.

Science Direct
An information source for scientific, technical, and medical research.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) This link opens in a new window
SSRN is an early stage worldwide research platform for connecting researchers, evolving ideas, and sharing research. It is a good place to see what research is in the developing stages, so you do not duplicate another's research in your dissertation.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.