LIBRARY
Databases and select E-reference Resources by Subject: Criminal Justice
Criminal Justice Databases
Databases
- Access Science This link opens in a new window
Great starting point for researching a science topic; online and fully searchable articles which are fully illustrated. - CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources. - EBSCO Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text™ contains more than 400,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole. - GALE Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Resources of importance to Criminal Justice, Education, and Religion majors, including the Encyclopedia Judaica, Lucent Library of Homeland Security, Lucent Terrorism Library, and the New Catholic Encyclopedia online. - EBSCO International Security and Counter Terrorism Reference Center This link opens in a new windowISCTRC combines scholarly writings with expert commentary from a variety of organizations, and timely reviews of recent developments across the international political, military, economic, social and technical spectrum.
- EBSCO PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowPsycINFO provides unmatched coverage of behavioral science and mental health fields, containing over 3.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s, with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from 1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages
- EBSCO PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowPsycARTICLES includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. It also offers extensive backfile coverage—nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. PsycARTICLES is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms®.
- Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
Covers subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, medicine and more. Full text articles are available from 1999 to the present.To limit your search to full text articles only, use the Advanced Seach option "SAGE Journals Available to Me." - Science Direct This link opens in a new window
An information source for scientific, technical, and medical research. Search for peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters (including open access content) - Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc., on a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social IssuesCovers the most critical issues facing American society today. Topic range from biotechnology to identity theft, from racial profiling to corporate governance, from school choice to food safety.
- Encyclopedia of GangsExamines gangs throughout the United States in over eighty entries covering topics such as history, the wide range of communities where gangs form, and their increasingly complex lifestyle.
- Oxford Companion to American Military HistoryWidest ranging account compiled into one volume of war, peace, & the U.S. military with over 1000 entries from brief factual pieces to extensive essays. These entries examine every major war from the Revolution to the Persian Gulf; and covers battles which helped shape American history.
- Oxford Companion to Military HistoryA complete overview of military history from classical times to the present, The Oxford Companion to Military History is a guide to how the world has been shaped by conflict. Entries on topics such as intelligence, propaganda, tactics, women in the military, and peacekeeping are included, with over 70 maps showing the course of famous battles and campaigns.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic WorldThe articles in this reference source take a broad, comparative, and multidisciplinary approach in dealing with issues that span across a multitude of countries and centuries.