HTY 110HA: Immigration ONLINE courses: Reliable Resources

This guide is designed to help students in Worldwide online courses.

Recommended databases

EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text databases (indexes). EBSCO also contains the following subject-specific databases: ATLA, Business Source Premier, CPLI, ERIC, History Reference Center, Literature Reference Center Plus, PsycArticles, and PsycINFO. Click "All EBSCOhost Reference Databases" link and checkmark databases/indexes to search more than one database at a time.

This is a screenshot to show you what it looks like.

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America by Gale Research Inc (Editor)
Call Number: REF E184.A1 G14 1995
ISBN: 1414438060
Publication Date: 2014-02-28 and 1995
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America contains 175 essays (that's 25 more than the previous edition) on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. The Encyclopedia also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans and Amish. Each essay has been completely updated and contains a listing of organizations and research centers; names addresses and contact information for periodicals, radio and television stations; and a list of suggestions for further reading. Also featured are more than 350 photographs and illustrations, sources for further study and a general annotated bibliography.

A Google Search is fine for this project--but to ensure that you are finding credible sources--try to look for sources that are from:

.EDU

.ORG

.GOV

Some .COMS are okay--for example, something from a reputable magazine like American Heritage or an online encyclopedic resource should be okay.

DON'T FORGET PICTURES AND MAPS FROM INTERNET SOURCES REQUIRE CITATIONS!

If you aren't certain, always ask your professor if the source you are hoping to use will be acceptable.