Exceptional Student Education Subject Research Guide: Online Databases/Articles

Key resources in Exceptional Student Education

Can't find the full text of an article?

If you cannot find the full text of an article in the database you are using, it doesn't mean it isnt available at all, it just might not be in the place you are looking. You can contact us for help, or follow one of these tips to locate the resource you need:

A-to-Z eResource List
Use the A-to-Z eResource list and type the name of the journal that contains your article in the search box, to see if it is available in another database.
Interlibrary Loan/Article Request Form
If you would like to request an article from the Cannon Memorial Library print periodical collection or to see if the article is available from another library, complete and submit the Article Request form.
more...less...
If you are off campus, articles can be emailed or faxed to your business or home. Most interlibrary loans take 4 business days from the time you submit a request until you have the item in hand. If you have questions, please contact the ILL department (352) 588-8328 or (800) 359-5945.
Can't Wait for a Loan? Try Advanced Search!
If you decide you would like to search for a new article, you can use the library's Advanced Search tool to conduct a new search. Enter the keyword(s) you would like to search for, and click Search. To make sure you have access to the full text, locate the Refine This Search pane. In the Content Type area, select the Full Text checkbox. This will automatically limit your results to materials you have full access to.

Google Scholar

Multi-subject and General Education Databases & eBooks w Select eJournals

EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text databases (indexes). EBSCO also contains the following subject-specific databases: ATLA, Business Source Premier, CPLI, ERIC, History Reference Center, Literature Reference Center Plus, PsycArticles, and PsycINFO. Click "All EBSCOhost Reference Databases" link and checkmark databases/indexes to search more than one database at a time.

Databases and Select Journals

Educational Researcher

ProQuest One This link opens in a new window
Academic multi-disciplinary databases that contain full-text, scholarly articles for research in: the arts, business, current events/news, health and medicine, history, literature and languages, science and technology, and the social sciences.

PsycINFO
Citations and abstracts for psychology articles and research; the search interface is currently provided by EBSCO. It has very little full text, but is considered to be one of the most valuable research tools for psychology majors and researchers.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc., on a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Reference ebook Great Arts & Humanities reference book. Includes the complete Encyclopedia Britannica, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year.
ABC-Clio Greenwood Digital Collection & Education Library This link opens in a new window
Contains eBooks for all disciplines, with the largest set geared towards the education major. Contains academic reference works and periodicals primarily on topics such as history and social sciences.
GALE Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Resources of importance to Criminal Justice, Education, and Religion majors, including the Encyclopedia Judaica, Lucent Library of Homeland Security, Lucent Terrorism Library, and the New Catholic Encyclopedia online.
Oxford Digital Reference Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes vital reference resources for all students in many disciplines

Multi-subject and General use databases

Databases

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text databases (indexes). EBSCO also contains the following subject-specific databases: ATLA, Business Source Premier, CPLI, ERIC, History Reference Center, Literature Reference Center Plus, PsycArticles, and PsycINFO. Click "All EBSCOhost Reference Databases" link and checkmark databases/indexes to search more than one database at a time.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes a wide range of academic journals in the arts and sciences.
ProQuest One This link opens in a new window
Academic multi-disciplinary databases that contain full-text, scholarly articles for research in: the arts, business, current events/news, health and medicine, history, literature and languages, science and technology, and the social sciences.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day.
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
Covers subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, medicine and more. Full text articles are available from 1999 to the present.To limit your search to full text articles only, use the Advanced Seach option "SAGE Journals Available to Me."
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles that are of general significance to the education research community and that come from a wide range of areas of education research and related disciplines
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Reference ebook Great Arts & Humanities reference book. Includes the complete Encyclopedia Britannica, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year.
ABC-Clio Greenwood Digital Collection & Education Library This link opens in a new window
Contains eBooks for all disciplines, with the largest set geared towards the education major. Contains academic reference works and periodicals primarily on topics such as history and social sciences.
GALE Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Resources of importance to Criminal Justice, Education, and Religion majors, including the Encyclopedia Judaica, Lucent Library of Homeland Security, Lucent Terrorism Library, and the New Catholic Encyclopedia online.
Oxford Digital Reference Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes vital reference resources for all students in many disciplines