Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Module 1 Management
21st Century Skills for Non-Profit Managers by
Publication Date: 2017-10-26
Over the last 30 years nonprofit organizations have grown massively in capacity, scope, and authority across the world. With growing demand for services, there are numerous opportunities for nonprofits to respond innovatively and sustainably. Any experienced nonprofit manager knows the role is sometimes frustrating but always exhilarating, working with people and empowering them. Severe funding cuts make this more testing, but new prospects are appearing. If you are new to management or the sector, you need a book describing good practice to inform and guide you. Managing a small nonprofit, requires you to multitask, manage your time and prioritize tasks, while taking on extra responsibilities, you need new skills such as fundraising, all covered in this book. This book covers essential aspects (staffing, communications, charity governance, donations, corporate social responsibility, crowdfunding). With useful case studies, resources and links, it avoids jargon and intellectualizing. Topics include effective business planning, empowering staff and clients, writing successful fundraising applications and preparing government tenders for the U.S. and UK.
Achieving Success in Nonprofit Organizations by
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
This book is an essential tool to help you grow with your nonprofit organization. Whether you are an executive director, manager, board member, pastor, or key volunteer, the details here will help you achieve so much more. The four overarching areas of what the authors term a virtuous cycle in nonprofit organization success living the mission, making good decisions, getting things done, developing your team emerged from literature searches, focus groups, and surveys to discover objectively what critical skills and knowledge are most useful to leaders of nonprofit organizations. Inside, experts contribute individual chapters in each of these four areas. This book can be used as a reference for specific skills and knowledge in any of these areas. It can also be used as a text since it covers 16 specific chapters within the four major sections and each chapter has a major case study, assessment questions, and summaries of key concepts."
Creating and Managing a Non-Profit Organization (with Accompanying CD-ROM) by
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
This book provides a guide with information on creating and managing a non-profit organization. The book details the 10 basic steps to form a nonprofit which include identifying your directors and incorporators; naming your organization and developing the mission of the organization; developing your Articles of Incorporation and bylaws; incorporating with the state or territory; preparing and submitting your federal application and state application (if applicable) for tax exemption; developing the organization's strategic plan; developing the organization's budget; developing the human resource and financial infrastructure for the organization; planning mission based projects; and securing funding.
Effective Non-Profit Management by
Publication Date: 2017-09-25
In an environment of increased interdependency and collaborations among non-profits, for-profits, and governmental organizations, researchers and practitioners have begun to identify the need for a distinctive set of values, skills, and competencies for effective non-profit management. Underlining the relationship between these two sectors, Effective Non-Profit Management: Context, Concepts, and Competencies clarifies the emerging links between the public and non-profit sectors at the local, national, and global levels.
Non-profit Management: A Social Justice Approach by
Publication Date: 2016-07-01
Nonprofit organizations are increasingly concerned with the need to demonstrate how social justice principles impact every aspect of their work. This is the only textbook to explicitly integrate social justice principles into the management of a nonprofit organization. It provides students with the knowledge and skills required to integrate a social justice value system into their work as effective nonprofit leaders. Using practical tips and illustrative case examples, the text explains the structure and processes of nonprofit organizations with a particular emphasis on social justice themes. Nonprofit Management: A Social Justice Approach is edited by an interdisciplinary team of prominent leaders in business, management, and social service, who together run the Fordham Center for Nonprofit Leaders. They have assembled a group of expert authors who provide extensive coverage of the nonprofit leadership field. The book discusses the history of the development of nonprofit management up to the present day. It addresses legal and ethical considerations, organizational planning and staff management, finance, public relations, fundraising, public advocacy and volunteerism, program design and grant development, governance and board development, developing an international nonprofit, information technology, career development, and creating a nonprofit/social entrepreneurship organization. Additional chapters address quality improvement, mentoring, and proposal writing. The text is ideal for students and faculty in social service administration, human service leadership, social work management, public and community health, public administration, and health care administration and management. KEY FEATURES: Comprises the only nonprofit management text to integrate social justice themes Edited by an interdisciplinary group of authors representing the social service, social work, management, and nonprofit fields Includes illustrative case studies and review questions Includes cutting-edge content on social innovation and entrepreneurship Supplemental PowerPoint presentations are available for instructors
Module 2 Finance
Financial Sustainability for Nonprofit Organizations by
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Nonprofit organizations face fierce competition for funding, especially during times of financial crisis. In order to effectively further their goals and make a long-term impact in the communities they serve, these organizations must remain financially viable and sustainable. This book equips students training to become better nonprofit leaders with the information and conceptual frameworks needed to ensure their organizations are financially sustainable. Using practical tips and illustrative case examples, it guides the reader to an understanding of the structures and processes of nonprofit organizations, and includes detailed coverage of financial analysis, budget management, cash flow, financial accountability and reporting, investing, fundraising, and organizational growth. This book is ideal for students, faculty, and practitioners in social service administration, human service leadership, public and community health, public administration, organization management, and health care administration and management.
