LIBRARY
Information Literacy Classes
Databases
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources. - Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc., on a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law. - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text databases (indexes). EBSCO also contains the following subject-specific databases: ATLA, Business Source Premier, CPLI, ERIC, History Reference Center, Literature Reference Center Plus, PsycArticles, and PsycINFO. Click "All EBSCOhost Reference Databases" link and checkmark databases/indexes to search more than one database at a time. - Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 20,000 streaming videos appropriate for academic research. Videos can be watched in their entirety, or as individual segments, on your computer. - GALE Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
This premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources with extensive coverage in key subject areas, such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes a wide range of academic journals in the arts and sciences. - Oxford Digital Reference Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes vital reference resources for all students in many disciplines - ProQuest One This link opens in a new windowAcademic multi-disciplinary databases that contain full-text, scholarly articles for research in: the arts, business, current events/news, health and medicine, history, literature and languages, science and technology, and the social sciences.
- Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
Covers subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, medicine and more. Full text articles are available from 1999 to the present.To limit your search to full text articles only, use the Advanced Seach option "SAGE Journals Available to Me."
- EBSCO Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new windowA definitive literary database covering all genres and time periods. It includes thousands of full-text poems, short stories, synopses, critical essays, literary journals, reference books and author biographies, plus lesson plans and literary study guides. It provides a complete foundation of literary reference works.
- GALE Literary Index This link opens in a new windowSearch this digital master index to find coverage of authors and works in products published by Gale.
- EBSCO Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Database focusing on industries and company data, including SWOT analysis, industry profiles, and news.
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive, professional source of proprietary analysis on industries, corporate activities, and data on stocks and funds. For non-business students, the service includes a Financial Education section with tools for understanding personal finance.
- GALE Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new windowFind information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.
- ProQuest ABI/Inform Complete This link opens in a new windowABI/Inform complete offers business and financial information for researchers at all levels. Users can find out about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics and competitive landscape.
- EBSCO Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCriminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text™ contains more than 400,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.
- GALE Criminal Justice This link opens in a new windowGale OneFile: Criminal Justice informs the research process for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism; training for paralegal service; preparing for a career in homeland security; delving into forensic science; investigating crime scenes; developing policy; going to court; writing sociological reports; and much more.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Information on legal, corporate, and government subjects through newspapers, journals and magazines. - EBSCO International Security and Counter Terrorism Reference Center This link opens in a new windowISCTRC combines scholarly writings with expert commentary from a variety of organizations, and timely reviews of recent developments across the international political, military, economic, social and technical spectrum.
- CQ Researcher: EducationEach weekly report covers the given topic in a non-sensationalized manner, and many reports feature a pro/con debate, highlighting both sides of the argument.
- Credo Reference: EducationCredo Reference Subject Collections enable libraries to build deep, specific ebook collections that are carefully designed to offer comprehensive coverage of a subject at the undergraduate level. The Education Collection curates 75 compelling reference sources and multimedia that cover all key areas of the field, including Special Education, Teaching Methods, Distance Learning, Learning Acquisition, Literacy, and more. Each title has been sourced from top publishers on the subject, including Sage, INTELECOM, Greenwood, and Praeger creating an ideal learning experience for students and faculty. Combining authoritative content with innovative, customizable technology that links users of reference through to all their library resources, the collection is available for perpetual purchase or subscription, stand-alone or alongside a subscription to Credo General Reference.
- Education Research CompleteEducation Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowCINAHL indexes the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association.
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts for psychology articles and research; the search interface is currently provided by EBSCO. It has very little full text, but is considered to be one of the most valuable research tools for psychology majors and researchers.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new window
An information source for scientific, technical, and medical research. Search for peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters (including open access content)
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new windowATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index® (ATLA CPLI®) provides indexing of periodicals, essay collections, church documents, papal documents and electronic resources expressly addressing the practice and intellectual tradition of Roman Catholicism.
- Credo Reference: Religion & TheologyCredo's Religion Collection organizes 93 exceptional reference works from top academic publishers such as Princeton University Press, Brill, Routledge and Wiley. Providing insight into a breadth of topic areas, such as Christianity, Islam, Judaism, World Religions, and Theology, the Religion Collection offers a comprehensive learning tool for undergraduate study or a researcher expanding their knowledge of the field. Combining authoritative content with innovative, customizable technology that links users of reference through to all their library resources, the collection is available for perpetual purchase or subscription, stand-alone or alongside a subscription to Credo General Reference.
- Oxford Bible Commentary This link opens in a new windowComprehensive resource for the study of biblical text line by line from all books that appear in the NRSV.
- EBSCO Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowA leading full-text database for environmental studies. It provides hundreds of top environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. It also includes millions of records and an environmental thesaurus.
- EBSCO Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new windowA full-text database covering computing, technology and engineering disciplines. It is especially useful to researchers studying the business and social implications of new technology.
- GALE Computer Science This link opens in a new windowGale OneFile: Computer Science provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database provides information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas like hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new windowAn information source for scientific, technical, and medical research. Search for peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters (including open access content)