Skip to Main Content
  

LIBRARY

Home Research Services About

The Research Paper: Module 1

Step 1 Directions

Choose one of the three areas of integration for your research paper and type your choice into the Dropbox.

Immediately begin to find scholarly resources to use as a reference for your research project.

Choosing a Topic

Sometimes finding a topic can be one of the hardest parts of the research process. One important tip is to choose a topic you’re interested in. You’re going to spend a lot of time researching, reading and writing, and being interested in your topic will make the process more engaging and make your final product better.

Once you have a few potential topics in mind, getting background information is key. Using an encyclopedia can be a good way to learn more about your topic.

Try searching for your topic in the Gale Virtual Reference Library

Narrowing Your Search



Databases

When scholarly sources are needed, use the library's databases to locate peer reviewed journal articles. 

*** For this paper, you will probably find PsychInfo to be the best source of journal articles.

Please note: When entering into a database from the Saint Leo Univeristy website, you must enter your SLU User Name and Password before accessing the database.

  • Access Science
    A collection of science reference materials and is a great starting point for researching a science topic; online and fully searchable articles which are fully illustrated, including 2,000 biographies, 8,500 articles, 15,000 illustrations, and the latest news in science and technology.
     
  • CQ Researcher
    In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each article provides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
     
  • Dissertations and Theses
    A database of over 2 million published Dissertations and Theses dating back to 1938.
     
  • EBSCO
    Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text databases. Contains subject-specific databases: ATLA, Business Source Premier, CPLI, ERIC, History Reference Center, Literature Reference Center Plus, PsycArticles, and PsycINFO.
     
  • Florida Electronic Library
    A collection of resources for Florida residents which includes databases, newspapers, magazines, and journals (only accessible in Florida).
     
  • JSTOR
    Includes a wide range of academic journals in the arts and sciences.
     
  • Nexis Uni
    Provides daily updated and authoritative legal, news, public records and business information; including tax and regulatory publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
     
  • Gale Literature
    Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining Gale Group's core literary databases in a single online service, the Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers. Collection includes Literature Criticism Online and Twayne's Authors.
     
  • Oxford Art Online
    The most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day.
     
  • Periodicals Archive Online (PAO): Philosophy and Religion
    Collection Access to more than 200 years of philosophical and religious scholarship.
     
  • ProQuest
    Business and academic multi-disciplinary databases that contain full-text, scholarly articles.
     
  • PsycINFO
    Citations and abstracts for psychology articles and research; the search interface is currently provided by EBSCO. It has very little full text, but is considered to be one of the most valuable research tools for psychology majors and researchers.
     
  • Sage Journals
    Covers subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, medicine and more. Full text articles are available from 1999 to the present.
     
  • ScienceDirect
    An information source for scientific, technical, and medical research.
     
  • Sports Business Research Network
    Market research and trade publications devoted to sports.
     
  • Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
    A comprehensive, professional source of proprietary analysis on industries, corporate activities, and data on stocks and funds.

Recommended Websites

Websites, arranged by subject, which are recommended by Saint Leo University faculty and librarians.