LIBRARY
SOC 201: Globalization: Global Economy
Resources for Global Studies majors.
Intro to the Global Economy
How do events on Wall Street affect the textile industry in New Delhi? Is China the new economic superpower, or is it's wealth a passing phenomenon? Why is there such a large gap between rich and poor countries? Find out more about the global economy here.
Organizations
- EU
The European Union is a major political and economic establishment comprised of 28 European nations. - IMFA United Nations institution, the International Monetary Fund aims to ensure stability of the international monetary system.
- OECD
The Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development promotes economic and social well-being worldwide through international collaboration. - World BankA United Nations institution, the stated goals of the World Bank are to end extreme poverty and boost mutual prosperity.
- WTOThe World Trade Organization is an international body that negotiates trade, settles international finance disputes, and builds trade capacity in developing countries.
Web References
- The Economist
Offers world news coverage with an emphasis on both domestic and international economics. - Wall Street Journal
Based out of New York City, NY, this popular publication offers current affairs with an emphasis on international and domestic economics.
eBooks
- Global Economy2012, Nenad Pacek
Provides an overview of the world economy and identifies trends, threats, and strategies for international business. - The Global Internet Economy2003, Bruce Mitchel Kogut
Explores the role of the internet in the interconnected world of global business. - Remaking the Global Economy : Economic-geographical Perspectives2003, Henry Wai-Chung Yeung
Provides an interdisciplinary analysis of the impact of globalization on modern business. - Globalization and International Trade Policies2009. Robert M. Stern. Examines the role of the World Trade Organization in global economics and raises questions of fairness in the current system.
- Globalization and Poverty2007. Ann E. Harrison. Provides an optimistic evaluation of the impact of globalization on poverty.
- Generations and Globalization : Youth, Age, and Family in the New World Economy2007. Deborah Lynn Durham. Jennifer Cole. Explores the effect of globalized economies on the changing dynamics between generations.
- Globalization from Below : The World's Other Economy
2012. Gordon Mathews. Gustavo Lins Ribeiro. Carlos Alba Vega. Provides a view of globalization "actually experienced by most of the world's people." Covers phenomenon from the "New Silk Road" to pirated CD's in Mexico.
Video
Journals/Databases
- Trade finance : the global magazine for export and commodity finance
Offers current analysis on global trade and finance. - Journal of Enterprising Communities
Identifies and analyzes promising emerging businesses in the global economy with an emphasis on underdeveloped regions of the world. - ProQuest: BusinessEncompasses subjects in business, finance, and economics both domestic and internationally.
- EBSCOhost: Business Source Complete
Offers a collection of academic journals relating to business and finance. - JSTOR: Economics
Offers a broad collection of journals, books, and pamphlets on the topic of economics.
