Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

HTY 499: History Senior Seminar: Dr. Astolfi's Suggested Topics and Sources

Senior Seminar Professors: Dr. Douglas Astolfi Fall 2014 Dr. Anthony Esposito Student LibGuide Developer: Charles Arliss Spring 2014

Dr. Douglas Astolfi

Important Course Text: U.S History Matters, A Student Guide to U.S History Online

This book by Kelly Schrum (et al) will help you guide through your online research and how to narrow down information online

History Matters

Suggested Topics and Online Sources from U.S. History Matters

Revolutionary War

72. Documents from the Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention

American Memory Project, Library of Congress

http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/collections/petitions/

These 274 sources focus on the work of the Continental Congress and the drafting and ratification of the Constitution, including manuscript annotations.  The collection includes extracts of the journals of Congress, resolutions, proclamations, committee reports, and treaties.

76. George Washington Papers, 1741- 1799

American Memory Project, Library of Congress

http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/gwhtml/

This collection is approximately 152,000 documents written by or to George Washington, it is the largest set of original Washington documents in the world.  It includes correspondence, letterbooks, diaries, journals, account books, military records, reports, and notes from 1741 through 1799.

80. Thomas Jefferson Digital Archive

University of Virginia Library

http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/jefferson/

More than 1,700 texts written by or to Thomas Jefferson are available on this website, including correspondence, books, adresses, and public papers.  While most texts are presented in transcribed, word-searchable format, eighteen appears as color images of orginal manuscripts.

Religion in the U.S

73. Early Virginia Religious Petitions

American Memory Project, Library of Congress

http:/memory.loc.gov/ammem/collections/petitions/

This website offers images of 423 petitions submitted to the Virginia legislature between 1774 and 1802 on a variety of religious topics.  The works are drawn from the Library of Virginia’s Legislative Petitions Collection and represent such topics as the debate over separation of church and state, social and religious rights of Quakers, Baptists, and other dissenters, and the sale and division of property belonging to the Anglican Church.

79. Religion and the Founding of the American Republic

Library of Congress

http://www.loc.gov/exhibits/religion/religion.html

This exhibition of 212 written documents and visual images explores the significance of religion in early American history and its relationship with the establishment of republican institutions. Materials include manuscripts, letters, books, prints, paintings, sermons, pamphlets, artifacts, and music.

96. Sunday School Books: Shaping the Values of Youth in Nineteenth-Century America

American Memory Project, Library of Congress; Michigan State University Libraries; and Central Michigan University

http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/collections/sundayschool/

These full-text transcriptions and page images of 163 “Sunday school books” address religious instruction for youth published in the United States between 1815-1865. Materials include texts used by Methodists, Baptists, Mormons, and other denominations and are searchable by subject, author, title, and keyword.  

Expanison

74. First American West: The Ohio River Valley, 1750-1820

American Memory Project, Library of Congress; University of Chicago Library; and Filson Historical Society

http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/award99/icuhtml/fawhome.html  

Significant European migration into the Ohio River Valley occurred from the mid-eighteenth century to the early nineteenth century and this website presents approximately 15,000 pages of materials related to this pattern. Resources include books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, journals, letter, legal documents, images, maps, and ledgers. 

89. Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930

Harvard University Library Open Collections Program

http://ocp.hul.harvard.edu/immagration/

This site includes selected historical materials focusing on voluntary immigration to the United States. The collection contains approximately 1,800 books, and pamphlets, 9,000 photographs, 200 maps, and 13,000 pages from manuscript and archival collections, including diaries, biographies, and other personal writings.  

89. Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930

Harvard University Library Open Collections Program

http://ocp.hul.harvard.edu/immagration/

This site includes selected historical materials focusing on voluntary immigration to the United States. The collection contains approximately 1,800 books, and pamphlets, 9,000 photographs, 200 maps, and 13,000 pages from manuscript and archival collections, including diaries, biographies, and other personal writings.  

Native Americans

114. American Indians of the Pacific Northwest

 American Memory Project, Library of Congress and University of Washington Libraries

 http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/collections/pacific/

These 2,300 photographs and 7,700 pages of text focus on the lives of American Indians in the Northwest Coast and Plateau regions of the Pacific Northwest. Materials illustrates housing, clothing, crafts, transportation, education, employment, and other aspects of everyday life among American Indians in this region. 

126. Indian People of the Northern Great Plains

Institute of Museum and Library Services

http://www.lib.montana.edu/epubs/nadb/

These 685 items represent twenty-seven current and former Native American tribes of the Northern Great Plains and cover a period from 1870 to 1954. Most of the materials are photographs with identifying text.  

130. Native American Documents Project

E. A. Schwartz, California State University at San Marcos

http://www2.csusm.edu/nadp.htm

These four collections of data and documents address federal Indian policy in the late nineteenth century. The first set includes eight annual reports of the Commissioner of Ida in Affairs from the 1870s, along with appendices and a map.

Women Suffrage 

137. Votes for Women: Selections from the National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection, 1848-1921

American Memory Project, Library of Congress

http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/naw/mawshome.html

Covering the years from 1848-1921, this websites presents materials form the suffrage movement in America, including 167 books, pamphlets, handbooks, reports, speeches, and other artifacts totaling some 10,00 pages. Formed in 1890 from two rival groups, the National American Woman Suffrage Association (NAWSA) orchestrated passage of the Nineteenth Amendment in 1920 through state campaigns. 

138. Alcohol, Temperance, and Prohibition

Brown University Library

http://dl.lib.brown.edu/temperance/

This small, but useful, website offers a wide range of primary source material for researching the history of the prohibition movement, temperance, and alcoholism. The more than 1,800 items include broadsides, sheet music, pamphlets, and government publications related to the temperance movement and prohibition. 

145. Anti-Saloon League, 1893-1933

Beth Wienhardt, Westerville, Ohio Public Library

http://www.wpl.lib.oh.us:80/AntiSaloon/

These Printed materials are representative of the public campaigns of the Anti-Saloon League from 1893 to 1933. A six-page history of the League and the temperance movement and six biographical essays of movement leaders provide context. 

 

 

 

Continental Congress

Religion in the U.S

Expansion

Native Americans

Women Suffrage