Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Biology Subject Research Guide

Key Resources in Biology

Searching for a Book?

Selected Reference Books

Print Books -- Circulating Collection 2nd Floor

Print Reference Books

Reference books include encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and directories.  The reference books are located in the Cannon Memorial Library in the Reference Section on the main floor.  Reference books do not circulate and may only be used in the library. 

A to Z of DNA Science
REF
QH427 .W58 2001

American Insects
REF
QL474 .A76 2000

Cambridge Illustrated Glossary of Botanical Terms
REF QK10 .H53 2000

Complete Encyclopedia of Trees and Shrubs
REF
QK474.87 .C66 2003

Desk Encyclopedia of Microbiology
REF
QR9 .D47 2004

Dictionary of Biological Psychology
REF
QP360 .D52 2001

Dictionary of Biology (Oxford)
REF
QH302.5 .D54 2008

Dictionary of Birds of the United States
REF
QL682 .H65 2003

Dictionary of Ecology and Environment, 4th Edition
REF
QH540.4 .C65 2001

Dictionary of Genetics, 7th Edition
REF
QH427 .K55 2006

Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology 2001
REF QR9 .S56 2001 [2006 ed. available online at https://saintleo.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://www.credoreference.com/]

Ecology Basics (2 vols.)
REF
QH540.4 .E39 2004 [Also available as EBSCO e-book]

Encyclopedia of Bioethics, 3rd Edition (5 vols.)
REF
QH332 .E52 2004

Encyclopedia of Endangered Species (2 vols.)
REF
QH75 .A1 E53 1994, 1999

Encyclopedia of Genetics (2 vols.)
REF
QH427 .E53 2004

Facts on File Dictionary of Biology 4th Edition
REF
QH302.5 .F38 2005

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia (17 vols.)
REF QL7 .G7813 2004

Illustrated Dictionary of Immunology
REF
QR180.4 .C78 2003

Introduced Mammals of the World: Their History, Distribution, and Influence
REF
QL703 .L66 2004

Microterrors: The Complete Guide to Bacterial, Viral and Fungal Infections That Threaten Our Health
REF
QR56 .H37 2004

More than Darwin: An Encyclopedia of the People and Places of the Evolution-Creationism Controversy
REF QH360.2 .M66 2008

The Tree of Life: A Phylogenetic Classification
REF QH83 .L42513 2006 

U-X-L Encyclopedia of Biomes (3 vols.)
REF QH541.14 .U18 2000

World of Microbiology and Immunology (2 vols.)
REF
QR9 .W675 2003 [also available online at Gale Virtual Reference]

How do I find a book on the shelf?

The Cannon Memorial Library uses the Library of Congress classification system to organize the books on the shelves.  This system uses a combination of letters and numbers referred to as LC Call Numbers. Books related to Biology may be found under the following LC Call Numbers:

Q      General Science

QH    Natural History,        Biology

QK    Botany

QL    Zoology

QM    Human Anatomy

QP    Physiology

QR    Microbiology

R      General Medicine

 

For more information on how to read the LC call numbers and locate a book on the shelf, click here: LC Call Numbers

Google Books

Google Book Search

Can't find the perfect book within these resources? Try Google Books! Google Books allows you to search for books on your topic available across the Internet. Use this Search box to get started. Note that clicking the "Search" button may load your search results in a new tab or window depending on your browser configuration settings.