LIBRARY
School of Business Recommendations: Web Sites
Accounting Links
- Accounting WebIncludes accounting news, jobs, articles.
- WebCPA: Tools and Resources for the Tax and Accounting Professionals“WebCPA is a leading provider of online business news for the tax and accounting community, offering breaking news, in-depth features, insightful editorial analysis, and a host of Web-related resources and services.” (About Us)
- Wiley's Accounting WorkshopThis site is designed to keep you abreast of current issues in the accounting world. Includes corporate financial statements, professional associations, online research sites and other accounting sites.
The Financial Pages
Big Charts
This site gives the end-user access to charts, reports, indicators and quotes on over 24,000 US stocks, mutual funds and major market indexes.
Hoover's Online
Hoover's Online provides access to a variety of company information including a searchable database of over 2800 firm web sites, company capsules for over 10,000 corporations, company profiles (fee-based), and IPO Central. You can access some of Hoover's company profiles via the Time Warner Pathfinder Site. Includes current SEC filings.
SEC Edgar
All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR. Anyone can access and download this information for free.
Standard & Poor Index Information
Access information about stock indexes maintained by Standard & Poors. Includes current stats, total return figures, and news as well as alphabetical and grouped by industry lists of the companies included in the various indexes. (S&P 500, Midcap 400, Small cap 600, etc.)
Europages
Europages offers a database of 150,000 companies carefully selected from 25 European countries. Do a keyword search or a search by activity sector, or alternatively search for the name of the company in which you are interested.
Library Online Resources
Standard & Poors NetAdvantage.omprehensive, professional source of proprietary analysis on industries, corporate activities, and data on stocks and funds. For non-business students, the service includes a Financial Education section with tools for understanding personal finance.
EBSCO Business Source Complete. The world's largest full text business database. Provides full text for nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals, including more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating from 1922-present.
Management and Decision making
A valuable website that contains many tools for management decision making, personal and professional development, and enhancing one’s knowledge in all areas related to management.
Directories
InfoSpace
Provides searchable fax, toll-free number, blue pages and Internet email directories worldwide. Bills itself as "the most comprehensive directory on the Internet."
ThomasNet
If you need to find the name of a US manufacturing firm or want to know who makes a specific product then this site is for you. ThomasNet is a comprehensive detailed guide to the full range of products manufactured in the United States. Users will be pleased to find both product/service and company name searching available.
IQS Directory
Manufacturing directory. Serving the OEM Market and the Manufacturing Industry.
Research
A Tutorial for Researching Companies Online
As the title states, this website provides a guide for doing online research on a company.
http://www.learnwebskills.com/company
Marketing Research
SBDTC Market research Resources
A comprehensive website listing that contains a large number of sources to help locate both business and marketing research information.
http://www.sbtdc.org/resources/web.asp