LIBRARY
EME 430: EOC Management and Operations: Home
EME 430 Home
EME 430: EOC Management and Operations
Image by ar130405 from Pixabay
This LibGuide provides students in EME 430 with resources to assist with research and to help support assignments. For more information on the Emergency Management program at Saint Leo and additional resources, please visit the Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Management LibGuide.
-
EME 430 EOC Management and OperationsA copy of the syllabus for EME 430.
Assignment Support Links
-
APA Citation GuideThis guide provides you with APA citation formatting guides for commonly-cited sources, as well as guides to using the citation formatting tool Zotero.
-
APA Writing ResourcesAssignments for this course will be formatted in APA. This page contains a paper formatting guide, as well as links and resources with more information on citing sources and formatting your paper. You can also use this page to schedule a session with our Writing and Research Support Faculty.
-
CDC - Emergency Operations CentersLists information and resources for EOC's. Helpful for multiple assignments.
-
Citing Saint Leo University Core ValuesIncludes guidelines for citing university Core Values in APA, MLA, and ASA format.
-
Department of Homeland Security - Fusion Centers and Emergency Operations CentersLists fusion centers and EOC's along with their purpose and role in emergency management. Helpful for multiple assignments.
-
Saint Leo University - Core ValuesDiscusses all Core Values, details the value of EXCELLENCE, which must be integrated into your final research paper.
-
FEMA - National Incident Management System Emergency Operations Center How-To Quick Reference GuideDetails how EOCs can be used in national incidents. Helpful for multiple assignments.
-
FEMA - Emergency Operations Center (EOC) Skillset: Resource SourcingSkillset sheet for EOC evaluators. Helpful for multiple assignments.
Databases
-
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for psychology articles and research; the search interface is currently provided by EBSCO. It has very little full text, but is considered to be one of the most valuable research tools for psychology majors and researchers. -
EBSCO Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCriminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text™ contains more than 400,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.
-
EBSCO PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowPsycINFO provides unmatched coverage of behavioral science and mental health fields, containing over 3.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s, with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from 1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Information on legal, corporate, and government subjects through newspapers, journals and magazines. -
ProQuest One This link opens in a new windowAcademic multi-disciplinary databases that contain full-text, scholarly articles for research in: the arts, business, current events/news, health and medicine, history, literature and languages, science and technology, and the social sciences.
-
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
An information source for scientific, technical, and medical research. Search for peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters (including open access content)
Recommended eBooks
-
Active Shooter
by
According to Pinkerton--the leading provider of risk management services in the world--workplace violence is second only to cybersecurity as the top threat faced by organizations today. Incidents involving active shooters in the workplace are on the rise and becoming more violent and deadly. Active Shooter provides the tools necessary to identify potential violent individuals, along with the options and responses needed to save lives, reduce corporate liability, and recover from an active shooter event should it happen. Active Shooter begins with a brief history of active shooters and how they have changed over time. It shows why many perpetrators initiate attacks, what they often are thinking, and some of the indicators that could have been identified prior to the attack. The book shows how to develop an active shooter program in an organization, walking readers through the entire process including training exercises to test the efficiency of the program. With the uniquely private security perspective, Active Shooter illustrates how to communicate with law enforcement, government agencies, and the media in the event of active shooter incident. The book concludes with a discussion of how organizations can recover promptly after an incident, which is crucial for operational survival. Illustrates what businesses should consider prior to, during, and after an active shooting event, including developing business continuity plan Demonstrates the importance of preparedness, an effective coordinated response, and planning all the way down to the frontline employee Addresses the private sector and public sector coordination efforts needed for an effective active shooter program Offers teaching and learning tools such as text boxes, end-of-chapter discussion questions, lists of key DHS, FBI and FEMA websites and resources, as well as training exercises and case studies
-
Disaster Operations and Decision Making
by
The only book to combine emergency management principLEs with proven military concepts Good disaster plans do not guarantee a good response. Any disaster plan rarely survives the first rain bands of a hurricane or the first tremors of an earthquake. While developing plans is essential, there must be systems in place to adapt these plans to the ever-changing operational environment of a disaster. Currently there is no set of standard disaster response principles to guide a community. The National Incident Management System (NIMS) and the Incident Command System (ICS) provide the framework to implement operational decisions, but they were never designed as operational concepts. The military has developed just such concepts and many of them can be adapted for civilian use. Disaster Operations and Decision Making adapts those military concepts and combines them with disaster lessons learned to create a new opera-tional paradigm. Emphasizing team building, Emergency Operations Center operational systems, and situational awareness, the book details easily adopted methods. All of these methods are designed to be incorporated into the NIMS and ICS framework to enhance a community's response to any type of disaster. Disaster Operations and Decision Making is an essential resource for emergency managers, fire chiefs, law enforcement officers, homeland security professionals, public health officials, and anyone else involved or interested in crisis management.
-
The Disaster Recovery Handbook
by
Terrorist attacks. Data assaults. Natural catastrophes. Disease outbreaks. Recent years have taught us that not only was 9/11 not just a single, horrible occurrence, but that events of many types can-and statistically will-hit organizations of every size, threatening to disrupt and potentially even destroy those that are not fully prepared. This revised edition, filled with up-to-the-minute thinking and the latest legal and technological updates, provides readers with practical tools and ready-to-use instructions for assessing risk; clearly documenting recovery procedures; assembling a disaster team; testing and debugging every step; protecting material resources; and recovering vital records. In addition to a CD packed with forms and checklists, the book contains case studies, interviews, and all the practical guidance needed to create the kind of thorough disaster recovery plan every responsible organization must have in place.
-
Disasters 2. 0
by
Emerging social media and so-called Web 2.0 technologies will continue to have a great impact on the practice and application of the emergency management function in every public safety sector. Disasters 2.0: The Application of Social Media Systems for Modern Emergency Management prepares emergency managers and first responders to successfully appl
-
Evidence-based practice for public health emergency preparedness and response
by
Emerging social media and so-called Web 2.0 technologies will continue to have a great impact on the practice and application of the emergency management function in every public safety sector. Disasters 2.0: The Application of Social Media Systems for Modern Emergency Management prepares emergency managers and first responders to successfully apply social media principles in the operations, logistics, planning, finance, and administrative aspects of any given disaster.
Suggested Videos
-
CDC - Behind the Scenes: Emergency Operations Center (6:24)"Take a look behind-the-scenes at the command center and staff responsible for coordinating emergency response to domestic and
international public health threats. Since 2001, CDC has responded to dozens of events and incidents including the Anthrax attacks, Hurricane Katrina and SARS, Monkeypox, E. coli, and Novel H1N1 Flu outbreaks." -
CDC Emergency Operations Center: How an EOC Works"The video describes what an Emergency Operations Center (EOC) is, how it fits within the framework of Incident Management Systems, how it functions and the benefits of establishing one and the importance of routine use in maintaining it."
-
FEMA - National Business Emergency Operations Center"James K. Joseph walks through the National Response Coordination Center (NRCC) and explains how agencies and people come together to respond to potential disasters."
-
World Health Organization - Public Health Emergency Operations Centre Network (EOC-NET)"World Health Organisation established the Public Health Emergency Operations Centre Network (EOC-NET) to promote best practice and standards, to support PHEOC capacity building, and to strengthen the coordination and collaboration among EOCs and response partners for more effective response to public health risks and emergencies."