Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Financial Aid and Grants on the Web: Aggregator Websites with no fee

Searchable Scholarships

  • FastWeb, a large free searchable database of scholarships. You enter information about yourself, and the database matches your information with possible scholarships.
  • The Scholarships Page was started in 1997 out of a student's frustration when finding scholarship information to help pay for college expenses.  This website does not offer scholarships directly; rather it allows the user to browse for information based on gender, heritage, area of study, and state of residence.
  • Scholarships.com is both a popular and a free college scholarship search website that can help students find scholarship information and resources on the Internet.  Users need to create a personal profile, and once created, Scholarships.com matches the information with relevant and attainable college scholarship awards.

 

Commercial websites

  • MSN Money:  “How to find free money for college” : Identifies federal and state grants by four types; offers strategies for successfully applying for grants— (article by MSN published 10.26.10).
  • Fed Money:Ad-supported free website provided by people networks, inc., compiling information on “all U.S. government grants and student financial aid”; includes lists of scholarships, fellowships, grants and loans, and trusteeships.
  • Free Grant Money This site compiles lists of grants by category and funding source.
  • SallieMae:  Grants: Provides links to various needs-based and academic-excellence based grant funders.
  • Student Scholarships & Grants page: U.S. Department of Education, in cooperation with other agencies, compiles linked lists (82 pages of them) of scholarship search directories, private scholarships, government grants, and supplementary support materials at this address—  (updated regularly). 
  • U.S. Department of Education State Higher Education Agency information page: Provides linked alphabetical list to higher education agencies in all U.S. states, District of Columbia, and most territories; from the linked agency pages, search for “grants” and “scholarships”
  • College Scholarships.org is a searchable website of smaller, niche scholarships. If you are left handed, red-headed, a skateboarder, a child of a member of a service organization, etc. there are many, many scholarships targeted towards specific students and groups for which you might qualify. They also offer tips on how to apply for scholarships that are useful.
  • The National Scholarship Providers Association. The membership directory is a cool backdoor to (primarily) small-to-medium scholarships offered by association, as well as some private foundations and memorial scholarships.

 

.