LIBRARY
HCA 430: Home
Searching for articles
Challenges Facing Healthcare
- Mental health crisis
- Opioid crisis continues to spread
- Electronic records security
- Financial pressure
- "In 2023, health systems will likely continue to face financial difficulties due to ongoing staffing problems, reduced patient volumes, and rising inflation".(AdvisoryBoard.com)
- Staffing
- A survey of 18,000 nurses indicated that 30% of survey participants are thinking about a career change, up 7 percentage points over 2021 (Reuters.com)
https://www.reuters.com/world/us/one-third-us-nurses-plan-quit-profession-report-2023-05-01
- A survey of 18,000 nurses indicated that 30% of survey participants are thinking about a career change, up 7 percentage points over 2021 (Reuters.com)
- Legislation such as the "No Surprise Act"
- "Federal litigation concerning the No Surprises Act (NSA) is increasing uncertainty for payers and health care providers" AFSlaw.com).
- Drug pricing reform
- "The Inflation Reduction Act (IRA) was passed into law on August 16, 2022 with wide bi-partisan support. The drug pricing reform section of the IRA represents a sweeping change with respect to how the Medicare program will pay for prescription drugs in the future" (AFSlaw.com, 2023).
- https://www.afslaw.com/perspectives/health-care-counsel-blog/10-legal-challenges-the-health-care-industry-2023
Some Key Terms:
- Health reporting systems
- No Surprise Act
- Opioid crisis AND __________
- Electronic records AND security OR hack*
- Legislation AND public health
Smart Search Strategies
- What do you want to know?
- Why is it important?
- Think about what you "key words" might be to locate that information
- Think about the time frame you want to limit your search to
- Reach out for help - we are here for you
See below for sample articles:
- No Surprises Act: where things stand after 16 months.WILENSKY, G. R. (2023). No Surprises Act: where things stand after 16 months. Hfm (Healthcare Financial Management), 77(4), 40–41
- Public health surveillance: electronic reporting as a point of reference.Black, J., Hulkower, R., Suarez, W., Patel, S., & Elliott, B. (2019). Public health surveillance: electronic reporting as a point of reference. The Journal of Law, Medicine & Ethics : A Journal of the American Society of Law, Medicine & Ethics, 47(2_suppl), 19–22.
- Digital health dashboards for decision-making to enable rapid responses during public health crises: replicable and scalable methodology.Mavragani, A., Pesälä, S., Wei, S., Katapally, T. R., & Ibrahim, S. T. (2023). Digital health dashboards for decision-making to enable rapid responses during public health crises: replicable and scalable methodology. Jmir Research
- Laws about transparent school vaccination reporting: public health context and ethicsCardenas-Comfort, C., & Majumder, M. (2019). Laws about transparent school vaccination reporting: public health context and ethics. American Journal of Public Health, 109(12), 1687–1690.
Recommended resources to search:
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowCINAHL indexes the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association.
- EBSCO This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text databases (indexes). EBSCO also contains the following subject-specific databases: ATLA, Business Source Premier, CPLI, ERIC, History Reference Center, Literature Reference Center Plus, PsycArticles, and PsycINFO. Click "All EBSCOhost Reference Databases" link and checkmark databases/indexes to search more than one database at a time. - ProQuest One This link opens in a new windowAcademic multi-disciplinary databases that contain full-text, scholarly articles for research in: the arts, business, current events/news, health and medicine, history, literature and languages, science and technology, and the social sciences.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally.
The PubMed database contains more than 32 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).
APA 7th Edition The Basics Tutorial Video
APA Sample Paper
|
Sample APA Paper 7th Edition (Current Edition)
Click here to view a sample student paper produced by the APA. This sample paper includes annotations clarifying APA concepts (including some changes in the 7th edition) while also identifying their section location in the APA Publication Manual.
Updated |
