LIBRARY
BIO 333: Literature Review Research Guide [Dr. Berry]: Gathering: Finding Places to Search
Important Databases for this Project
- EBSCO This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text databases (indexes). EBSCO also contains the following subject-specific databases: ATLA, Business Source Premier, CPLI, ERIC, History Reference Center, Literature Reference Center Plus, PsycArticles, and PsycINFO. Click "All EBSCOhost Reference Databases" link and checkmark databases/indexes to search more than one database at a time. - ProQuest One This link opens in a new windowAcademic multi-disciplinary databases that contain full-text, scholarly articles for research in: the arts, business, current events/news, health and medicine, history, literature and languages, science and technology, and the social sciences.
- PubMed
Free database for medical/scientific research. Part of the National Library of Medicine.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new window
An information source for scientific, technical, and medical research. Search for peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters (including open access content)
- A to Z List of Electronic JournalsYou can check our e-journal listing to see if an article appears full-text anywhere in our collection. Search for the name of the journal...once in that journal, if it appears, search for the title of the article.
- Interlibrary LoansYou may request research articles through our Interlibrary loan (ILL) service. This system looks for the article(s) throughout the United States to find availability. Usually, the article is sent within a matter of days.
Keyword Strategies/Boolean Searching
- Boolean SearchingUsing effective boolean searching will help narrow into the topic(s).
Aside from using AND, OR and/or NOT as Boolean Operators, here are some other tips:
PHRASES: Place phrases in quotes....example: Instead of Acute AND Chest AND Syndrome try "Acute Chest Syndrome"
MORE ADVANCED: You can try Truncation and Wildcard Searching:
Wildcard & Truncation Searching 
Also, look at the ENTIRE PAGE of your search. Are there more limiters on the sides that will help direct your searches? Full-Text...Peer-Reviewed....type of study....etc.
Examine what other terms appear and create new search terms.
Databases are precise--So try not to search like you are looking up something casual i.e., don't put in an entire sentence like:
What are the most destructive invasive plants in the United States?
Instead start off with something like: Plants AND invasive AND "United States"
- Look for clues in the literature...what words are the articles providing you with?
- Make note of where you searched and what words you used.
- Jot down new ideas for the next search time period.
- Selecting Key Terms