Skip to Main Content
  

LIBRARY

Home Research Services About

PSY 322: How to find and identify peer-reviewed journal articles: Suggested resources

Peer-review is a process some scholarly articles undergo before publication. Use this guide to learn how to identify peer-reviewed scholarly articles for your PSY322 paper.

Books and eBooks--Background Information

Although you will not count this type of resource toward your minimum requirement of peer-reviewed journal articles, if you can find some scholarly book-length treatment of your chosen disorder, it will help you to understand, interpret, and evaluate the information you find in your journal articles.

For example, if I were investigating dementia, I might begin with a review of one of these eBooks:

1. Dementia by Patrick McNamara
Dementia
by Patrick McNamara;
 eBook : Document View all formats and languages »
Language: English  
Publisher: Santa Barbara, Calif. : Praeger, ©2011.
Database: WorldCat
Libraries that own this item: Saint Leo University Cannon Memorial Library
 
2. Dementia by Lawrence J Whalley
Dementia
by Lawrence J Whalley; John CS Breitner
 eBook : Document View all formats and languages »
Language: English  
Publisher: Abingdon : HEALTH Press, 2009.
Database: WorldCat
Libraries that own this item: Saint Leo University Cannon Memorial Library
 
3. Dementia. / Vol. 3 by Mario Maj
Dementia. / Vol. 3
by Mario Maj; N Sartorius;
 eBook View all formats and languages »
Language: English  
Publisher: Chichester ; New York : Wiley, ©2000.
Database: WorldCat
Libraries that own this item: Saint Leo University Cannon Memorial Library
 
4. Younger people with dementia : planning, practice,... by Sylvia Cox
Younger people with dementia : planning, practice, and development
by Sylvia Cox; John Keady;
 eBook View all formats and languages »
Language: English  
Publisher: London : Jessica Kingsley Publishers, ©1999.
Database: WorldCat
Libraries that own this item: Saint Leo University Cannon Memorial Library
 
5. Dementia care by Trevor Adams
Dementia care
by Trevor Adams; Jill Manthorpe;
 eBook : Document View all formats and languages »
Language: English  
Publisher: London : Arnold ; New York : Distributed in the USA by Oxford University Press, ©2003.
Database: WorldCat
Libraries that own this item: Saint Leo University Cannon Memorial Library
 
6. The dementia care workbook by Gary Morris
The dementia care workbook
by Gary Morris; Jack Morris
 eBook View all formats and languages »
Language: English  
Publisher: Maidenhead, England : Open University Press, 2010.
Database: WorldCat
Libraries that own this item: Saint Leo University Cannon Memorial Library
 
7. Evaluation in dementia care by Anthea Innes
Evaluation in dementia care
by Anthea Innes; Louise McCabe;
 eBook : Document View all formats and languages »
Language: English  
Publisher: London ; Philadelphia : Jessica Kingsley Publishers, 2007.
Database: WorldCat
Libraries that own this item: Saint Leo University Cannon Memorial Library
 
8. Person-centred dementia care : making services... by Dawn Brooker
Person-centred dementia care : making services better
by Dawn Brooker
 eBook : Document View all formats and languages »
Language: English  
Publisher: London ; Philadelphia : Jessica Kingsley Publishers, 2007.
Database: WorldCat
Libraries that own this item: Saint Leo University Cannon Memorial Library
 
9. Perspectives on rehabilitation and dementia by Mary Marshall
Perspectives on rehabilitation and dementia
by Mary Marshall;
 eBook : Document View all formats and languages »
Language: English  
Publisher: London ; Philadelphia : Jessica Kingsley Publishers, 2005.
Database: WorldCat
Libraries that own this item: Saint Leo University Cannon Memorial Library
 
10. The simplicity of dementia : a guide for family... by H P J Buijssen
The simplicity of dementia : a guide for family and carers
by H P J Buijssen
 eBook : Document View all formats and languages »
Language: English  
Publisher: London ; Philadelphia : Jessica Kingsley Publishers, 2005.
Database: WorldCat
Libraries that own this item: Saint Leo University Cannon Memorial Library

Or begin with a search of APA PsycBooks

You will find this eBook collection listed on the library home page by scrolling down until you see three columns at the bottom of the page. In the left-hand column, Find Info, choose the E-books link and then select APA PsycBooks from the list of choices.

The search template is set to search for both articles and eBooks, including book chapters in your results. This might be a good choice to get you started on this project, since you'll have a combination of recognized, high-quality materials from the APA.

Choose databases that index your topic

Suggested databases include these key resources with access provided via EBSCOhost's All Reference Databases link. You may choose to search each one individually or in combination. If you use them in combination, you will lose some of your limiters from the Basic Search screen, but all of the limiters available in each module will be available to you from the Advanced Search set-up screen.

    • PsycARTICLES

      PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

    • PsycEXTRA

      PsycEXTRA®, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), is a bibliographic and full-text companion to the scholarly PsycINFO database. The document types included in PsycEXTRA consist of technical, annual and government reports, conference papers, newsletters, magazines, newspapers, consumer brochures and more. It contains around 200,000 records that are not indexed in any other APA database.

    • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

      Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.

    • PsycINFO

      The PsycINFO®, database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.

Some physiology journals in our collection

If you choose to search within a single journal title for articles, please remember to (1) check the date range for available full-text and (2) note any embargo periods for full-text availability.

Embargoes are imposed by the journal publisher, not the library.These are periods of time during which the publisher withholds the full-text online option, requiring you to locate the journal in print. The library can help you with this if you use our Article Request service.

You can find the complete list of these titles by searching the AtoZ eResources list for journals with the word "physiology" in their titles. For example: