Elementary Education Subject Research Guide: Online Databases/Articles

Key resources in Elementary Education

Can't find the full text of an article?

If you cannot find the full text of an article in the database you are using, it doesn't mean it isnt available at all, it just might not be in the place you are looking. You can contact us for help, or follow one of these tips to locate the resource you need:

A-to-Z eResource List
Use the A-to-Z eResource list and type the name of the journal that contains your article in the search box, to see if it is available in another database.
Interlibrary Loan/Article Request Form
If you would like to request an article from the Cannon Memorial Library print periodical collection or to see if the article is available from another library, complete and submit the Article Request form.
more...less...
If you are off campus, articles can be emailed or faxed to your business or home. Most interlibrary loans take 4 business days from the time you submit a request until you have the item in hand. If you have questions, please contact the ILL department (352) 588-8328 or (800) 359-5945.
Can't Wait for a Loan? Try Advanced Search!
If you decide you would like to search for a new article, you can use the library's Advanced Search tool to conduct a new search. Enter the keyword(s) you would like to search for, and click Search. To make sure you have access to the full text, locate the Refine This Search pane. In the Content Type area, select the Full Text checkbox. This will automatically limit your results to materials you have full access to.

Featured Education E-Journals

Educational Researcher
SAGE Premier 2013
Coverage: (1999-01-01~present, volume:28;issue:1)
Education and the Law
Available from EBSCO's All Reference Databases Education Research Complete
Coverage: (1999-03-01~2008-12-01)

Suggested Education Databases

The databases listed below provide abstracts and full text articles from peer reviewed journals, non-peer reviewed journals, magazines and newspapers. (A peer-reviewed journal consists of articles that have been reviewed by a panel of subject experts before they are approved for publication.)

To access these databases, click on the title and login with the same user name and password that you use for your Saint Leo email.

EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text databases (indexes), EBSCO contains many subject-specific databases suitable for Elementary Education majors, such as ERIC and Education Research Complete. Some modules have stand-alone interfaces listed from the EBSCO link, while others must be check-marked from the All EBSCOhost Reference Databases link on the EBSCO landing page.
Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 20,000 streaming videos appropriate for academic research. Videos can be watched in their entirety, or as individual segments, on your computer.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes a wide range of academic journals in the arts and sciences, including educational pedagogy, theory and practice.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Information on legal, corporate, and government subjects through newspapers, journals and magazines.
ProQuest One This link opens in a new window
Academic multi-disciplinary databases that contain full-text, scholarly articles for research in: the arts, business, current events/news, health and medicine, history, literature and languages, science and technology, and the social sciences.
EBSCO PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO provides unmatched coverage of behavioral science and mental health fields, containing over 3.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s, with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from 1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
Covers subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, medicine and more. Full text articles are available from 1999 to the present.To limit your search to full text articles only, use the Advanced Seach option "SAGE Journals Available to Me."