LIBRARY
Databases and select E-reference Resources by Subject: Psychology & Social Work
Psychology and Social Work
Databases
-
EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text databases (indexes). EBSCO also contains the following subject-specific databases: ATLA, Business Source Premier, CPLI, ERIC, History Reference Center, Literature Reference Center Plus, PsycArticles, and PsycINFO. Click "All EBSCOhost Reference Databases" link and checkmark databases/indexes to search more than one database at a time.
-
EBSCO Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
This index offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1.3M articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, along with citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes a wide range of academic journals in the arts and sciences.
-
ProQuest One This link opens in a new window
Academic multi-disciplinary databases that contain full-text, scholarly articles for research in: the arts, business, current events/news, health and medicine, history, literature and languages, science and technology, and the social sciences.
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc., on a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.
-
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Great Arts & Humanities reference book. Includes the complete Encyclopedia Britannica, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year.
-
ProQuest eBook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebrary is an all-subject collection which now contains over 150,000 ebook titles
-
Oxford Encyclopedia of the EnlightenmentReference ebook Covering the “long” Enlightenment, from the rise of Descartes' disciples in 1670 to the restoration of the Bourbon monarchy in 1815, these 700 articles by leading scholars range from discussions of mercantilism and democracy to the battlefield to the dissemination of ideas in salons and coffeehouses. Breaking conventional geographical boundaries, coverage includes not only Western Europe but also North America, Brazil, and Iberian, Russian, Jewish, and Eastern European cultures.
-
Oxford Companion to the MindThis work discusses concepts such as language, memory, and intelligence, side by side with witty definitions of common human experiences such as the ‘cocktail-party’ and ‘halo’ effects, and the least effort principle. This book includes entries on attachment theory, caffeine, extra-terrestrial intelligence, and imagination; it also includes three ‘mini symposia’ — on consciousness, brain scanning, and artificial intelligence — with contributions from a range of specialists.
-
Psych Classics This link opens in a new window
Full texts of a large number of historically significant public domain documents. You can find works by Maslow, Dewey, Freud, Lovelace, Thorndike, and more.