Skip to main content
Banner Image

Criminal Justice Subject Research Guide: Print Resources

Library resources in Criminal Justice

Searching for a Book?

Google Books

Google Book Search

Print Reference Books

Reference books include encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and directories. The reference books are located in the Cannon Memorial Library in the Reference Section on the main floor. Reference books do not circulate and may only be used in the library. 

The American System of Criminal Justice
REF KF9223 .C648 2004

An A to Z of DNA Science
REF QH427 .W58 2001

Career Opportunities in Law Enforcement, Security and Protective Services
REF HV8143 .E34 2000

Children and Juvenile Justice
REF KF9794 .M37 2007

Corporate Crime: A Reference Handbook
REF HV6768 .H37 2008

Criminal Justice (3 vols.)
REF KF9214.5 .C75 2006

Criminal  Justice and Criminology: Terms, Concepts, and Cases
REF HV7411 .C75 2007

The Definitive Guide to Criminal Justice and Criminology on the World Wide Web
REF KF242 .C72 D44 2009

Dictionary of Criminal Justice
REF HV 7411 .R87 2003

Dictionary of Homeland Security
REF HV6432 .O42 2006

Domestic Violence
REF HV6626.2 .M43 2008

Encyclopedia of Conspiracies and Conspiracy Theories
REF HV6275 .N49 2006

Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment
REF HV6017 .E524 2002 (4 vols.)

Encyclopedia of Criminology (3 vols.)
REF HV6017 .E5295 2005

Encyclopedia of Forensic Science
REF HV8073 .B425 2004

Encyclopedia of High-Tech Crime and Crime-Fighting
REF HV6773 .N48 2004

The Encyclopedia of International Organized Crime
REF HV6441 .D48 2005

Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement (3 vols.)
REF HV7921 .E53 2005

Encyclopedia of Police Science
REF HV7901 .E53 2007 (2 vols.)

Encyclopedia of Prisons and Correctional Facilities (2 vols.)
REF HV9471 .E693 2005

Encyclopedia of Terrorism
REF HV6431 .K883 2003

Encyclopedia of Unsolved Crimes
REF HV 6251 N48 2004

Encyclopedia of White Collar and Corporate Crime (2 vols.)
REF HV6768 .E63 2005

Encyclopedia of Women and Crime
REF HV6046 .E56 2003

Extremist Groups: Information for Students (2 vols.)
REF HN90 .R3 E975 2006

Forensic Science
REF HV8073 .F5837 2009

Forensic Science: An Encyclopedia of History Methods, & Techniques
REF HV8073 .T55 2006

Forensic Science: An Illustrated Dictionary
REF HV8073 .B677 2004

Gangs (2nd ed.)
REF HV6439 .U7 K55 2009

Great Pictorial History of World Crime (2 vols)
REF HV6017 .G78 2004

Guide to Information Sources in the Forensic Sciences
REF HV8073 .H65 2006

Gun Control in the United States
REF HV7436 .C36 2006

Hate Crimes
REF HV6773.52 .A47 2005

The Historical Atlas of American Crime
REF HV6779 .R67 2005

Homeland Security Law Handbook
REF KF9430 .H66 2003

Juvenile Justice Sourcebook: Past, Present, and Future
REF HV9104 .J868 2004

The 9/11 Encyclopedia (2 vols.)
REF HV6432.7 .A85 2008

Political Violence and Terrorism in Modern America
REF HN90 .V5 H49 2005

Prisons and Prison Systems: A Global Encyclopedia
REF HV8665 .R67 2006 

Terrorism: Essential Primary Sources
REF HV6431 .T485 2006

U.S. Homeland Security
REF HV6432.4 .B35 2005

Library Contact Information

Reference Desk's picture
Reference Desk
Contact:
Reference Desk

(800)359-5945

(352)588-8477

Text: (852)678-4393

Main Library

(352)588-8476
Website

How do I find a book on the shelf?

The Cannon Memorial Library uses the Library of Congress classification system to organize the books on the shelves.  This system uses a combination of letters and numbers referred to as LC Call Numbers. Books related to Criminal Justice may be found under the following LC Call Numbers:

BF   Psychology

HN   Social history and conditions. Social problems. Social reform.

HV  Social Pathology, Social & Public Welfare, Criminology

K     Law (General)

KF   Law of United States

QH   Biology

For more information on how to read the LC call numbers and locate a book on the shelf, click here: LC Call Numbers