LIBRARY
MGT 312: Introduction to Project Management: Qualitative and Quantitative
Definitions
"Qualitative Research is a form of enquiry employed in many different academic disciplines, traditionally in the social sciences and marketing research. The qualitative researchers' aim is to get an in-depth understanding of human behaviors and the reasons that govern such behaviors through the use of a variety of approaches. The qualitative method therefore investigates the why and how of behaviors, not merely the what, where and when. Hence, smaller but focused samples are more often used rather than larger ones....Qualitative research is a widely used approach to observation in academic disciplines, including the social and behavioral sciences, and in market research to inform business and policy decisions. The major aim of a qualitative approach is to gather information that captures social life as experienced by participants. Qualitative techniques (e.g., unstructured data collected from interviews, open-ended survey responses, field notes, feedback forms, photos and videos) are used to evaluate human behavior and develop theoretical explanations of such behavior. Typically, behaviors are studied within the context in which they occur and where the role of the researcher would not affect the normal behavior of the research participants. The method therefore investigates the why and how of behaviors, not merely the what, when, and where. Because of this in-depth inquiry, researchers often focus on smaller, purposefully selected samples rather than larger randomly selected samples, thereby producing information pertaining only to those cases observed. No general conclusions can therefore be drawn for the wider population; only informed assertions can be made." Read the full definition at the following link
Morris, S. V., Rockett, J., & Elechi, O. O. (2014). Qualitative research. In J. S. Albanese, The encyclopedia of criminology and criminal justice. Wiley. Credo Reference
"Quantitative research involves the assignment of numbers to social concepts and then using these numbers to measure those concepts. Quantitative research is based in “positivism”—an approach to research with roots in the natural/physical sciences. The distinction between quantitative and qualitative research really boils down to the use of numerical versus non-numerical data.... Quantitative research involves the assignment of numbers to social concepts and then using these numbers to measure those concepts. Quantitative research is based in “positivism”—an approach to research with roots in the natural/physical sciences. Indeed, the distinction between quantitative and qualitative research really boils down to the use of numerical versus non-numerical data. Quantitative research is most often used in cases where the researcher has specific research questions in mind (based on a priori theory or in an attempt to answer a practical problem) and is able to have access to (or create) good measures of the phenomenon that is to be measured. A classic example of this is the investigation of the relationship between achievement and intelligence. There is good theoretical reason to suggest a relationship between these variables. Moreover, reliable, valid, and well-used measures of both concepts are widely available." Read the full definition at the following link
Shelley, G. P. (2014). Quantitative research. In J. S. Albanese, The encyclopedia of criminology and criminal justice. Wiley. Credo Reference
Qualitative
Qualitative Research in Business by ISBN: 9781443866217Publication Date: 2014-11-01Qualitative methods are today taking their rightful place as valuable and powerful research tools both in business and elsewhere. Many professionals, however, continue to lack the skills needed to apply these methods in an effective and convincing manner. Qualitative Methods in Business Research: A Practical Guidebook offers an analysis and "how to" guide regarding qualitative research methods that provides practical and effective advice for those seeking knowledge regarding the application of these tools. Opening discussions compare formal/scientific/quantitative methods of investigation with qualitative alternatives. Having provided this overview, a range of qualitative methods are discussed in an easy-to-understand manner that will be invaluable for those who wish to use these tools as part of their decision-making processes. Assuming no prior background in qualitative research methods, the text is ideal both for the classroom and for use as a professional handbook.
Qualitative Consumer Research by ISBN: 9781787144927Publication Date: 2017-08-18Rather than the correlational and superficial view provided from the overflow of numerical data, qualitative and conceptual data help to make sense of what is really going on among consumers. Numerical approaches are a useful first cut at detecting changes in market patterns, but they fail to help understand the underlying and deeper meanings of these data among individual consumers, families, and consumption communities. By gathering data from observation (first hand and automated), depth interviews, projective measures, netnography, videography, qualitative marketing and consumer research help put flesh on the bones of often sterile quantitative data. This volume provides a good illustration of the sorts of insights that qualitative and conceptual analysis can provide.
Qualitative Research in Management by ISBN: 9789351501039Publication Date: 2015-04-17This book is the first of its kind on qualitative research in management in the Indian context. It covers the philosophy and practice of qualitative research, and presents the journeys of 10 management scholars who describe their experiences of doing qualitative research while explaining their choice of varied methods. Both aspiring and experienced management researchers will find it an invaluable resource.
Quantitative
Quantitative Methods for Business by ISBN: 9781423216612Publication Date: 2011-12-31Using quantitative methods in terms of running a company efficiently may be ideal for certain business owners; therefore, let BarCharts' latest 3-panel study guide be your source for learning how to make these processes work for you. The guide utilizes our renowned color-coded format that provides comprehensive information on every aspect of quantitative business methods, including specific example problems and their solutions; key definitions, charts, and graphs can also be found. Business students and professionals will find much food for thought with this invaluable reference tool!
Quantitative Techniques in Management by ISBN: 9781944131869Publication Date: 2015-11-30This book is an introductory text for both undergraduate and postgraduate courses on Quantitative Methods, Operations Research, Management Science, and other similar courses. The book seeks to develop in students an understanding of model building, solution procedure and the process of analyzing results obtained either by manual methods or by using a computer software program.
Time Management by ISBN: 9780814433430Publication Date: 2014-01-20It's a simple equation--the better you use your time, the more you will accomplish, and the greater you will succeed. But the rollout of this basic theory isn't so simple, is it? In Time Management, business author and success expert Brian Tracy says it is!In this indispensable, pocket-sized guide, Tracy reveals 21 proven time management techniques you can use immediately to gain two or more productive hours every day. Two or more! Every day!!By learning the strategies that Tracy himself has identified as the most effective and employed personally, readers having trouble fitting everything the day brings them inside a 24-hour window will learn how to:* Handle endless interruptions, meetings, emails, and phone calls * Identify your key result areas * Allocate enough time for top priority responsibilities * Batch similar tasks to preserve focus and make the most of each minute * Overcome procrastination * Determine what to delegate and what to eliminate * Utilize Program Evaluation and Review Techniques to work backward from the future . . . and ensure your most important goals are met * And moreFilled with Brian Tracy's trademark wisdom, this invaluable, time-creating resource will help you get more done, in less time . . . and with much less stress.
Everyday Project Management by ISBN: 9781523085408Publication Date: 2019-09-03Everyday Project Management provides the direction you need to apply project management's time-tested tools for keeping things on time and under budget. It introduces the wide variety of tasks you will have to tackle, including assembling a team, mapping out a plan, monitoring progress, keeping your team motivated, and using appropriate planning tools, such as project management software or wall charts. In addition, you'll gain a clearer picture of the project manager's role in the conception, planning, execution, control, and completion of a project. Each chapter offers essential bite-sized nuggets of wisdom that will help you succeed, outlining the kinds of challenges you'll encounter, the interpersonal issues that will arise, and ways to stay on time and on budget in pursuit of the desired quality outcome. You'll learn how Gantt charts can keep your project on schedule, how the critical path method can be used to conserve resources, and how to juggle multiple projects, bosses, and reporting structures. Whether you are managing one project or many, this quick and easy guide to the tasks, tools, and skills of project management will carry you from project launch to project completion. Most importantly, you will learn why having a work-life balance is vital to project managers who seek long and prosperous careers.
