Middle Grades Education Subject Research Guide: Online Databases/Articles

Key resources in Middle Grades Education

Can't find the full text of an article?

If you cannot find the full text of an article in the database you are using, it doesn't mean it isnt available at all, it just might not be in the place you are looking. You can contact us for help, or follow one of these tips to locate the resource you need:

A-to-Z eResource List
Use the A-to-Z eResource list and type the name of the journal that contains your article in the search box, to see if it is available in another database.
Interlibrary Loan/Article Request Form
If you would like to request an article from the Cannon Memorial Library print periodical collection or to see if the article is available from another library, complete and submit the Article Request form.
more...less...
If you are off campus, articles can be emailed or faxed to your business or home. Most interlibrary loans take 4 business days from the time you submit a request until you have the item in hand. If you have questions, please contact the ILL department (352) 588-8328 or (800) 359-5945.
Can't Wait for a Loan? Try Advanced Search!
If you decide you would like to search for a new article, you can use the library's Advanced Search tool to conduct a new search. Enter the keyword(s) you would like to search for, and click Search. To make sure you have access to the full text, locate the Refine This Search pane. In the Content Type area, select the Full Text checkbox. This will automatically limit your results to materials you have full access to.

Google Scholar

Online Databases and Indexes to Journals

The databases listed below provide abstracts and full-text articles from peer-reviewed journals, non-peer reviewed journals, magazines and newspapers. (A peer-reviewed journal consists of articles that have been reviewed by a panel of subject experts before they are approved for publication.)

To access these databases, click on the title below and login with the same user name and password that you use for your Saint Leo email. At this point, you may search for individual titles from those suggested or search the full collection.

Access Science
Great starting point for researching a science topic; includes 2000 biographies, 8,500 articles, 15,000 illustrations, and the latest news in science and technology.

CQ Researcher
Contains unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.

EBSCO
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database. After logging in to EBSCO, click on "All EBSCOhost Reference Databases," select the appropriate databases below, click on "Continue," then enter your search terms in the search box.
Academic Search Complete
Book Index with Reviews
Education Research Complete
E-Journals
Environment Complete
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center)
GreenFILE
History Reference Center
Humanities International Complete
Literary Reference Center Plus
Newspaper Source Plus
PsycARTICLES
PsycEXTRA
PsycINFO
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Science Reference Center

Florida Electronic Library
A collection of resources for Florida residents, only accessible within the state of Florida. Includes databases, newspapers, magazines, and journals. See "Teachers' Resources."
Educator's Reference Center
ERIC
Florida Library Youth Program
Florida Memory Project Online Classroom
Junior Edition (Gale)
Junior Reference Collection
Lesson Plans for use with FEL
LitFinder (Gale)
Professional Collection (Gale)
SUNLINK
Vocation, Careers & Technical Education eCollection
What Do I Read Next?
World Almanac (OCLC)

JSTOR
Includes a wide range of academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Lexis Nexis (Academic Universe)
Information on legal, corporate, and government subjects through newspapers, journals and magazines.

Literature Resource Center
Includes the core collection for LRC, along with these added collections: Contemporary Literary Criticism Online, Poetry Criticism, and Twayne's Authors.

Oxford Art Online
The most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day.

ProQuest
Business and academic multi-disciplinary databases that contain full-text, scholarly articles, as well as newspapers articles.

Sage Premier
Covers subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, medicine and more

Westlaw
Comprehensive legal resources.

Library Contact Information

Reference Desk

Email Me

Contact:

Reference Desk

(800)359-5945

(352)588-8477

Text: (852)678-4393

Main Library

(352)588-8476

Forgot your user name or password?

Click on the link below to access the Saint Leo Portal.

Then click on "I don't know my User Name" or "I don't know my Password" and follow the directions.

https://my.saintleo.edu
Saint Leo portal