LIBRARY
BIO 498: Research Project Library Guide [Dr. Sheridan]: Gathering: Finding Places to Search
biology
Important Databases for this Project
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowCINAHL indexes the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association.
- EBSCO This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text databases (indexes). EBSCO also contains the following subject-specific databases: ATLA, Business Source Premier, CPLI, ERIC, History Reference Center, Literature Reference Center Plus, PsycArticles, and PsycINFO. Click "All EBSCOhost Reference Databases" link and checkmark databases/indexes to search more than one database at a time. - ProQuest One This link opens in a new windowAcademic multi-disciplinary databases that contain full-text, scholarly articles for research in: the arts, business, current events/news, health and medicine, history, literature and languages, science and technology, and the social sciences.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally.
The PubMed database contains more than 32 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC). - Science Direct This link opens in a new window
An information source for scientific, technical, and medical research. Search for peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters (including open access content)
- A to Z List of Electronic JournalsYou can check our e-journal listing to see if an article appears full-text anywhere in our collection. Search for the name of the journal...once in that journal, if it appears, search for the title of the article.
- Interlibrary LoansYou may request research articles through our Interlibrary loan (ILL) service. This system looks for the article(s) throughout the United States to find availability. Usually, the article is sent within a matter of days.
Keyword Strategies/Boolean Searching
- Boolean SearchingUsing effective boolean searching will help narrow into the topic(s).
Other methods of Searching
Aside from using AND, OR and/or NOT as Boolean Operators, here are some other tips:
PHRASES: Place phrases in quotes....example: Instead of Acute AND Chest AND Syndrome try "Acute Chest Syndrome"
MORE ADVANCED: You can try Truncation and Wildcard Searching:
Wildcard & Truncation Searching
Also, look at the ENTIRE PAGE of your search. Are there more limiters on the sides that will help direct your searches? Full-Text...Peer-Reviewed....type of study....etc.
Examine what other terms appear and create new search terms.