LIBRARY
PSY 161: Fundamentals of Psychology: Finding Additional Empirical Articles
************************************************
Search Hints
- Determine keywords for your topic.
- Check the thesaurus of the database to see if there is more appropriate terminology.
- Use "Advanced Search" and enter your keywords in separate boxes.
- Use "Refine Search" to narrow down your results.
- See "Subject: Major Heading" for a list of thesaurus/subject terms related to your search.
- Check the methodology of the article in the detailed record by clicking on the title.
- Use the icons to print/email/cite the article.
Cant find the full text of an article?
If you cannot find the full text of an article in the database you are using, follow the steps below to locate the article:
- A-to-Z Eresource ListUse the A-to-Z Eresource list and type the name of the journal that contains your article in the search box, to see if it is available in another database.
- Print Periodical ListSearch this list to see if we have a print (hard copy) of the journal in the Cannon Memorial Library. If so, click on the Interlibrary Loan Link below to request that the article be sent to you.
- Interlibrary LoanIf you would like to request an article from the Cannon Memorial Library print periodical collection or to see if the article is available from another library, complete and submit the Article Request form.
Primary Sources: Empirical Research Articles
Empirical research reports the results of a study that uses data derived from actual observation or experimentation. Empirical research articles are primary sources.
An empirical research article typically includes the following sections:
- Methods
- Results
- Discussion
The following methodologies are examples of empirical research and therefore, primary sources:
- Empirical study
- Quantitative study
- Qualitative study
- Clinical study
- Longitudinal study
Articles on empirical research can be accessed by completing a search in the library databases, such as PsycINFO (see below). You can locate the methodology of an article in PsycINFO by clicking on the title of the article and looking at the detailed record.
How to Use PsycINFO
PsycINFO is a psychology database available through the Saint Leo library. (Step-by-step instructions on using PsycINFO for this assignment are in the documents below.)
- PsycINFOUse the link above to access PsycINFO.
You will need to login with your user name and password.
- PsycINFO Topic GuidesUse the link above for a list of PsycINFO Topic Guides and suggested search terms in PsycINFO
How to find Empirical Articles in EBSCO/PsycINFO
IF YOU ARE FOLLOWING THE VIDEO BELOW, select PsycINFO instead of selecting all of the databases available in EBSCO.
Secondary Sources: Literature Review Articles
A literature review is an in-depth critical study of the "literature," or published material, in a narrowly defined area.
Scholars and professionals use literature reviews as useful reports that keep them up-to-date in their field. The depth and breadth of the literature review emphasizes the credibility of the writer in his or her field. Keep in mind that a literature review has a clear focus but is not its own study and does not attempt to contribute new information to the existing literature. (Source: Purchase College Learning Center)
The PsycINFO database contains Literature Review articles.
- Lithium revisitedTo view this example, login with your SLU user name and password.
Need Help?
Contact the library:
- In person
- Phone: 800-359-5945
- Email: library@saintleo.libanswers.com
- Chat (click on chat icon in lower right corner)