Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Social Work Subject Research Guide: Print Reference Books

Key resources in Social Work

Searching for a Book?

Selected Reference Books

Google Books

Google Book Search

Print Reference Books

Reference books include encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and directories.  The reference books are located in the Cannon Memorial Library in the Reference Section on the main floor.  Reference books do not circulate and may only be used in the library. 

An Atlas of Poverty in America: One Nation, Pulling Apart, 1960-2003
REF HC110.P6 G543 2006

Children and Youth in Adoption, Orphanages, and Foster Care: A Historical Handbook and Guide
REF HV875.55 .C45 2006 

Clinical Social Theory
REF HM 511 .C77 2005

Dictionary of Statistics & Methodology: A Nontechnical Guide for the Social Sciences
REF HA17 .V64 2005

Domestic Violence: A Reference Handbook
REF HV6626.2 .M43 2008

Encyclopedia of Ageism 
REF HQ1061 .E63 2005

The Encyclopedia of Aging: A Comprehensive Resource in Gerontology and Geriatrics
REF HQ1061 .E53 2006

Encyclopedia of Child Abuse
REF HV6626.5 C57 2001

Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood
REF 767.85 .E53 2004 v.103

Encyclopedia of Community (4 vols.)
REF HM 756 .E53 2003

Encyclopedia of Drugs and Alcohol (4 vols.)
REF HV5804 .E53 1995

The Encyclopedia of Elder Care
REF RC954 .E53 2004

Encyclopedia of Homelessness (2 vols.)
REF HV4493 .E53 2004

Encyclopedia of Prisons & Correctional Facilities
REF HV9471 .E693 2005

Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
REF GN307 .E525 1996

Encyclopedia of Social Measurement
REF H62 .E53 2005

Encyclopedia of Social Theory
REF HM425 .E47 2005

Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History
REF HV12 .E497 2005

The Encyclopedia of Social Work
REF HV12 .E53 2008

Encyclopedia of the Community: From the Village to the Virtual World (4 vols.)
REF HM756 .E53 2003

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women’s Issues Worldwide (6 vols.)
REF HQ1115 .G74 2003

Handbook of Death and Dying (2 vols.)
REF HQ1073 .H36 2003

International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family (4 vols.)
REF HQ9 .E52 2003

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
REF H40.A2 I5 2008

Key Concepts in Critical Social Theory
REF HM511 .C77 2005

Key Concepts in Social Research
REF H62 .P3234 2004

A New Dictionary of the Social Sciences
REF HM425 .N49 2007

The Oxford Dictionary of Statistical Terms
REF
HA17 .K4 2003

Progress of the World's Women 2005: Women, Work, & Poverty
REF HQ1240 .P76 2005

Protest, Power and Change: an Encyclopedia of Non-Violent Action From ACT-UP to Women’s Suffrage
REF HM278 .P76 1997

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
REF BF76.7 .P83 2010

The Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods (3 vols.)
REF H62 .L456 2004

Social Psychology (4 vols.)
REF HM1033 .S634 2003

The Social Work Dictionary
REF HV12 .B37 2003

Social Workers' Desk Reference
REF HV40 .S6464 2009

Statistical Handbook on the World's Children
REF HQ767.9 .K38 2002

Library Contact Information

Reference Desk's picture
Reference Desk
Contact:
Reference Desk

(800)359-5945

(352)588-8477

Text: (852)678-4393

Main Library

(352)588-8476
Website

How do I find a book on the shelf?

The Cannon Memorial Library uses the Library of Congress classification system to organize the books on the shelves.  This system uses a combination of letters and numbers referred to as LC Call Numbers. Books related to Social Work may be found under the following LC Call Numbers:

BF   Psychology

HM  Sociology (General)

HQ  The Family, marriage and women

HV  Social Pathology, Social & Public Welfare, Criminology

For more information on how to read the LC call numbers and locate a book on the shelf, click here: LC Call Numbers