Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Sociology Subject Research Guide: Online Reference Books

Key resources in Sociology

Searching for a Book?

Online Reference Books

The list below includes a sample of encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, etc. that are searchable and readable online. To access these resources: 

  • click on this link:  eBooks and eReference Resources
  • select the appropriate resource
  • log in with the user name and password that you use for your Saint Leo email
  • search for a specific title or topic

Credo Conference 
50 Key Concepts in Gender Studies

The A-Z of Social Research
The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology
Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology
Cambridge Handbook of Age and Ageing
Collins Dictionary of Sociology
Contemporary Youth Culture: An International Encyclopedia
Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity & Culture
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World's Cultures

Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences
Handbook of Environmental Sociology
Key Concepts in Critical Social Theory
Key Concepts in Medical Sociology
The New Dictionary of Cultural Literacy
Penguin Dictionary of Sociology
Reader's Guide to the Social Sciences

The Sage Dictionary of Cultural Studies
The Social Science Jargon-Buster
U.S. Census 2000 State & County Statistical Quick Facts
World of Sociology

Ebrary (aka ProQuest Ebook Central)
Family Relationships: An Evolutionary Perspective
Feminist Sociology
Frontiers of Sociology
Handbook of Public Sociology
International Encyclopedia of Adolescence
International Encyclopedia of Economic Sociology
Passionate Sociology
The Sociology of Families
The Sociology of Politics
Youth Moves: Identities and Education in Global Perspective

Encyclopedia Britannica Online

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in World's Cultures
Encyclopedia of Social Psychology
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, 2nd Ed.

EBSCO eBook Collection 
The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology: A User's Guide to Sociological Language
The Blackwell Companion to Social Theory

The Blackwell Dictionary of Twentieth-century Social Thought
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Psychology
The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Organizational Behavior
Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Popular Culture
Encyclopedia of Modern Ethnic Conflicts

Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic Studies
Encyclopedia of Social History (Garland Reference Library of Social Science)
Fifty Key Sociologists: The Contemporary Theorists
Handbook of the New Sexuality Studies

Historical and Multicultural Encyclopedia of Women's Reproductive Rights in the United States
Lesbian Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia
The Millennials: Americans Born 1977 to 1994
Older Americans: A Changing Market

Portrait of Health in the United States
Social Change in America: The Historical Handbook, 2004
State Profiles: The Population and Economy of Each U.S. State (Bernan Press U.S. Databook Series)
Vital Statistics of the Unites States: Birth, Life Expectancy, Deaths and Selected Health Data

Library Contact Information

Profile Photo
Reference Desk
Contact:
Reference Desk

(800)359-5945

(352)588-8477

Text: (852)678-4393

Main Library

(352)588-8476
Website

Google Books

Google Book Search