Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Business Subject Research Guide

Key resources in Business

Searching for a Book?

Selected Reference Books

Print Reference Books

Reference books include encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and directories.  The reference books are located in the Cannon Memorial Library in the Reference Section on the main floor.  Reference books do not circulate and may only be used in the library. 

Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources
REF
HF5353.E52 2006

Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
REF HD2324 .E528 2007

Encyclopedia of Leadership (4 vols.)
REF HD57.7 .E53 2004

Encyclopedia of Management (6th ed. 2009 available as e-book Gale Virtual Reference Library)
REF HD30.15 .E49 2006

Florida Statistical Abstract
REF HA311 .F55 

Hoover’s Handbook of American Business
REF HF3010.H6 2010

Hoover’s Handbook of Private Companies
REF HF3010 .H66

Hoover’s Handbook of World Business
REF HF3010.H65 

Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios
REF HD2721.I63

International Directory of Company Histories (71 vols.)
REF HD2721.I63

Law for Business
REF KF889 .B28 2009

Market Share Reporter  (2 vols.)
REF HF5410.M35 

Salary Facts Handbook
REF HD4975 .S253 2008

Standard & Poor’s: The Outlook
REF HG4501.S76634

Standard & Poor’s Register (2 vols.)
REF HG4501 .S67664 

Standard & Poor’s Security Owner’s Stock Guide/Bond Guide
REF HG4921 .S618

Statesman’s Yearbook
REF JA51.S7 

Statistical Abstract of the United States
REF HA202.U3  

How do I find a book on the shelf?

The Cannon Memorial Library uses the Library of Congress classification system to organize the books on the shelves.  This system uses a combination of letters and numbers referred to as LC Call Numbers. Books related to Business may be found under the following LC Call Numbers:

HA   Statistics

HB   Economic theory. Demography

HC   Economic history and conditions

HD   Industries. Land use. Labor

HE   Transporation and communications

HF   Commerce

HG   Finance

HJ   Public finance

For more information on how to read the LC call numbers and locate a book on the shelf, click here: LC Call Numbers

Google Books

Google Book Search

Can't find the perfect book within these resources? Try Google Books! Google Books allows you to search for books on your topic available across the Internet. Use this Search box to get started. Note that clicking the "Search" button may load your search results in a new tab or window depending on your browser configuration settings.