Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

CHE 123: General Chemistry I: ACS Style Guide

ACS Style Guide

Developed by the American Chemical Society, the ACS styleguide may be used for research papers in the field of chemistry.This guide provides examples of the most commonly cited types of sources. Each citation consists of two parts: the in-text citation, which provides brief identifying information within the text, and the reference list, a list of sources that provides full bibliographic information.

 

ACS template (in development)

ACS Style Guide Info

In-Text Citations

(For more detailed information see ACS Style Guide, pp 287-290.)

Select one of the three methods below to cite in-text references:

  1. Superscript the citation number at the end of the cited information:
    Fluoridated water as well as various fluoride products such as toothpaste provide fluoride ions necessary for remineralization.¹ Within the cited information:
    Rakita¹ states that fluoridated water as well as various fluoride products such as toothpaste provide fluoride ions necessary for remineralization.
  2. Italicize the number at the end of the cited information
    Fluoridated water as well as various fluoride products such as toothpaste provide fluoride ions necessary for remineralization (1).Within the cited information:
    Rakita (1) states that fluoridated water as well as various fluoride products such as toothpaste provide fluoride ions necessary for remineralization.

  3. Author name and year of publication at the end of the cited information:
    Fluoridated water as well as various fluoride products such as toothpaste provide fluoride ions necessary for remineralization (Rakita, 2004). Within the cited information:
    Rakita states that fluoridated water as well as various fluoride products such as toothpaste provide fluoride ions necessary for remineralization (2004).  Note: for two authors use "and": Rakita and Smith. For more than two authors use "et al.": Rakita et al.

Your Bibliography

Bibiographic entry examples for books

No matter which method of in-text citations you chose to use, the bibliography is completed in the following manner:

Single author

Chang, R. General Chemistry: The Essential Concepts, 3rd ed.; McGraw-Hill: Boston, 2003.

Edited Book

Gbalint-Kurti, G. G. Wavepacket Theory of Photodissociation and Reactive Scattering. In Advances in Chemical Physics; Rice, S. A., Ed.; Wiley: New York, 2004; Vol. 128; p 257.

Book in Series

Omega-3 Fatty Acids: Chemistry, Nutrition, and Health Effects; Shahidi, F., Finley, J. W., Eds.; ACS Symposium Series 788; American Chemical Society: Washington, DC, 2001.

Article from a reference book

Powder Metallurgy. Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, 3rd ed.; Wiley: New York, 1982; Vol. 19, pp 28-62.

Bibiographic entry examples for journals:
Article in a scientific journal

Evans, D. A.; Fitch, D. M.; Smith, T. E.; Cee, V. J. Application of Complex Aldol Reactions to the Total Synthesis of Phorboxazole B. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2000, 122, 10033-10046.

Article in a popular/non-scientific magazine

Manning, R. Super Organics. Wired, May 2004, pp 176-181.

Article from an online journal

Peacock-Lopez, E. Exact Solutions of the Quantum Double Square-Well Potential. Chem. Ed. [Online] 2007, 11, 383-393 http://chemeducator.org/bibs/0011006/11060380lb.htm (accessed Aug 23

 

Patents, Meetings, Conferences, Tech Reports

Patents

Wilkins, T. D.; Tucker, K. D. Detection, Isolation, and Purification of Clostridium Difficile Toxin A with Toxin Receptors. U.S. Patent 5,098,826, March 24, 1992.

Conference/Meetings (full-text)

Winstein, S. In University Chemical Education, Proceedings of the International Symposium on University Chemical Education, Frascati (Rome), Italy, October 16-19, 1969; Chisman, D. G.. Ed.; Butterworths: London, 1970.

Conference/Meetings (abstract only)

Kaplan, L.J.; Selder, A. Books of Abstracts, 213th ACS National Meeting, San Francisco, CA, April 13-17, 1997; American Chemical Society: Washington, DC, 1997; CHED-824.

Technical Report or Bulletin

Crampton, S.B.; McAllaster, D. R. Collision and Motional Averaging Effects in Cryogenic Atomic Hydrogen Masers; WMC-AFOSR-002; NTIS: Springfield, VA, 1983.

 

Web/Online

(ACS Style Guide, pp 316-325)

Note: Different web browsers break the text in different places of a URL. The URL should begin on the same line as the rest of the citation information, with a break inserted after a slash, if needed.

Web page

National Library of Medicine. Environmental Health and Toxicology: Specialized Information Services. http://sis.nlm.nih.gov/enviro.html (accessed Aug 23, 2004).

Article from an online journal

Peacock-Lopez, E. Exact Solutions of the Quantum Double Square-Well Potential. Chem. Ed. [Online] 2007, 11, 383-393 http://chemeducator.org/bibs/0011006/11060380lb.htm (accessed Aug 23, 2007).

Article from full text database

Begley, S. When Does Your Brain Stop Making New Neurons? Newsweek [Online] July 2, 2007, p 62. Expanded Academic Index. http:/galegroup.com (accessed Aug 23, 2007).

Article published online in advance

Chung, J.M. and Peacock-Lopez, E. Cross-diffusion in the Templator model of chemical self-replication. Phys. Lett. A [Online early access]. DOI:10.1016/j.physleta.2007.04.114. Published Online: June 12, 2007. http://www.sciencedirect.com (accessed Aug 23, 2007).

Computer Program

SciFinder Scholar, version 2007; Chemical Abstracts Service: Columbus, OH, 2007; RN 58-08-2 (accessed Aug 23, 2007).