Not-For-Profit Budgeting and Financial Management by
Publication Date: 2010-06-03
Take control of your organization's short- and long-term financial plan Now fully revised, Not-for-Profit Budgeting and Financial Management, Second Edition, offers a financial planning system that is not only easy to use and monitor, but also ensures true fiscal accountability in the complex not-for-profit arena. Adds three entirely new chapters on Footnoting the Statement of Activity, Presenting Cash Prepared and Accrual Statements on the same page, and The Importance of the Executive Summary Fully updated with the latest financial advice to benefit your nonprofit Explains how to separate controllable, semi-controllable, and fixed expenses Reveals how you can prepare and present such top-notch budget documents that budgets will be approved the first time Written in a nontechnical, understandable format, incorporating dozens of relevant forms and documents, this completely revised and expanded edition will enable your nonprofit organization to create and manage reasonable financial plans that fit their organization's needs.
Nonprofit Fundraising Strategy by
Publication Date: 2013-03-06
Practical tools and techniques to incorporate ethical standards and practices in nonprofit fundraising Nonprofit Fundraising Strategy is a helpful and inspiring resource for nonprofits large and small, young and mature, local and international. The insightful guidance and case studies found within these pages will help you understand how to address specific ethical issues within your nonprofit and leave plenty of food for thought and discussion. Adds new materials on new business practice codes, the Ethics Assessment Inventory, coverage of new ethics standards Now includes an ethics assessment tool on the Ethical Fundraising, Second Edition companion website Considers essential topics including: appearance of impropriety, rights of donors, tainted money, using donations as intended, choosing a leadership role, ethical decision-making, restoring public confidence in the nonprofit sector, and the ethics of grant making and grant seeking Written by luminaries in the field of ethics in fundraising Explores a topic that all professional fundraisers must engage with in order to build the trust and confidence of the giving public Offers an invaluable collection of essays based on the rich experience of philanthropic leaders Presents wise reflections on the central role of ethics in fundraising Featuring contributions from a host of well-known and respected senior-level fundraising professionals, several of whom are members of the AFP Ethics Committee, Nonprofit Fundraising Strategy features a wealth of practical tools to help fundraising practitioners, board members, and governing boards implement these essential concepts into their own organizations.
The Nonprofit Fundraising Solution by
Publication Date: 2013-10-15
Between government cutbacks, shrinking endowments, and business belt-tightening, the nonprofit sector may end up being the biggest victim of today's topsy-turvy market that few even hear about. But this does not mean that nonprofits aren't just as vital as before--if not more so--or that yours cannot receive the regular funding it needs to fulfill the mission you heroically set out to do. But it's going to take the same type of advanced organizational and competitive strategies that the most successful for-profit businesses have utilized in order to remain atop the leader board.Bridging the gap between theory and practical methods, The Nonprofit Fundraising Solution shows readers how to: * Ensure that executive leadership and board dynamics fully support fundraising initiatives * Build a broad constituency of donors aligned to the mission * Determine the right level of funding diversification * Use tactics such as challenge drives, stretch gifts, and corporate matching; parlor gatherings; leadership councils; year-end drives; corporate partnerships; and major campaigns to power revenue, increase access to wealthy donors, and raise their community profile * Proactively encourage planned giving * Avoid revenue plateausTo survive and ultimately thrive, a nonprofit needs forceful revenue strategies and an organizational culture that champions them. Complete with stories of those who have done this exceptionally well, as well as "casebooks" of the strategies-in-action, this invaluable resource for philanthropists of all kinds reveals how any nonprofit can implement advanced fundraising methods and secure the funds they need to excel.
Module 3 Culture and Climate
The Oxford Handbook of Organizational Climate and Culture by
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
The Oxford Handbook of Organizational Climate and Culture presents the breadth of topics from Industrial and Organizational Psychology and Organizational Behavior through the lenses of organizational climate and culture. The Handbook reveals in great detail how in both research and practice climate and culture reciprocally influence each other. The details reveal the many practices that organizations use to acquire, develop, manage, motivate, lead, and treat employees both at home and in the multinational settings that characterize contemporary organizations.
Organizational Culture and Leadership by
Publication Date: 2016-12-05
The book that defined the field, updated and expanded for today's organizations Organizational Culture and Leadership is the classic reference for managers and students seeking a deeper understanding of the inter-relationship of organizational culture dynamics and leadership.
Module 4 Information Technology
Journal of Technology in Human Services
The Journal of Technology in Human Services explores the potential of information and communication technologies (ICT) across the social, development and human services sectors.
See Module 1 Management and Module 2 Finance
Module 6 Managing a Diverse Workforce
Films Media Group. (2020). Disability without borders. Films On Demand.
We will learn how people with disabilities inspired innovations. We will learn why people with disabilities are great employees. We will learn how to make accommodations for people with disabilities. The government wants more people with disabilities to be gainfully employed; but many employers are scared of the unknown. Alright, let's learn together. People with disabilities represent an untapped labor force of talented, dedicated people - and an exceptional workplace is comprised of people of all disabilities. Keep in mind that people with disabilities have inspired innovations such as closed-captioning, voice activation, braille, screen readers, and spell check.
TEDTalks: Janet Stovall—How to Get Serious about Diversity and Inclusion in the Workplace
Imagine a workplace where people of all colors and races are able to climb every rung of the corporate ladder -- and where the lessons we learn about diversity at work actually transform the things we do, think and say outside the office. How do we get there? In this candid talk, inclusion advocate Janet Stovall shares a three-part action plan for creating workplaces where people feel safe and expected to be their unassimilated, authentic selves.