ENG 220: Tess of the D'Urbervilles: Home

Related Subjects:(2)
Hardy, Thomas, -- 1840-1928 -- Criticism and interpretation.
Self-destructive behavior in literature.

Chapter 6 Tess of the d'Urbervilles

Introduction / Albert J. Guerard -- The traditional basis of Thomas Hardy's fiction / Donald Davidson -- Hardy in defense of his art / Morton Dauwen Zabel -- Hardy's "Prédilection d'artiste" / D.H. Lawrence -- Hardy's major fiction / John Holloway -- The women of the novels / Albert J. Guerard -- Sue Bridehead / D.H. Lawrence -- On Tess of the D'Urbervilles / Dorothy Van Ghent -- The Mayor of Casterbridge as tragedy / John Paterson -- Jude the obscure / A. Alvarez -- Poetry and belief in Thomas Hardy / Delmore Schwartz -- A literary transference / W.H. Auden -- Hardy and the poetry of isolation / David Perkins -- The dynasts as an example / Samuel Hynes -- Chronology of important dates.

Genres and their ways -- Mann's Felix Krull -- Inovations in Gothic ; Charlotte Bronte -- Trollope's The Warden -- Conrad's Lord Jim -- Structure, symbols, methods -- Parts and whole in Pride and Prejudice -- Middlemarch -- D. H. Lawrence's art and doctrine -- Pairs -- Lemuel Gulliver and Tess Durbeyfield -- Hardy and Waugh -- Styles -- Silas Marner -- The mayor of Casterbridge -- Hardy perennials -- Sue Bridehead ; a brilliant portrait -- Quest and disorder ; largely American -- Hawthorne's The Birthmark -- James's Turn of the Screw -- Lowry's Under the Volcano.

Colour and movement in Hardy's Tess of the d'Urbervilles

This full-scale biography of Thomas Hardy presents not only the richest, most comprehensive account of his life available, but also the most balanced and sympathetic view of Hardy as a man and as an artist. Michael Millgate has drawn extensively on previously unknown materials, including diaries, notebooks, letters, local records, and contemporary newspapers, and on his experience as co-editor of The Collected Letters of Thomas Hardy.

80+

Quote from Summary: This book provides models for close analysis of Hardy, with particular focus on "Far from the Madding Crowd, The Mayor of Casterbridge, Tess of the d'Urbervilles," and "Jude the Obscure." Part one focuses on major themes and key passages, while part two includes background information on Hardy's life and career, a guide to leading critics, and to further reading.

LITERARY CRITICISM -- European -- English, Irish, Scottish, Welsh.

Wessex (England) -- In literature -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.

Hardy, Thomas, 1840-1928 -- Criticism and interpretation -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.

Pastoral literature, English -- History and criticism.

Hardy, Thomas, 1840-1928 -- Criticism and interpretation -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.

"Provides in-depth analysis of the literary work Tess of the d'Urbervilles, as well as its importance and critical reception. Includes a chronology of the life and works of the author."

Agent or victim : Thomas Hardy's Tess of the D'Urbervilles

Ebrary; See Chapter 3!

Thomas Hardy, Tess of the D'Urbervilles (1891)

EBSCO Ebook; Chapter 10 Confessing and Editing: The Politics of Purity in Hardy's Tess Susan David Bernstein

EBSCO Ebook; Chapter 5 : Death per force: Tess's destined end

Chapter 15: The Writing of Tess; Chapter 16: The Publication of Tess

Chapter 4 When Hope Unblooms: Chance and Moral Luck in a Laodicean, the Mayor of Casterbridge, and Tess

Fictions of feminine voice : antiphony and silence in Hardy's Tess of the d'Urbervilles

Introduces readers to a wide range of research methods for use in English Studies With a revised Introduction and with all chapters revised to bring them completely up-to date, this new edition remains the leading guide to research methods for final-year undergraduates, postgraduates taking Masters degrees and PhDs students of 19th- and 20th-century Literary Studies. Written by a range of distinguished contributors, each chapter centres on one particular method, offering both concrete practical advice on how to utilise it and exploring some of the methodological issues that are involved in the use of the particular method. The chapters cover research methods familiar to English scholars such as textual analysis, as well as those less commonly explored such as visual and quantitative methods, which also contribute significantly to research in English Studies. Other approaches discussed include auto/biographical methods, discourse analysis, interviewing, archival methods, ethnographic methods, oral history, creative writing as a research method, and research using information and communication technologies (ICTS). Key Features: Focus on reaearch methods Chapters on innovative areas such as creative writing, ICT, ethnographic methods Includes practical advice as well as methodological discussions Offers concrete examples of how methods might be used in English research  

61, 67, 244