LIBRARY
HON 250: Humanistic Tradition: E-books
Google Books has some free full-text scholarly e-books!
Sample eBook on Leonardo da Vinci
Leonardo Da Vinci by ISBN: 1780422954Publication Date: 2011-07-01
Sample Ebook on Polonius in Shakespeare's Hamlet
Trust and Violence by ISBN: 9781400842346Publication Date: 2012-04-22Quote: Polonius has concealed himself behind a tapestry to listen in on Gertrude, who, at his urging, is having an earnest talk with Hamlet. A few lines into the conversation Gertrude calls out in fear for her life, and from his hiding place Polonius cries, “What ho! help!” Hamlet, suspecting Claudius, exclaims, “How now? A rat! Dead for a ducat, dead, ” and blindly stabs at the tapestry (III.4.22–23). On realizing it’s Polonius... page 311
Sample E-books in the CML E-books Collections
Renaissance Art by Publication Date: Oxford 2005Botticelli, Holbein, Leonardo, Durer, Michelangelo: the names are familiar, as are the works. But, who were these artists, why did they produce such memorable images, and how would their beholders have viewed these objects? This book answers such questions by considering famous and lesser-known artists, patrons, and works of art from the period.
The Literature of Satire by Publication Date: Cambridge, 2004INDEX: satire, see also irony, parody, satiric performance:
anarchic power of 80; and attack 3, 7, 39,
41–43, 226–27; binary relationships in 31;
and comedy 6, 140–42; as crisis 233–34;
definitions of, see also genre, definitions of,
etymological defining 8, 13–15; and disguise
31–33; and eating 24–25, 27; graphic 61–62,
229; and history 45–47, 50–52, 171–72,
271–72; and imagination 29–30; and
imitation 3–4, 32–40, 48–49, 203; and
language 234, 258–59; and law 25–27, 30;
and morality 4–6, 30–31, 51–52, 95–96, 171,
261–65, 272; and novels, see also Menippean
satire 9, 14, 232, 270–71: as exclusive forms
206, generic overlap 203–07, genre and mode
in 205–06, heuristic structures of 228–29,
historical relationships of 207, 224–32,
individual consciousness in 204–05, 206,
politics of 226, as the same form 206, scope
of 227–28, time in 205; norms in 5; paradox
of 140; and perception 2–3, 5, 203–04, 272;
persona in 156–58; as pre-generic 4; and the
press 229, 233–50, 251: authority of authorship
239, 248, interpretation 247–48, political
allegory 242–43, political audiences 235–36,
political quixotism 244, pretended readership
244–45, rhetoric 248–50, strategies and events
236–37, variety of literary forms 235; and
religion 20–24, 27; rhetoric of 40–48, 277;
and women 6–8
Where can you go to find scholarly e-books?
If you are looking for a scholarly e-book, where will you find one?
E-books Collections for Humanistic Topics
eBooks & eReference Resources
Saint Leo University, Daniel Cannon Memorial Library now has over 309,000 eBooks available online to all students, and faculty. All resources listed here are available in full text, allowing you to locate and read books online 24 hours a days, seven days a week.
ABC-Clio Greenwood Digital Collection & Education Library Contains eBooks for all disciplines, with the largest set geared towards the education major.
APA PsycBooks contains 1,900 scholarly books, 31,000 chapters, 1,207 classic resources in psychology and Encyclopedia of Psychology from Oxford University.
CQ Press Encyclopedias - click the links below to search for resources in US Political History, Religion in America, and Political Science.
Credo Reference includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc., on a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law. (Funds for Credo Reference through Saint Leo University’s Annual Fund 2011)
Ebrary is an all-subject collection which now contains over 114,000 ebook titles
EBSCO's EBook Collection contains full text digital versions of books (over 188,000) the library has purchased for your use. Please be aware that if you opt to download ebooks, you must create a personal EBSCO account to do so.
EBSCO's Business eBook Collection Included in this collection are over 9,400 business eBooks, with new eBooks added regularly, that are intended to meet the content needs of students in their research, special projects, and entrepreneurial quests.
Encyclopedia Britannica includes the complete Encyclopedia Britannica, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year.
Gale Resources: Get the Gale App for your IPhone, IPad or Android device -find out how.
Gale Virtual Reference Library contains several resources of importance to Criminal Justice, Education, and Religion majors, including the Encyclopedia Judaica, Lucent Library of Homeland Security, Lucent Terrorism Library, and the New Catholic Encyclopedia online.
Gale Directory Library contains Market Share Reporter.
Literature Resource Center and EBooks cross-search all of Gale's Literature Resource Center offerings and ebooks
Oxford Digital Reference Collection Includes 47 vital resources for all students, with more on the way!
Salem Literature offers online access to Critical Insights. This comprehensive series distills the best of both classic and current literary criticism of the world’s most-studied literature. Each volume in the series focuses on an individual author’s entire body of work or on a single work of literature
Subject Guide
Reference and Instructional Outreach Librarian
Saint Leo University
Daniel A. Cannon Memorial Library
33701 S.R. 52,
Saint Leo, FL 33574
carol.moon@saintleo.edu
E-books on Machiavellian Leaders (Real and Fictional)
Mao's Last Revolution by ISBN: 0674040414Publication Date: 2009-06-01
Encyclopedia of Leadership by ISBN: 9781452265308Publication Date: 2004-03-19
