Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms by
Publication Date: 2004-07-30
Some databases like PsycInfo and PsycArticles use the terms listed in this book to organize their articles consistently. If you are having a hard time searching, you might try using the search terms found here. You can find them in those databases under the Thesaurus tab on the top of the screen. In this system, they use the phrase "social casework" for social work.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text databases (indexes). EBSCO also contains the following subject-specific databases: ATLA, Business Source Premier, CPLI, ERIC, History Reference Center, Literature Reference Center Plus, MLA Directory of Periodicals, MLA International Bibliography, PsycArticles, and PsycINFO. Click "All EBSCOhost Reference Databases" link and checkmark databases/indexes to search more than one database at a time.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes a wide range of academic journals in the arts and sciences.
EBSCO PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. It also offers extensive backfile coverage—nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. PsycARTICLES is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms®.
APA Psyc Books This link opens in a new window
APA Psyc Books contains 1,900 scholarly books, 31,000 chapters, 1,207 classic resources in psychology and Encyclopedia of Psychology from Oxford University.
EBSCO PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO provides unmatched coverage of behavioral science and mental health fields, containing over 3.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s, with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from 1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages
Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
Covers subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, medicine and more. Full text articles are available from 1999 to the present.To limit your search to full text articles only, use the Advanced Seach option "SAGE Journals Available to Me."
Web of Science (aka Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts database coverage of the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities; the world's largest collection of research data, books, journals, proceedings, publications and patents. Contains abstracts only, but is linked to several thousand full text journal articles. For assistance with obtaining full-text articles, contact our ILL Assistant (ILL@saintleo.edu).
Selected Reference EBooks (This list is not comprehensive).
In this section, we discuss the differences between peer reviewed journals, scholarly articles, and magazines.