LIBRARY
Biology Subject Research Guide: Selected Websites
Selected Websites
The websites listed below have been recommended by Saint Leo librarians and faculty as suitable for academic research and projects:
- Animal Diversity WebDatabase of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology
- Bioethics Research Library This link opens in a new window
Collection on ethical issues related to health care, biomedical research, biotechnology, and the environment
- BiointeractiveProvides virtual labs, videos, and other free resources
- BioMed CentralHundreds of open-access journal publications
- The University of Kansas Molecular Biosciences - GeneticsInformation on human genetics and the human genome project
- Gray's Anatomy of the Human BodyFrom the seminal 1918 publication, with engravings and detailed index
- USDA Plants DatabaseProvides standardized information about plants of the U.S. and its territories
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally.
The PubMed database contains more than 32 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).
- SciCentral: Biological SciencesProvides information on jobs, conferences, journals and relevant databases
- Science MattersVideos and presentations on newest advances and research in bio science
- Structure of the Human BodyCourse page for the "Structure of the Human Body" course at Loyola University Chicago Stritch School of Medicine (SSOM)
- Tree of Life web projectA collection of text, pictures and videos about biodiversity
- Western Soundscape ArchiveOffers thousands of recordings of Western animal species and their environments
How do I evaluate information on the Internet?
To determine if information found on the Internet is reliable and accurate, try the CAARP test:
Currency: The timeliness of the information. (Look for and use the most up-to-date information you can find. For scholarly sources, it is best to use information published in the past 10 years unless it is on a historical topic.)
Authority: The source of the information. (Is the source biased? What are the author's qualifications? Is the source reliable and accepted in the industry?)
Accuracy: The reliability, truthfulness, and correctness of the information. (Is the information supported by evidence? Can the source be verified? Can you find this information from more than one source? Does the author cite any other sources?)
Relevance: The importance of the information for your needs. (Who is the intended audience? Is this source the most relevant possible source for your needs? Would you feel comfortable citing this source in your research?)
Purpose: The reason the information exists. (What is the purpose of this information? Is it designed to teach, educate, entertain, sell, etc.?)