Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Middle Grades Education Subject Research Guide: Online Reference Books

Key resources in Middle Grades Education

Searching for a Book?

Ebooks

Online Reference Books

The list below includes a sample of online reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, etc. that are searchable and readable online. To access these resources: 

  • click on this link:  eBooks and eReference Resources
  • select the appropriate resource
  • log in with the user name and password that you use for your Saint Leo email
  • search for a specific title or topic

ABC-Clio Greenwood
Collaborations for Literacy: Creating an Integrated Language Arts Program for Middle Schools
The Essential Career Guide to Becoming a Middle and High School Teacher
Media Skills for Middle Schools: Strategies for Library Media Specialists and Teachers, 2nd Ed.

Credo Reference
Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults
Gender and Education: An Encyclopedia
Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia 
The Praeger Handbook of Latino Education in the U.S. 

Ebrary/ProQuest Ebook Central
Differentiation in Practice: A Resource Guide for Differentiating Curriculum, Grades 5-9
Focus on the Wonder Years: Challenges Facing the American Middle School
Help! I'm Teaching Middle School Science
Literacy Leadership for Grades 5-12
Mathematics Education in the Middle Grades
Middle School and the Age of Adjustment
Priorities in Practice: The Essential of Social Studies in Grades K-8

Encyclopedia Britannica Online

Gale Virtual Reference Library
The Art of Creative Thinking
Building Teachers' Capacity for Success: A Collaborative Approach for Coaches and School Leaders
Encyclopedia of Education 2nd Ed
Encyclopedia of Education and Human Development
Engaging the Whole Child: Reflections on Best Practices in Learning, Teaching, and Leadership
Flexible Learning in an Information Society
How to Give Effective Feedback to Your Students
Psychology of Classroom Learning: An Encyclopedia, 2 vols
Teacher's Guide to Multisensory Learning: Improving Literacy by Engaging the Senses
Technology Supported Learning and Teaching: A Staff Perspective

EBSCO eBook Collection 
The Art of Teaching Science: Inquiry and Innovation in Middle School and High School
Art Projects by Design: A Guide for the Classroom
Doing History: Investigating With Children in Elementary and Middle Schools
Educator's Companion to Children's Literature. Vol. 2
The Essential Career Guide to Becoming a Middle and High School Teacher
Exploring Diversity: Literature Themes and Activities for Grades 4-8
Fundamental Constructs in Mathematics Education
Information Literacy and Technology Research Projects: Grades 6-9
Improving Mathematics and Science Education
Mathematics Education in the Middle Grades
More Hot Links: Linking Literature with the Middle School Curriculum
Physical Sciences: Curriculum Resources and Activities for School Librarians and Teachers
Practical Steps to the Research Process for Middle School
Providing a Foundation for Teaching Mathematics in the Middle Grades
Resources for Teaching Middle School Science
Science Through Children's Literature: An Integrated Approach
The Social Studies Curriculum: Purposes, Problems, and Possibilities
Social Studies for the Twenty-first Century: Methods and Materials for Teaching in Middle and Secondary Schools
Standards-based Mathematics Assessment in Middle School: Rethinking Classroom Practice
Teaching Health Science: Elementary and Middle School
Teaching Language Arts in Middle Schools: Connecting and Communicating
The Thoughtful Researcher: Teaching the Research Process to Middle School Students
Teaching to Diversity: Teaching and Learning in the Multi-ethnic Classroom
Telling Pieces: Art as Literacy in Middle School Classes
Transforming Middle School Science Education
Visionary Middle Schools: Signature Practices and the Power of Local Invention 

Library Contact Information

Reference Desk's picture
Reference Desk
Contact:
Reference Desk

(800)359-5945

(352)588-8477

Text: (852)678-4393

Main Library

(352)588-8476
Website

Podcasts

Google Books

Google Book Search