LIBRARY
ENG 122: Academic Writing II [Sources of Information] - (Duncan): Searching for Articles
Search Hints for ProQuest
Search Hints for EBSCO
CQ Researcher
- CQ ResearcherFull-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.
Databases - Journals, magazine, & newspaper articles
- Gale Literature Resource CenterFind up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
- EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text databases (indexes). EBSCO also contains the following subject-specific databases: ATLA, Business Source Premier, CPLI, ERIC, History Reference Center, Literature Reference Center Plus, PsycArticles, and PsycINFO. Click "All EBSCOhost Reference Databases" link and checkmark databases/indexes to search more than one database at a time. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes a wide range of academic journals in the arts and sciences. - ProQuest One This link opens in a new windowAcademic multi-disciplinary databases that contain full-text, scholarly articles for research in: the arts, business, current events/news, health and medicine, history, literature and languages, science and technology, and the social sciences.
- Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
Covers subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, medicine and more. Full text articles are available from 1999 to the present.To limit your search to full text articles only, use the Advanced Seach option "SAGE Journals Available to Me."
Search Hints for Gale Literature Resource Center (GLC)
- Search Hints for Gale Literature Resource CenterUse this to search for the name of a work or a specific author.
Newspaper Articles
- ProQuestEnter your search terms. Under the search box, go to "Source Type" and click on Newspapers.
- EBSCO - Newspaper Source PlusLogin, then click "All EBSCOhost Reference Databases," then click on "Newspaper Source Plus."
Cant find the full text of an article?
If you cannot find the full text of an article in the database you are using, follow the steps below to locate the article:
- A-to-Z Eresource ListUse the A-to-Z Eresource list and type the name of the journal that contains your article in the search box, to see if it is available in another database.
- Print Periodical ListSearch this list to see if we have a print (hard copy) of the journal in the Cannon Memorial Library. If so, click on the Interlibrary Loan Link below to request that the article be sent to you.
- Interlibrary LoanIf you would like to request an article from the Cannon Memorial Library print periodical collection or to see if the article is available from another library, complete and submit the Article Request form.