LIBRARY
Zines
What are zines?
A zine, short for fanzine or magazine, is a DIY subculture self-publication, usually made on paper and reproduced with a photocopier or printer
DIY means Do-It-Yourself, so start making zines! Look for inspiration!
The library will be hosting zine workshops throughout the year. Make your own and trade with friends, or add them to the collection! Get involved in the Tampa Zine Fest!
Zine Collection
Our Zine Collection has a wide range of topics, from ecology to religion to computer science. Find inspiration and make your own!
The collection is located on the first floor to the left of the study rooms.
You can find other zines in online collections, but the heart of zines is in community. Go to art fairs and find someone selling zines. Make your own and trade with other zinesters.
Online zine collections
-
Anvil LibraryA huge collection of digitized zines on religion and faith.
-
POC Zine ProjectPOC Zine Project's mission is to makes zines by POC (People of Color) easy to find, distribute and share. We are an experiment in activism and community through materiality.
How to make zines
All you need is pen, paper, and a scanner to get started. But there are other tools out there that can help!
How to make and fold a mini zine
Here's a video on the way to fold a single page of paper into an 8 page zine
Links to tools
-
Zine ArrangerVery useful tool. Take a multi page PDF and have it arranged into a single page mini zine. Or into a half sized zine. Find the size that works best for you!
-
CanvaAn intuitive digital art program. Make designs in 8.5in by 11in and then export to PDF to put in Zine Arranger.
-
Electric Zine MakerA fun and unique tool for making zines online.
Distributing zines
There are lots of ways to distribute zines. Obviously, person to person is the traditional way. There are also people who post their zines on itch.io and Etsy, as well as promoting them on social media. The Internet Archive is one place with zine collections that you can upload to for free.
Copyright
Consider what kind of copy permissions you might want to use. Do you want people to be able to make copies? How about to modify and build on what you've made? You can note in the zine that you're licensing it under a Creative Commons license that will allow people certain rights without having to ask you individually. Learn more about Creative Commons.
Links on resources to distribute your zine online
-
itch.ioitch.io is a simple way to find and share indie games and publications online for free.
-
Internet ArchiveThe Internet Archive is an American non-profit organization founded in 1996 that runs a digital library website, archive.org
-
IssuuIssuu turns PDFs and other file types into digital Flipbooks and shareable content types
-
EtsyEtsy is a global online marketplace, where people come together to make, sell, buy, and collect unique items.
-
Creative CommonsCreative Commons is an organization devoted to educational access and expanding the range of creative works available for others to build upon legally and to share.