Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Middle Grades Education Subject Research Guide: Print Reference Books

Key resources in Middle Grades Education

Searching for a Book?

Google Books

Google Book Search

Print Reference Books

Reference books include encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and directories.  The reference books are located in the Cannon Memorial Library in the Reference Section on the main floor.  Reference books do not circulate and may only be used in the library. 

American Public Education Law Primer

American Public Education Law Primer
REF KF4119.8.E3 B56 2007

Bringing Technology Education into K-8 Classrooms: A Guide to Curricular Resources About the Designed World
T65.3 .B735 2005 (on 2nd floor)

Career Opportunities in Education and Related Services
REF LB1775.2 .E33 2006 

Cyclopedia of Young Adult Authors
REF PS490 .C93 2005

Current Issues and Trends in Education
LA217.2 .A42 2007 (on 2nd floor)

Dictionary of Education
REF LB15 .D483 2008

Education Week Guide to K-12 Terminology
REF LB15 .E335 2009

Educator’s Desk Reference
REF LB1028.27.U6 F74 2002

Educator’s Guide to Free Videotapes
REF LB1043.A2 E3 2008

Educator’s Guide to Inclusion
LC1201 .S29 2003 (on 2nd floor)

Educator’s Guide to Preventing and Solving Discipline Problems
LB3011 .B63 2005 (on 2nd floor)

Educator’s Podcast Guide
REF LB1044.87 .W53 2007

Encyclopedia of American Education
REF LB17 .U54 2001

Encyclopedia of Education
REF LB15 .E47 2003

Encyclopedia of Learning Disabilities
REF LC4704.5 .T86 2006

Essential Guide to Children’s Books and Their Creators
REF PN1009.A1 C55 2002

Greenwood Dictionary of Education
REF LB15 .G68 2003

Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education
REF LC1099.3 .H35 2004

International Companion Encyclopedia of Children’s Literature
REF PN1008.5 .I57 2004

Key Ideas in Educational Research
REF LB1028 .S338 2006

Learning Theories A to Z
REF LB15 .L4695 2002

Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia
REF LB17 .P485 1996

Problem-based Learning in K-8 Classrooms: A Teacher’s Guide to Implementation
LB1027.42 .L36 2002 (on 2nd floor)

Psychology of Classroom Learning
REF LB1060 .P89 2009

School Law: What Every Educator Should Know
REF KF4119.8.E3 S35 2008

Tests in Print VII: An Index to Tests, Test Reviews, and the Literature on Tests
REF LB3051 .T45 2006

Library Contact Information

Reference Desk's picture
Reference Desk
Contact:
Reference Desk

(800)359-5945

(352)588-8477

Text: (852)678-4393

Main Library

(352)588-8476
Website

How do I find a book on the shelf?

The Cannon Memorial Library uses the Library of Congress classification system to organize the books on the shelves.  This system uses a combination of letters and numbers referred to as LC Call Numbers. Books related to Elementary Education may be found under the following LC Call Numbers:

         Education (General)

LA        History of education

LB        Theory and practice of education

LB 1603-1656 Secondary education

LC        Special aspects of education       

For more information on how to read the LC call numbers and locate a book on the shelf, click here: LC Call Numbers