LIBRARY
ENG 320: Foundations of American Literature I: Syllabus
Syllabus
Saint Leo University
DEPARTMENT OF LANGUAGE STUDIES AND THE ARTS
Instructor: Dr. Elisabeth Aiken
Office: St. Edward Hall 235
Phone: x8281 Email: Elisabeth.aiken@saintleo.edu
Office Hours: TR 10:00-11:00; R 2:00-4:00; W 2:00-4:00
Prerequisite: ENG 122
Course description: This course is the first in a sequence of courses in American literature for the English major. We will focus on American literary history up to the modern period. Emphasis is on the relationship between literature and culture during certain historical periods. We will organize our study in the following way: the Puritan tradition, the 18th century, and early African American writing; American transcendentalism and romanticism; and realism. The course continues to emphasize different critical approaches to texts and to hone research skills learned in ENG 122 and ENG 220.
Required Texts: The Bedford Anthology of American Literature, Volume One.
The Scarlet Letter, Hawthorne
Various articles, accessed via database
Objectives: As a result of this course students will
1. Demonstrate understanding of how the literary devices and approaches studied in ENG 122 and ENG 220 apply to the literature of this course.
2. Analyze select works of major writers from the Puritan tradition through the nineteenth century.
3. Trace the evolution of literary genres and modes.
4. Relate the literary works and their authors to one another and to their common heritage.
5. Understand how literature has influenced the ideas and images people hold about class, race, and gender.
6. Apply the conventions of standard written English to clear, coherent, sufficiently developed, and stylistically sound expository prose.
7. Hone research skills necessary for literary analysis.
Assessment:
1. Four non-cumulative exams that consist of essay and short answer (40 percent)
2. Research paper with scholarly sources and annotated bibliography, approximately 10-12 pages (30 percent)
3. Presentation: With a partner, you are responsible for teaching 30 minutes of one class meeting on your chosen historical, contextual topic (see class reading schedule for dates/ topics) (10 percent)
4. Being There Journal (10 percent)
5. Active Participation (10 percent)
Attendance and Make-up Policies: Students are expected to attend class regularly and be prepared to discuss the day’s assignment. Students are allowed three excused absence without penalty; after that, expect a one-letter grade cut for each additional absence. Excessive absences will result in failure of the course. Make-up tests will only be given with verified, excused absences channeled through the appropriate Student Success Coach.
ADA Statement: Students with documented disabilities who may need academic accommodation(s) should contact the director of disability services at adaoffice@saintleo.edu.
Protection of the Academic Environment: Disruption of academic process is the act or words of a student in a classroom or teaching environment which in the reasonable estimation of a faculty member: (a) directs attention away from the academic matters at hand, such as noisy distractions, persistent, disrespectful or abusive interruptions of lecture, exam or academic discussions, or (b) presents a danger to the health, safety or well being of the faculty member or students. Education is a cooperative endeavor – one that takes place within a context of basic interpersonal respect. We must therefore make the classroom environment conducive to the purpose for which we are here. Disruption, intentional and unintentional, is an obstacle to that aim. We can all aid in creating the proper environment, in small ways (such as turning off beepers and cell phones, and neither chatting nor sleeping in class), and in more fundamental ways. So, when we speak in class, we can disagree without attacking each other verbally, we wait to be recognized before speaking, and no one speaks in a manner or of off-topic content that disrupts the class. Any violation of this policy may result in disciplinary action. Please refer to the Student Handbook for further details.
Academic Honesty Policy: As members of an academic community that places a high value on truth and the pursuit of knowledge, Saint Leo University students are expected to be honest in every phase of their academic life and to present as their own work only that which is genuinely theirs. Unless otherwise specified by the professor, students must complete homework assignments by themselves (or if on a team assignment, with only their team members). If they receive outside assistance of any kind, they are expected to cite the source and indicate the extent of the assistance. Each student has the responsibility to maintain the highest standards of academic integrity and to refrain from cheating, plagiarism or any other form of academic dishonesty.
Please see the Academic Honesty Policy in its entirety for further explanation.
Library Services: Librarians are available during reference hours to answer questions concerning research strategies, database searching, locating specific materials, and interlibrary loan (ILL).
Cannon Memorial Library—MC2128 352-588-8258 (Main #)
33701 County Road 52 352-678-4393 (Text)
Saint Leo, FL 33574-6665 352-588-8477 (Reference Desk)
352-588-8476 (Circulation)
Cannon Memorial Library
The library also provides an 800 number and an email address for general reference services: 1-800-359-5945 or library@saintleo.libanswers.com.
Reference Hours
Monday – Thursday 9am-10pm
Friday 9am-6pm
Saturday 10am-6pm
Sunday 10pm-6pm
Online Catalog, “OCLC Worldcat” (All books & media)
Click on Library Catalog (OCLC Worldcat) on the Cannon Memorial Library website (http://www.saintleo.edu/library). Simple search choices are: title, author, keyword, subject, or journal title. Use advanced searching to set limits or expand your search choices. To borrow books from Cannon Memorial and have them shipped to you, use the Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery link, complete the online request form, and submit it.
Saint Leo Library Online Resources
Saint Leo provides its own array of online databases and resources supporting online courses as well as Continuing Education classes. The following databases are available to Saint Leo students and faculty. Use the Online Library Resources link on the Library webpage and select Databases. You’ll be taken to the ID Validation screen (if you’re not already in the portal) where you enter your email address and email password to gain access. Once you’re logged in you can go back and reselect any of our databases without ever having to log in again.
CQ Researcher (In-depth topical analysis by Congressional Quarterly)
EBSCO (Comprehensive all-subject database, includes Business Source
Premier, Academic Source Premier, ERIC, ATLA)
Nexis Uni (Comprehensive all-subject resource, includes newspapers)
Literature Resource Center (Comprehensive source for literary topics, includes Twayne Authors)
ProQuest (Comprehensive all-subject database, includes ABI/Inform Global)
PsycINFO (APA abstracts and indexing for psychology subjects)
Core Values: Personal Development and Integrity
Grading Policy:
A = 95-100
B+ = 89-88
B = 87-85
B- = 84-80
C = 77-75
C- = 74-70
D+ = 69-68
D = 67-60
F = 59 and below
Excused absences
Attendance: Excusal of student absence(s) for medical, legal, family emergency, etc., reasons is based on presentation of official documentation (physician release, court papers, obituaries, etc.) only. Official documentation must be presented to the appropriate Student Success Coach for verification. Once verified, the instructor is notified and the excuse is granted—upon the instructor’s discretion. Extended student absences for any reason may additionally require official clearance to return, as determined by the offices of Student Services and Academic Affairs.