LIBRARY
Public Health Subject Research Guide: Online Databases/Articles
Databases that cover PublicHealth
- Access Science This link opens in a new window
Great starting point for researching a science topic; online and fully searchable articles which are fully illustrated. - PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally.
The PubMed database contains more than 32 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC). - EBSCO PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. It also offers extensive backfile coverage—nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. PsycARTICLES is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms®. - Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new window
PsychiatryOnline includes the DSM-5, The American Journal of Psychiatry, Psychiatric Services, Psychiatric News, The Journal of Neuropsychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences, The American Journal of Psychotherapy, Focus, the Introductory Textbook of Psychiatry, Seventh Edition, and other textbooks. Here you will find a list of products, FAQs, and guides that will help you get the most out of your research. - Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Search and browse books, dictionaries, encyclopedia, video, journal articles, cases and datasets on research methods to help you learn and conduct projects. - Science Direct This link opens in a new window
An information source for scientific, technical, and medical research. Search for peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters (including open access content) - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text databases (indexes). EBSCO also contains the following subject-specific databases: ATLA, Business Source Premier, CPLI, ERIC, History Reference Center, Literature Reference Center Plus, MLA Directory of Periodicals, MLA International Bibliography, PsycArticles, and PsycINFO. Click "All EBSCOhost Reference Databases" link and checkmark databases/indexes to search more than one database at a time. - ProQuest One This link opens in a new windowAcademic multi-disciplinary databases that contain full-text, scholarly articles for research in: the arts, business, current events/news, health and medicine, history, literature and languages, science and technology, and the social sciences.
Can't find the full text of an article?
- A-to-Z E-Resource ListUse the A-to-Z Eresource list and type the name of the journal that contains your article in the search box, to see if it is available in another database.
- Print Periodical ListSearch this list to see if we have a print (hard copy) of the journal in the Cannon Memorial Library. If so, click on the Interlibrary Loan Link below to request that the article be sent to you.
- Interlibrary Loan/Article Request FormIf you would like to request an article from the Cannon Memorial Library print periodical collection or to see if the article is available from another library, complete and submit the Article Request form.
Forgot your user name or password?
Click on the link below to access the Saint Leo Portal.
Then click on "I don't know my User Name" or "I don't know my Password" and follow the directions.
- https://my.saintleo.eduSaint Leo portal
Online Databases and Indexes to Journals
The databases listed below provide abstracts and full-text articles from peer-reviewed journals, non-peer reviewed journals, magazines and newspapers. (A peer-reviewed journal consists of articles that have been reviewed by a panel of subject experts before they are approved for publication.)
To access these databases, click on the title and login with the same user name and password that you use for your Saint Leo email.
- Access ScienceGreat starting point for researching a science topic; includes 2000 biographies, 8,500 articles, 15,000 illustrations, and the latest news in science and technology.
- CQ ResearcherContains unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
- EBSCOScholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database. After logging in to EBSCO, click on "All EBSCOhost Reference Databases," select the appropriate databases below, click on "Continue," then enter your search terms in the search box.
- Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 20,000 streaming videos appropriate for academic research. Videos can be watched in their entirety, or as individual segments, on your computer.
- JSTORIncludes a wide range of academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Information on legal, corporate, and government subjects through newspapers, journals and magazines.
- ProQuestBusiness and academic multi-disciplinary databases that contain full-text, scholarly articles. An information source for scientific, technical, and medical research, as well as newspapers articles.
- Sage PremierCovers subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, medicine and more.
- Science DirectAn information source for scientific, technical, and medical research.
